Not where we booked - not a good experience
01/01/2018 Georgia O,
I booked a hotel and dinner and a movie at Hoyts, Victoria Gardens for my partner and I’s 5th anniversary. The room I booked was a couple of hundred metres from both the cinema and the restaurant, wh... more
I booked a hotel and dinner and a movie at Hoyts, Victoria Gardens for my partner and I’s 5th anniversary. The room I booked was a couple of hundred metres from both the cinema and the restaurant, which, with my use of a mobility aid made it walkable, however, the hotel I had booked (Quest Abbotsford) had a couple in our room that were there due to an insurance claim and wouldn’t leave, resulting in us being moved. The hotel we were moved to was kilometres away. Not quite the convenient evening I had in mind.
Bye-bye walking/convenience, hello parking searching and paying!
Re-booking dinner was a disaster, as it was a Saturday night in an unknown suburb and a lot of things were booked out, especially when you’re only told that morning and really booking at the last minute!
The room itself was big enough for my mobility aid but even in daylight or with all the lights on it was so so dark. The TV had the capability to be used as a computer which was a nice touch, (as we now had to search for somewhere to eat), but there was no mouse and it wasn’t near anywhere to sit and the bed was too far; as a TV this is ok, but as a computer everything was so small you couldn’t read anything, and the lack of a mouse made it very hard to use.
It’s my most common complaint and biggest pet hate and this hotel is guilty of it; they were no surfaces in the bathroom! For the thousandth time, PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES HAVE THINGS TOO! This wasn’t only a problem when you’re showering or changing but at night where can you put face wipes and a toothbrush/paste etc. The next morning I had to sit on the floor in front of the mirror at the bottom of the bed to do my makeup. Despite me moving a lamp right beside me, there was such poor light, I was worried I might look like a clown. It isn’t ok to have such a lack of surface space, that guests must use the floor.
Due to the entire experience, (not a very pleasant one), I give this hotel a 2/5 and I think that’s probably being generous. less
Paul P, General Manager at Hotel 115 Kew, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Hi Georgia O,
I'm sorry that QUEST ABBOTSFORD decided to inconvenience you by canceling your reservation and feel that perhaps at least part of this review should have been posted on their profile. Unfortunately I don't think we were ever going to live up to your expectations as you didn't want to be staying at our property in the first place. The 'Access' room bathrooms at our property are more designed for guests that are confined to Wheelchairs and require the extra room to move around in the bathrooms as opposed to having additional bench space. Perhaps if you stayed again you would be more comfortable in one of our Premier King rooms or One Bedroom Apartments, which are still quite spacious allowing you to use your mobility aid in the room and have ample bench space in the bathrooms. I'm glad to hear you liked the technology component of the room and perhaps we need to look at placing further instructions in the room on how to operate the trackpad, which is used instead of a mouse. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our property.