Nothing To Write Home About
18/07/2019 ItsTomCarlon, Mahone Bay, Canada
For a visit to the Storrs area, we chose to stay at the Best Western. This is one of the only large hotels within a remarkable distance, and we chose the Best Western mainly because we needed to be cl... more
For a visit to the Storrs area, we chose to stay at the Best Western. This is one of the only large hotels within a remarkable distance, and we chose the Best Western mainly because we needed to be close to Willimantic. This was our first time staying at a Best Western, and we were somewhat satisfied with our experience. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were happy to be greeted by a well-lit parking lot with ample spaces available. We parked our car and walked into the main lobby. We were greeted by a very pleasant agent who gave us all the information we needed for our stay. She gave us our keys, and we started walking to our room. Our room ended up being in a smaller building located on the opposite side of the parking lot. Upon entering the building, we could not help but notice the run down decor and worn nature of the furnishings. We walked up to a very narrow flight of stairs and soon arrived at our room. When we first entered our room, we were greeted by a very old room that was retrofitted with some modern amenities. These modern amenities did not necessarily distract from the overall run-down nature of the room. The bathroom was extremely disappointing. There was rust on the toilet, and the shower had definitely seen better days. The air conditioning system was very old, loud, and inefficient. The flat-screen television worked well, and there was a good selection of channels to choose from. Unfortunately, the beds were very uncomfortable and left a lot to be desired. The comforter was very old, and we found that it was very dusty. We woke up the next morning and headed to the lobby for breakfast. We were very disappointed by the offerings. The scrambled eggs were very overcooked, and the assortment of food items was presented in a very disorganized manner. Overall, the hotel was fairly clean, and it did the job for an overnight stay. The condition of the room, alongside the lacking breakfast and a fairly poor value left me disappointed. This is one of the only hotel options within a fairly close distance to Storrs and Willimantic and it was lacking on a variety of levels. less
Jeni Z, General Manager at Best Western Storrs, responded to this review
I have reviewed our records on guests that have stayed at our hotel. I went as far back as May and I do not have your name listed as making a reservation with us. However, in the event that the reservation was in another name,I would like to say that I am sorry that we did not meet our expectations during your stay. Have a great day. Stay safe.
'Stay with people who care'