• 8.7 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From

Explore Hotel

A magnificent 18th Century country house.

The Best Western Strathaven Hotel is set in 3 acres of Strathaven countryside, with East Kilbride just 7 miles away. Built in 1797 in the style of the famous Robert Adam Junior, the hotel boasts original period features, making the inside just as beautiful as the surrounding grounds!Family run, the Best Western Strathaven Hotel prides itself on giving guests a warm welcome. And with wonderful points of interest dotted around this picturesque part of Scotland.

During your time with us, you'll be able to immerse yourself in country living. The Scottish Museum of Rural Life is just one of the highlights that awaits. If you do decide to return to city life for a day, Glasgow is (surprisingly) just a short drive away.

View more

Location

Hamilton Road
Strathaven
Lanarkshire
ML10 6SZ
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6101*
VS

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Aaron Hammond

strathaven-hotel-dining-05-83502

Lauder's at Strathaven hotel

Enjoy a unique Scottish-French style of cooking at the Lauder. Our halibut and noodles are particularly tasty, and even won a Best Western restaurant competition!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 17:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
strathaven-hotel-dining-11-83502

East Lounge

Our large, airy bar serves food daily.

Opening hours

12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary
strathaven-hotel-dining-10-83502

West Lounge

A spacious retreat, the West has comfortable sofas for a quiet drink or afternoon tea. So sit back, relax and try locally brewed Strathaven ales by the bottle!

Opening hours

00:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

So, where to spend the biggest day of your life?

Wedding service and reception venue

Every wedding we host is different. That's because we listen to the happy couple, tailor their day and make them even happier.

Catering

Wedding packages include a 4 course menu, fresh flowers, drinks and overnight accommodation for the bride and groom.

Registrar

Registry office:
South Lanarkshire Council
55 Victoria Street, Larkhall
08457 406080




Get in touch with Sheila Macintyre on 01357 521778

For any enquiries please call Shiela Macintyre on 01357 521778

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type ML10 6NY

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M74, J8, 5.00 miles
Nearest train station: Hamilton, 7.00 miles
Nearest airport: Glasgow, 25.00 miles
Free parking on site (80 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Hamilton Road
Strathaven
Lanarkshire
ML10 6SZ
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Hampden Park (20 miles)

  • Parkhead (20 miles)

  • Hamilton Racecourse (9 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Scottish Museum of Rural Life, East Kilbride (8 miles)

  • Strathclyde Park Watersports and Country Park (10 miles)

  • Calderglen Country Park (7 miles)

  • Low Waters Museum, Hamilton (8 miles)

Shopping

  • Strathaven (1 miles)

  • East Kilbride Shopping Centre (7 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our large function room allows us to cater for up to 160 seated guests, theatre style. And most importantly, in comfort.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Strathaven Suite 160 120 40 40 160
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 205 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 100
Rating: 4 68
Rating: 3 20
Rating: 2 7
Rating: 1 10
Rating

stay at Best Western Strathhaven hotel

21/09/2016 Maryanne T, Leicester, United Kingdom

stayed here twice, very nice place, I can recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area, very convenient for Business in the East Kilbride general region, looking for nice quiet hotel with good hon... more

Rating

Sunday

04/09/2016 GregoryVII, Scotland, United Kingdom

Arranged to meet a friend here for lunch. Have visited before but not for a while. Driving in I thought to myself "why did I suggest here?" When I have been here before it is with my mum who is i... more

Rating

Decent find!

30/08/2016 jonny g, Newcastle, United Kingdom

Building is gorgeous from outside, it stands out! Also the garden is nice to sit in. Room was on the small side bit for one night didn't cause a problem! Shower could maybe use an upgrade and some att... more

Rating

Friendly staff, some housekeeping issues

28/08/2016 Lucy D, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Was really pleased with the Clubcard option as it significantly reduced the cost, meaning staying over for our friends' Anniversary party was feasible and affordable. Staff in the hotel were hugely fr... more

Owner Response
StrathavenHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your feedback Lucy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we also really enjoyed having you. We have taken your comments on board to ensure we will not provide a dissatisfactory level on cleanliness for other residents in the future. We hope we will be able to welcome you again to the BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel. Sheila Macintyre Owner/Manager
Rating

Lunchtime ripoff

24/08/2016 coppetwopd,

My daughter and I met at the hotel for lunch,I had a Becks lager and she had an extremely small lime and soda. We opted to sit outside,the miserable waitress informed us that she could not lift our dr... more

Owner Response
StrathavenHotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel, responded to this review
We are deeply sorry to hear you were unhappy with the service at the BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel. Your concerns will be addressed accordingly. After reviewing your bill it would appear that you were, in fact, charged £6.00 for your Becks lager and half pint of soda and lime. Please accept our apologies for not confirming the price of the supplement for the smoked salmon in your salad, although, as it is not on the menu it was unfamiliar to the waiting staff. We do, however, firmly believe that a further £1.50 is a realistic reflection of the difference of cost between smoked salmon and chicken. We can only hope you will reconsider a return visit to our hotel.