Whitworth Hall Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Whitworth Hall Country Park, Spennymoor, Durham, County Durham, DL16 7QX, England
based on 991 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VB

Whitworth Hall Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel.

Stay in a deer park, near Durham.

The Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel lies just 8 miles from Durham city centre, set in the middle of a deer park! The hotels rural setting means you can enjoy peace, quiet and quality without staying too
show more

Bars, Fishing, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
with prior arangement
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Library Restaurant
  • Brasserie
  • Garden Room
  • Lounge Bar

Available

Library Restaurant

The Library Restaurant is the oldest part of the house and is ideal for that special occasion. We serve an extensive a la carte menu, so come and take a seat

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:15
Weekend times may vary

Brasserie

The Brasserie is an alternative dining option beautifully positioned adjacent to the Library Restaurant within a glass conservatory.

Opening hours
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 16:00 - 21:15
Weekend times may vary

Garden Room

The Garden Room offers a mixture of light favourites as well a perfect surroundings.

Opening hours
Weekend times may vary

Lounge Bar

A warm and welcoming atmosphere sets the Lounge Bar apart, making it the perfect place to enjoy good company with your favourite drink.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Whether you need a venue for a winter wedding or a summer celebration, our delightful setting provides the perfect backdrop all year round.

  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Stacy Hardy on 01388 811772

Registrar

Registry office:
Bishop Auckland Registry Office
Cockton House
01388 607277

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

  • Brancepeth Golf Club
  • Bishop Auckland Golf Club

Brancepeth Golf Club

2.00 miles away in Brancepeth

Course information

  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6400 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £25.00
Trolley hire Yes

Bishop Auckland Golf Club

5.00 miles away in Bishop Auckland

Course information

  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6504 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £20.00
Buggy hire Yes

Meetings & Events

Our recently refurbished conference rooms alongside our Garden Marquee and exceptional grounds provide the ideal setting for any business event. Well make a lasting impression on you, so imagine how...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Our recently refurbished conference rooms alongside our Garden Marquee and exceptional grounds provide the ideal setting for any business event. Well make a lasting impression on you, so imagine how impressed your delegates will be!

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Whitworth 100 40 30 30 120
Duncombe 60 30 24 24 60
Library 60 40 30 30 60
Garden room 25 12 10 10 0

Reviews of Whitworth Hall Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 991 reviews
Excellent 55%
Very Good 27%
Average 9%
Poor 4%
Terrible 2%
Rating

40forty, wrote review 11/01/2020

Nice hotel in quiet area

I enjoyed staying in the hotel. The rooms were big, all of the areas were clean and the staff were good. The hotel is right beside a deer park which was a nice novelty and there is a nice, very short ... more

Rating

Wardle2020, wrote review 08/01/2020

Very poor visit

Our daughter and son in law paid for a one night stay for my wife and i on 29 Dec as part of xmas present. We were given room 7.However when a tap was turned on a huge air lock virtually shook the who... more

Owner Response
whitworthteam, Manager at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this review
Please would you contact me directly to discuss further. jackie@whitworthhall.co.uk
Rating

Gemma C, wrote review 04/01/2020

Dont bother

Stayed here for one night 30th December 2019. The room we were given (25 I think) was dated, grubby, had a bad smell, carpet looked like it hadnt been vacuumed in weeks. The bedside tables looked like... more

Owner Response
whitworthteam, Manager at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments
Rating

Little-Em1978, wrote review 02/01/2020

Dated rooms but great food

We booked into Whitworth Hall for a couples break for new year. We arrived late afternoon in the dark so couldn’t appreciate the setting until the next morning. It really is set in beautiful surroundi... more

Owner Response
whitworthteam, Manager at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this review
Thank you for your important feedback.
Rating

stevebarnon, wrote review 01/01/2020

My hotel stay

Internet didn’t work, heating didn’t work, no hot water, staff didn’t know what time or when the restaurant was open, the restaurant menu was quite limited for choice no A La Carte, no draft beer on a... more

Owner Response
whitworthteam, Manager at Whitworth Hall Hotel & Deer Park, responded to this review
Unfortunately we had an overnight boiler failure which was quickly resolved but did result in limited hot water on the morning of your departure

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.