Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Sadler Street, Wells, Somerset, BA5 2RX, England
based on 1216 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VB The AA rosette is your guarantee that a hotel takes extra special pride in its cuisine. The AA rosette is your guarantee that a hotel takes extra special pride in its cuisine. Silver CSR award from Green Tourism. Quality Award

Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Best Western Plus Swan Hotel.

AA Silver Star Award.

Highly recommended hotels offering a superior level of quality within their star rating, high standards of hotel keeping in particular hospitality, service and cleanliness and hold an AA Rosette award for the quality
show more

Hotel has no lift
Bars, Golf Nearby, Gym, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
The hotel does not allow dogs.
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Head Chef, Adam Kennington, treasures simple, honest, seasonal food. His repertoire showcases traditional fare, brought up to date using modern techniques.

Adam sources the best quality, local produce. His food has been recognised with two AA rosettes and an on-going presence in the Michelin Guide.

Chef Adam Kennington
  • 15c A.D.
  • Bar

15c A.D.

We are pleased to offer a range of dining options and a host of different areas in which to enjoy your Somerset dining experience. From a formal 3 course meal to relaxed buffets and barbeques, residents and non-residents alike can enjoy morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Enjoy!

Opening hours
Lunch: 12.00 - 14.00
Dinner: 19.00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary

Bar

The bar has a fantastic view of Wells Cathedral.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

The scenery, the service, the standards. You can have it all at the Best Western Plus Swan Hotel! Whether it's an intimate wedding, large wedding reception or civil wedding ceremony itself, we pride ourselves on providing the perfect wedding venue.

Our experienced staff are here to help; from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. We aim to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way!

  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Natasha Mingo-West on 01749 836300

Registrar

Registry office:
Mendip
Commercial Road, Shepton Mallet, Somerset, BA4 5BU
01749 343928

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

Wells Golf Club

1.5 miles away in Wells

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

5991 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £25.00
Trolley hire £10.00
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire £15.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £2.00

Spa & Leisure facilities

Hands up who needs a pamper? We’ll provide the top-notch facilities and relaxing atmosphere, and you just turn up and enjoy. Deal?

  • Spa Facilities

Spa Facilities

Opening Times

Monday - Sunday: -

Meetings & Events

If you're looking for the perfect venue for meetings or events, look no further than the Best Western Plus Swan Hotel.

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

If you're looking for the perfect venue for meetings or events, look no further than the Best Western Plus Swan Hotel.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Oak Room 100 45 35 40 100
Exmoor 0 0 0 14 0
Garden Room 70 30 25 35 40

Reviews of Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 1216 reviews
Excellent 53%
Very Good 28%
Average 11%
Poor 3%
Terrible 2%
Rating

Stevel467, wrote review 23/01/2020

Afternoon tea,

This is the second time that we have had afternoon tea at the swan,and again they surpassed theirselves,all the staff are so friendly especially the reception staff,we sat in the sitting room overlook... more

Rating

chloebeabl, wrote review 11/01/2020

Amazing Stay!

Lovely weekend away in The Swan Hotel, very clean and very tidy. Couldn’t fault this place at all. Had a beautiful room with a hot tub and a private garden. All staff are absolutely amazing and will d... more

Rating

TrailBlazer482474, wrote review 04/01/2020

Fab weekend at The Swan

Had a really lovely weekend at The Swan to celebrate my husbands 60th Hotel was lovely, food was great, great location near cathedral. Staff couldn’t do enough to help. Couldn’t fault a thing and woul... more

Rating

Burho, wrote review 03/01/2020

New Year's Eve Stay

The room over looking the Cathedral was very good with an excellent view but sadly the Bishop of Wells did not feel inclined to illuminate rthe Cathedral to mark the New Year though the bells rang out... more

Rating

21ollie21, wrote review 31/12/2019

Chrustmas break

Stayed over Christmas. Room 16 needs a complete overhaull. Carpet needs a good clean (was never hoovered during our stay). Windows were black with mold. Christmas lunch was very poor. Would not go b... more

Owner Response
Mark T, General Manager at Best Western Plus Swan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Reviewer Thank you for your valued review left for us. As mentioned in person, over the phone and on all other media platforms you have given your valued feedback we are sorry that you did not personally enjoy your time with us at the Swan Hotel. Having shared your comments with my very hard working Christmas team they are equally sad that you did not enjoy your experience. Your own personal subjective opinion of the Christmas Lunch service was not mirrored by other diners who have fed back such exceptional reviews of the same meal. I do as expressed though 100% understand and appreciate that each and every one of our preferences and expectations are different and respect your feelings on this. Again i am sorry that i was unable to give you the requested refund and do appreciate that the venue you stayed with in Christmas 2018 did give you a full refund i hope our conversations explains why a refund was not granted. Thank you again for taking the time to post your reviews. Kind regards and my very best wishes. Mark Tobin General Manager

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.