The Townhouse Chester, BW Signature Collection

49-51 Lower Bridge Street, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 1RS, England
based on 947 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

The Townhouse Chester, BW Signature Collection

Chester's boutique hotel.

The Townhouse Chester, BW Signature Collection by Best Western is Chester's hidden gem and one of the best independent, boutique hotels in the City. Located within the historic Roman walls which encompass the mediaeval centre, The Townhouse boasts vi show more

Bars, Free WIFI, Pets Allowed, No Lift
There is parking available nearby.
Pets accepted
Dogs Only - Daily Charge of £10.00
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00
49-51 Lower Bridge Street, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 1RS, England
What 3 Words: stress.gains.random

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Townhouse Bar

After a day taking in the sights or shopping, take up residence and relax by the open fire in our lounge, or sun yourself in the secluded Townhouse Garden at the rear of the hotel. Enjoy a luxury afternoon tea or choose from a selection of fine beers, wines and spirits before taking to your room for a comfy night's sleep.

Opening hours
Weekend times may vary

Reviews of The Townhouse Chester, BW Signature Collection

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 947 reviews
Excellent 52%
Very Good 22%
Average 12%
Poor 6%
Terrible 6%

MervSquires, wrote review 13/06/2021

Tops for tourists The Townhouse

Ideal location to tour the town on foot and close to all attractions. A discount for nearby carpark was a bonus. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly, pleasant , polite and very prof... more

Owner Response
Team Savvy, Owner at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this review
Thanks for lovely review, look forward to you coming back again in the future. Many thanks

NanookFrozenNorth, wrote review 10/06/2021

Grossly overpriced poor quality accomodation.

We stayed here on a previous visit to Chester and where impressed, this time however was pretty dire. Arrived at reception to be given a hand altered Bill with an additional £10 for our dog, at no poi... more

Owner Response
Team Savvy, Owner at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this review
Oh dear, sorry to hear this - your expectations for a 3 star hotel in a very central city centre location and costs are clearly very different to ours, but that's why we are all entitled to an opinion. Freshly painted during the Covid Close down is dated I suppose? Not sure what enables you or even I to determine that paint is dated, anyway lets address the key issues; frustrating the window sill had a cobweb and certainly will discuss this with the team, as not the norm, especially for us to be 6th place on TripAdvisor, gives me some reassurance this was an error and yes we do note the broken window, but sadly as a grade II listed building not the easiest or cheapest to replace, but on our list and doesn't pose a huge detractor from a guest perspective. Our bathrooms are small, but again this is inline with a 1699 built property and we have maximised bedroom space but definitely take this on board, pressure certainly isn't usually an issue either, so perhaps some better indication on how to use might have been useful. Apologies I wasn't on hand at your demand, working 70 plus hours at the moment due to the pandemic, I might have just missed you, so again apologies - but probably best, as I would have simply said - go and enjoy the city and take some lovely pictures of the scenery instead of moaning about small things that okay isn't perfect, but bigger things in life to worry about. In closing, good luck continuing on your TA crusade to slag every business off that doesn't reach your standards, but please do reflect on the current national campaign #bekindtohospitality - it may give you some assurance we are all trying our best, and simply degrading businesses doesn't really help them! Many Thanks

J6675QLlouisek, wrote review 07/06/2021

Amazing stay!

We booked this trip last minute as we just wanted a change of scene, and we loved every minute! The staff were on hand and so friendly! We had afternoon tea in the secret garden and it was absolutely ... more

Owner Response
Team Savvy, Owner at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this review
Thanks for the lovely review and nice to read, afternoon tea in the garden is definitely a treat and a highlight - come back soon.

JamieHMacdonald, wrote review 07/06/2021

Friendly staff but tired room

Friendly staff who tried to help. Room was spotlessly clean. We booked room only. So we wanted a room with where we could get clean and have somewhere we could sleep. Shower was unusable - scolding ... more

Owner Response
Team Savvy, Owner at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this review
Thanks for taking the time to review and apologies your room wasn't to expectation but spotlessly clean being a positive. Unfortunately during this hot weather as an old property and a 3 star, we don't benefit from air con, so yes opening a window often the only relief, but yes being city centre - it's unlikely it will be without some noise. The wi-fi on your visit was effected by a BT error, so we do apologise as again usually very good. We take your comments on board, but feel as overall as a 3 star property, in a very centrally located property, with a great team and delivery, we give give great value for money, and hoep overall this has shone through, and you would give us a try again in the future. Many Thanks

sharonmc2018, wrote review 06/06/2021

Weekend break

Nice hotel ideally situated in centre. Rooms big but for superior room felt basic. Room 1 unfortunately situated immediately at top of stairs on first floor so noisy when getting late night revellers ... more

Owner Response
Team Savvy, Owner at The Townhouse Chester, responded to this review
Thanks for nice review, yes its a shame others aren't too considerate at times in the wee hours of the morning when they come back, as does disturb others sadly. The team will love the mention and we hope to welcome you back again in the future