Best Western Station Hotel

49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries, Dumfries & Galloway, DG1 1LT, Scotland
based on 602 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
VS Bronze CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Station Hotel

Best Western Station Hotel.

With free internet & parking, this friendly, traditional Victorian railway hotel is just 5 minutes'walk from Dumfries town centre & the perfect base for business guests. Lovers of the Arts and the Great Outdoors alike will find a home from home here show more

For special requests e.g. extra beds, bath/shower, early check-in, late check out, front/back outlook, room near/away from lift, please contact us.
Breakfast inclusive rates will be Continental only. No Evening meal service.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to all floors, Restaurants
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00
49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries, Dumfries & Galloway, DG1 1LT, Scotland
What 3 Words: else.doses.that

Restaurants & Bars

The only thing that grows here is grass, so Dumfries and Galloway is famous for its Dairy Produce, Beef & Lamb & a wide variety of Seasonal Game and Fish, which I use to create both traditional Scottish favourites, such as my Galloway Steak and Ale Pie or Cheesecake with a Compote of Local Berries, alongside more contemporary international dishes, such as Gravad Lax, Chanterelle & Ewe's Cheese Risotto or Pigeon Breast on Puy Lentil Casserole.

Chef Cameron Geddes
  • Courtyard Bistro
  • Lounge Bar
  • Lounge

Courtyard Bistro

Wikipedia: "A bistro is, in its original Parisian incarnation, a small restaurant serving moderately priced meals. Bistros are defined mostly by the foods they serve - home cooking with robust earthy dishes and slow-cooked foods." Highlight: our Daily Special Menus feature the best local produce our suppliers can provide on any given day, such as locally-caught venison, locally-picked chanterelles and locally-smoked salmon.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 17:30 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Lounge Bar

We serve bar lunches, Sunday lunches, Sunday Suppers, Coffees, a Selection of Teas and home-made scones and cookies in our bright, relaxed and traditional Lounge Bar.
Menu highlight: the Station Steakwich: grilled ciabatta with mustard, caramelised onions and flash-fried steak topped with rockette.

Opening hours
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 17:30 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Lounge

Relax with your newspaper and a light refreshment while waiting for your train or enjoy coffee and a scone with friends during the day. Our traditional hotel bar is a perfect rendezvous for a pre-dinner drink, a post-golf pint or simply a quiet evening out with friends.
Highlights: we have around 30 Single Malts and a strong selection of House Wines by the glass.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Our elegant, Victorian surroundings make the perfect backdrop to any wedding celebration. We'll roll out the red carpet treatment for you here, and make sure everything goes without a hitch on the big day itself!

For any enquiries please call Aileen McGhie on 01387 254316

Registrar

Registry office:
Dumfries and Galloway Council
Municipal Chambers, Buccleuch Street, Dumfries, DG
01387 254906

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

  • Dumfries and County
  • Southerness

Dumfries and County

1.00 miles away in Edinburgh Road

Course information

  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

69

Distance

5782 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

18 holes £35.00
Trolley hire £2.50
Club hire £15.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £20.00

Southerness

21 miles away in Southerness

Course information

  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

69

Distance

6566 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

18 holes £50.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes

Spa & Leisure facilities

Hands up who needs a pamper? We’ll provide the top-notch facilities and relaxing atmosphere, and you just turn up and enjoy. Deal?

Spa Facilities

Opening Times

Monday - Sunday: -

Make the most of our leisure facilities and enjoy some down time

Gym Access

Meetings & Events

For your Meetings, Smaller Conferences, Exhibitions, Business Dinners, Networking, Cultural Society and other Events, our team's strong commitment and communications will ensure that everything runs s...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

For your Meetings, Smaller Conferences, Exhibitions, Business Dinners, Networking, Cultural Society and other Events, our team's strong commitment and communications will ensure that everything runs smoothly, leaving you free to concentrate on your clients. Best Western Station Hotel is well located at the crossroads between Southern Scotland, Northern England and Northern Ireland and close to Dumfries town centre.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Reading Room 12 0 8 10 0
Bruce Room 90 30 30 30 0
Pullman Room 40 12 20 28 0

Reviews of Best Western Station Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 602 reviews
Excellent 40%
Very Good 38%
Average 13%
Poor 2%
Terrible 5%
Rating

paulsS8804KR, wrote review 08/06/2021

Work trip

Hotel was ok bit dated. No evening meal but was explained on arrival. Breakfast was a disappointment no acknowledgement from the staff & seemed they were late. No offer of tea or coffee at Breakfast. ... more

Owner Response
Dawn Archibald, General Manager at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Paul Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is your feedback that we learn from and use to improve how we look after our treasured guests. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that our teams are working hard to address the issues you have highlighted. We hope to have an opportunity to earn back your trust in the very near future. Yours sincerely, Dawn
Rating

data_mahoney, wrote review 07/06/2021

Great location

Perfect location for arriving by train and exploring the area by rail. Hotel only short walk to town. Public rooms a little tired and bedroom could do with modernising. However, room I had was very sp... more

Owner Response
Dawn Archibald, General Manager at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review , I am glad you found the staff helpful & Friendly, and we look forward to welcoming you back your sincerely Dawn
Rating

Ilovetravel1967, wrote review 01/06/2021

Lots of good things but..

Stayed here for one night, bed and breakfast. The positives are the location-quiet, despite being next to the railway station. Nice walk to the River Nith path and into town. Very attractive building ... more

Owner Response
Dawn Archibald, General Manager at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is your feedback that we learn from and use to improve how we look after our treasured guests. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that our teams are working hard to address the issues you have highlighted. Unfortunately we were let down by our Kitchen team when we reopened and I had to take the difficult decision to Pull Food service till we can get a Chef. We hope to have an opportunity to earn back your trust in the very near future. Yours sincerely, Dawn Archibald
Rating

MandyM240885, wrote review 31/05/2021

Great hotel & value for money

Hotel was ideal for a short stay. Room very clean and very big for a family room. Breakfast was great even though there was changes due to Covid. Dinner was unable to be offered but near by place to e... more

Owner Response
Dawn Archibald, General Manager at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mandy, Thank you for the great review of We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Dawn
Rating

600carly, wrote review 25/05/2021

Lovely staff, bathroom awful!

Firstly, the staff were really friendly and professional. Every member of staff we dealt with was lovely and couldn’t do enough for us. Although I have criticisms of the bathroom in our room, we would... more

Owner Response
Dawn Archibald, General Manager at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we sincerely wish you had a better experience with us, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve ourselves. We acknowledge your dissatisfaction with The Bathroom and are working with our respective teams to rectify this for future stays. I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful & friendly We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back to provide the hotel experience many of our guests have come to trust us for. Yours sincerely, Dawn Archibald