• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Royal George Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Royal George Hotel.

Simply beautiful.

The Best Western Royal George Hotel sits quietly in an Area of Natural Beauty the Wye Valley at Tintern Abbey, just 4 miles north of Chepstow Racecourse. The Forest of Dean and other National Parks also lie within easy reach.

The hotel itself provides as much convenience as our wonderful location. A quaint building itself, the hotel offers comfort and traditional hospitality with bedrooms situated in our private garden, as well as fresh produce from Wales in its restaurant and a collection of international wines in its cellar!

From Tintern, its easy to reach other places of interest. Bristol, Gloucester, Newport and Cardiff are all easily accessible from the Best Western Royal George Hotel and are well worth a visit.

Please note - well behaved pets accepted in designated bedrooms only, one pet at £15 per night. Pets not permitted in bar/dining areas and not to be left unattended.

View more

Location

Tintern
Chepstow
Monmouthshire
NP16 6SF
Wales
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6098*
AA

Summary

Pets are not permitted in the bar or any dining areas and must not be left unattended in bedrooms. Pet room availability must be checked at the time of booking, please contact us to enquire
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted 1 pet £15 per night, subject to room availability.
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

royal-george-hotel-dining-06-83498

Cottage Restaurant

This part of the hotel dates back to 1539 when the cottage was built as a home for the local iron master. Unfortunately for him, our wonderful choice of cuisine didnt arrive until the 20th Century, so he was unable to enjoy the quality Welsh and Borders food our guests do today!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:30 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
royal-george-hotel-leisure-02-83498

Hotel Bar/Abbey Lounge Bar

In a colonial style room with large glass conservatory windows looking across the countryside, youll be perfectly placed to watch the world go by. Winter log fires and a beautiful garden only add to the inviting atmosphere.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

St Peirre

Course information

Course Type: Woodland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 68
Distance: 5748 Yards
No handicap required

Location

6 miles away in Chepstow

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £30.00

Rolls of Monmouth Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6733 Yards
No handicap required

Location

10.00 miles away in Monmouth

Prices

9 holes £25.00
18 holes £33.00

Weddings

Beautiful Venue? Check. Experienced catering management? Check. Fully inclusive wedding packages? Check. Whatever's next on your To Do list, nows the time to choose a wonderful wedding venue!

royal-george-hotel-wedding-events-02-83498royal-george-hotel-wedding-events-06-83498royal-george-hotel-wedding-events-04-83498royal-george-hotel-wedding-events-05-83498

Wedding service and reception venue

We know that your wedding is the biggest day of your life. With experienced organisers and beautiful surroundings, we'll make it the most memorable!

Catering

Pick from a set choice menu, a multi-choice menu or an elaborate buffet at the Best Western Royal George Hotel. Whichever you go for, it'll be a piece of cake to organize!

Registrar

Registry office:
Monmouthshire County Council
Coed-Glas Lane Abergavenny NP7 5LE
01873 735435




Get in touch with James or Samantha on 01291689205

For any enquiries please call James McMorrough & Samantha McMorrough on 01291 689205

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NP16 6SF

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M48, J2, 5.00 miles
Nearest train station: Chepstow, 5.00 miles
Nearest airport: Bristol, 30.00 miles
Free parking on site (50 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
Tintern
Chepstow
Monmouthshire
NP16 6SF
Wales


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Millenium Stadium, Cardiff (30 miles)

  • Celtic Manor Ryder Cup Golf Resort (15 miles)

  • St Pierre Golf Centre (5 miles)

  • David Broom Equestrian Events (7 miles)

  • Chepstow Racecourse Events (4 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Tintern Abbey (0 miles)

  • Chepstow Castle (5 miles)

  • Chepstow Racecourse (4 miles)

  • The Forest of Dean AONB (1 miles)

  • Monmouth Castle (10 miles)

Shopping

  • Chepstow (5 miles)

  • Monmouth (10 miles)

  • Labels Ross on Wye (20 miles)

  • Bristol Cribbs Causeway (10 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

We pay as much attention to detail as we do to your individual needs. Particularly well suited to training courses, our delightful space provides more than enough room to display work, mount presentation boards and show exhibits. Free WiFi in all areas and guest bedrooms

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Abbey Room 80 50 25 40 90
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 378 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 207
Rating: 4 119
Rating: 3 30
Rating: 2 11
Rating: 1 11
Rating

Great food here!

27/06/2017 TedJ140, Rye, United Kingdom

A god stopping off place to explore wye valley. Awelcome and excellent cuisine , no more need be saint is absolute nonsense for this site to seek to pad out the info. It is a great place to stay for a... more

Rating

Second Visit

26/06/2017 MickyYorkshire, Yorkshire

This was our second visit to the Wye Valley and the Royal George. The hotel is beautifully situated opposite Tintern Abbey. More motel than hotel...the rooms are adequate with a huge bed! The bathroom... more

Rating

Hotel Owners Fail To Respond To Complaint

21/06/2017 Helen H,

I mistakenly booked the hotel on the incorrect date. I arrived at the hotel on the date I thought it was booked for and was informed it was the wrong date and was told 'we won't give you a refund eit... more

Owner Response
Egonwho, Owner at Best Western Royal George Hotel, responded to this review
You booked this bedroom for Thurs 22nd June on the Internet You chose the "Advance Purchase Super Saver" option and got 30% off the day price. You understood that you would not be able to alter or cancel this reservation. You arrived on Thursday 15th June a week early to find a fully booked hotel. You were not happy with our Reception. We rang around other hotels to find and book a place for you to stay. You telephoned Monday 19th to request a refund.(3 days) You did not accept the Duty Managers response You wanted to speak with me - However I was not here until 22nd June by which time you posted your negative review on trip adviser. This room was not resold by us. No actual cancellation documentation has been received We are still liable for commission charges to the internet provider The terms and conditions of Internet reservations are not decided by the hotel We advise guests that unless you are absolutely sure of your travel arrangements You should not choose this internet "Saver Option". It is always best to book direct "Fully Flexible" with your chosen hotel Talk on the telephone-clarify that your requirements will be correctly met James McMorrough MHCIMA
Rating

Lovely week away

17/06/2017 rhedwr, Tywyn

We spent a pleasant five days here. The staff were wonderful, friendly, helpful and happy. The old building is lovely, quant and cosy. The bedrooms, however, are in a 'motel' style block that are a re... more

Rating

Not a BEST best Western!

04/06/2017 Margate M, Aberdeen, United Kingdom

We stayed here last weekend on the basis of it being a Best Western and dog friendly. Staff friendly and breakfast good. the location was excellent and there was a dog friendly pub nearby. HOWEVER, t... more