Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel.

Step back nearly 600 years at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel.

Stunningly located in the shadow of Wells Cathedral, this hotel has unique charm and offers guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting.

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan hotel is in the heart of vibrant and historic city of Wells and is just a short drive away from Glastonbury, Bath and Bristol. A former coaching inn, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan hotel is a delight to behold, both inside and out! It has been sympathetically restored and extended to ensure every inch of comfort for guests staying within its 48 bedrooms and the luxurious Cathedral Suite (recent winner of Most Impressive Guest Room in our global Fan Awards). What's more, a Health Suite is also available for the exclusive use of guests.

Please be aware that this hotel does not have a lift, but two rooms are available on the ground floor. and porterage is available. Car parking is on a first come first served basis. It is also a popular wedding venue however music is not permitted after 11.30pm.

View more

Location

Sadler Street
Wells
Somerset
BA5 2RX
England
AA/VB

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Gym, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: Accepted £15 charge per dog per night
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Adam Kennington

swan-hotel-dining-13-83076

15c A.D.

We are pleased to offer a range of dining options and a host of different areas in which to enjoy your Somerset dining experience. From a formal 3 course meal to relaxed buffets and barbeques, residents and non-residents alike can enjoy morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Enjoy!

Opening hours

Lunch: 12.00 - 14.00
Dinner: 19.00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Wells Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5991 Yards
Handicap required

Location

1.5 miles away in Wells

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £25.00
Trolley hire £10.00
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire £15.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £2.00

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Health Suite

  • Sauna

  • Lounge

Gym and Leisure Facilities

Our health suite houses free weights, a rowing machine, treadmill, power plate and cross trainer. Please note that the health suite is unmanned.

swan-hotel-leisure-03-83076

Weddings

The scenery, the service, the standards. You can have it all at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel! Whether its an intimate wedding, a large wedding reception or the civil wedding ceremony itself, we pride ourselves on providing the perfect wedding venue.
Our experienced staff are here to help; from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. We aim to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way!

swan-hotel-wedding-events-12-83076-OPswan-hotel-wedding-events-06-83076swan-hotel-wedding-events-11-83076swan-hotel-wedding-events-02-83076swan-hotel-bedrooms-18-83076swan-hotel-wedding-events-10-83076swan-hotel-wedding-events-14-83076swan-hotel-wedding-events-15-83076swan-hotel-bedrooms-09-83076

Civil Ceremonies

Civil wedding ceremonies are held in our delightful Garden Room. This light and airy room lends itself beautifully to civil wedding ceremonies and can be quickly turned around to become a fantasic wedding breakfast venue for up to 40 guests.

After your civil wedding ceremony, you and your guests can enjoy drinks in our secluded Walled Garden, or larger parties can make their way to our Oak Room which has its own bar and drinks area.

Catering

Wedding breakfasts can be held in our Oak Room which offers a separate bar area and dance floor; sure to keep your guests happy!
Our award-winning food makes us one of the most popular wedding venues, with 2 AA Rosettes and the finest locally sourced ingredients; our sit down wedding breakfast menu will be the perfect compliment to your big day.

Honeymoon Suite

Cathedral Suite - Spend a night of wedded bliss in one of the best hotel rooms in the West Country. The sumptuous and spacious bedroom, sitting room and bathroom are furnished with gilded French furniture, fabulous silk curtains and an eclectic mix of antiques where you can enjoy unrivalled panoramic views of Wells Cathedral. Before you drift off to sleep in style, you may be tempted to pamper yourselves in the luxurious bathroom, which boasts a grand free-standing brass bath and walk-in double shower.

Registrar

Registry office:
Mendip
Commercial Road, Shepton Mallet, Somerset, BA4 5BU
01749 343928




The hotel provides a beautiful setting for a wedding ceremony or reception. Situated opposite Wells Cathedral.

For any enquiries please call Natasha Mingo-West on 01749 836300

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type BA5 2RX

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M4, J18, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: Bath/Bristol, 20.00 miles
Nearest airport: Bristol, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (30 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Sadler Street
Wells
Somerset
BA5 2RX
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Bristol City FC (22 miles)

  • Bath Rugby (22 miles)

  • Yeovil Town FC (27 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Wells Cathedral (0.2 miles)

  • Bishops Palace (0.1 miles)

  • Vicars Close (0.2 miles)

  • Wookey Hole (2 miles)

  • Cheddar Gorge and Caves (10 miles)

Shopping

  • Wells Town Centre (0.1 miles)

  • Clarks Shopping Village (6 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

swan-hotel-meeting-space-01-83076

If you're looking for the perfect venue for meetings or events, look no further than the BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Oak Room 100 45 35 40 100
Exmoor 0 0 0 14 0
Garden Room 70 30 25 35 40
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 576 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 301
Rating: 4 166
Rating: 3 68
Rating: 2 25
Rating: 1 17
Rating

Lovely hotel, great staff

02/09/2015 Meat-eater249, Wakefield

This is a beautiful hotel, with lovely rooms. I say this with a plural as our first room had a noise which would have kept me awake so without any question the staff moved us to another, magnificent r... more

Rating

Fine Dine

31/08/2015 Alfsmat,

Bank holiday Monday. Fairly quite everywhere, went to the Swan Hotel Wells. A really very good dinner with nice friendly service. We tried the Two course menu scallops to start beautifully cooked and ... more

Rating

Still as good as ever

31/08/2015 deliasboy, Norwich, United Kingdom

Great service. Good food. The room we had was a superior double. This was an understatement ! The staff were efficient , very friendly , and a pleasure to meet. . The hotel now has draft Addlestons c... more

Rating

Excellent food

31/08/2015 Izzy R,

Not our first stay, but definitely not the last one. We spent there a night some months ago which was very pleasant. This week we went there for dinner. We had a great 3 courses menu and all of us agr... more

Rating

Poor service EVER!

29/08/2015 Kok Boon E, Wells, United Kingdom

Very poor check-in receptionist and poor attitude. Have to wait for hours even after long hours of flights (>12hours) for a room to be ready and no alternative is given! Breakfast choice is below par.... more

Owner Response
Swanhotelwells, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Kok Boon Ee Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read your comments. As you are probably already aware, our check-in time is from 2pm (check-out is 11am). The room that you had been allocated was in use the night before and the occupants didn’t leave until late morning. The room was then serviced and we checked you in at 2.08pm. That being said, we did have a room available which you could have used for the first night of your 4 night stay before being moved to your allocated room with four poster bed. I have talked to my reception team about this. Our restaurant is popular with residents and non-residents all year round and August was a very busy month for us. We recommend that guests (particularly those staying on a room only basis) book a table for dinner. Our reception team is happy to make reservations. I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I sincerely hope that you will re-visit the hotel in the future. Kind regards Mark Tobin