My daughter and I arrived to check in late(about 10:30 pm) and the lobby was locked. I was directed to an ill-lighted window around the corner. I told them of my reservation and that it was already paid for after giving them my ID. She then told me that I needed a card with a $50 balance for them to hold for "incidentals".(this was not mentioned in the email that I received) I gave her a debit card. She then informed me that my room WAS NOT paid for and that she needed the card for the reservation. I had used my husband's card for the reservation and did not have it with me. She said that they couldn't process the one from the reservation. The card I had with me did not have enough to cover the balance...not that it mattered in the end. I called my husband who then called and cancelled the reservation that I had made and paid $25 more for another room. When I went to check in this time, the lady told me that my husband had said that some man was coming to check in for me! I called my husband right then, as the lady stood there and rolled her eyes. She then informs me that she still can't check me in because the card I gave her for the $50 is in my husband's name!! By this time, I knew I was about to go to jail. I explained to her that we had driven 4 hours to get there because my daughter had her NC State Board of Cosmetology exam at 7 am the next morning(by this time it was midnight). Her response was "well, if the other lady didn't check you in, I can't". My husband's bank card had already been charged for the room but they still would not allow me to check in! My daughter and I wound up going to the test site and sitting in the parking lot for 2 hrs trying to sleep. My daughter broke down after seeing me shaking from anger and decided she couldn't do the exam with no sleep or bathroom. We turned and drove 4 hrs back home and arrived home at 6 am, forfeiting the exam fee of $105. So far, due to this hotel staff's lack of common decency, common sense, and concern we are out about $300. I understand "procedure" and rules and such...why not teach your staff alittle compassion and common sense. Trust me, I WILL NEVER GIVE BEST WESTERN ANOTHER PENNY OF MY MONEY. less
BWRaleigh, General Manager at Best Western Raleigh North-Downtown, responded to this review
I truly am sorry you had such an unpleasant experience at our hotel. I do apologize and unfortunately this is the first time hearing of this situation. I do which you had called me directly in order to discuss the events that had taken place. Please feel free to connect me directly at 919-872-5000. Our company policy requires us to get upon check in, I truly am sorry for the problems you incurred. The information you were given by the reservation agent was incorrect and put us in the unfortunate situation where our goal of providing superior service was not possible without violating company policy.