Filthy room/deceptive website photos
We were so excited while planning our first Holland weekend getaway. Had never stayed at a Best Western, but decided to do so after viewing their charming website photos, which depict a gorgeous, cabi... more
We were so excited while planning our first Holland weekend getaway. Had never stayed at a Best Western, but decided to do so after viewing their charming website photos, which depict a gorgeous, cabin-themed lobby/dining area, as well as beautifully remodeled and colorful guest rooms. We arrived late last Thursday night and to our dismay, discovered complete renovations taking place in the lobby/dining area- all gutted down to slab concrete. We had considered the nearby Hampton, but their website CLEARLY and honestly noted they were open, but currently under renovation. The desk attendant was very nice, however, I showed him their website photos and his response was, “This is what it WILL look like” when renovations are complete. We were further shocked by the condition of our room- slice of old pizza under the chair, stains on the carpet, old chipped wall paint, rust on door trim, sink would not drain. Mattress was obviously old- could feel a spring protruding and it rolled to one side. Toilet would not stop running & I lifted tank lid to find black mildew inside. We asked for a refund, but desk attendant said he could only authorize 10% discount, and that we would have to contact hotel mgr the following day re. refund. Manager Brandon did not return our call until 4 days later, said he could not authorize a refund, but offered us a “free stay or reward points” for our next visit. That was unacceptable, as we will never be staying at a Best Western again. I understand and appreciate their need to update the hotel, but the deceptive website, filthy room conditions and refusal of refund showed exceptionally poor guest service. I do want to mention that Jerry and Alfred at front desk were EXTREMELY kind, professional, and empathetic of our situation.
Brandon_BWPHolland, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites, responded to this review
We are in receipt of the many negative reviews you promised to provide, if our Hotel did not adhere to your demands in providing you a full refund for your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, we trust that the Trip Advisor community can distinguish a legitimate guest review, and one that is clearly less so. Our Hotel is a Certificate of Excellence award winning property, 2-years running. I do sincerely apologize again that we were unable to accommodate your demands, and wish you all the best.
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites