Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel.

The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel Near Keswick is set overlooking some of England's highest fells and Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel is in a beautiful location, just 8 miles from Keswick and ideally situated for those wishing to explore Bassenthwaite, Keswick and the Lake District.

So whether you're out and about or relaxing at the hotel, with the Lake District as our back garden you'll be guaranteed peace & quiet.

Should you be using sat nav to reach the hotel, please note if travelling along the A591 from Keswick, please do NOT turn off the A591 into Bassenthwaite Village. We are located on the A591, a further 5 minutes drive along the main road.

View more

Location

Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria
CA12 4RG
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6254*
AA

Summary

For detailed driving directions please refer to the 'Explore Hotel' section
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Sauna, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted Selected rooms only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

There is a variety of food options at the Castle Inn, from fine dining in the Ritsons restaurant, to the more casual experience in the Castle Inn Tavern. Our Head Chef brings a wealth of experience with AA rosettes, gained in 4 star hotel restaurants throughout the country.

Chef Neil Blackler

castle-inn-hotel-dining-10-83872

Ritson Restaurant

Our restaurant has a warm and modern appeal, for either a romantic meal for two, or a family meal. if you are hosting a special occassion, private dining can also be arranged in one our of our function rooms.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
castle-inn-hotel-dining-21-83872

Castle Inn Tavern

Our relaxing Castle Inn Tavern is a favourite with all our guests. With an extensive menu, relaxing dining and local beers there is something on the menu for everyone.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Keswick Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Rural
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6225 Yards
No handicap required

Location

11.6 miles away in Keswick

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £15.00
18 holes £20.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £10.00
Buggy hire £22.00
Tuition £15.00

Cockermouth Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Felllside
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 5410 Yards
No handicap required

Location

5.1 miles away in Cockermouth

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £16.00

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Large indoor heated swimming pool (15m)

  • Games room with Wii Sports and table tennis

  • Steam room and sauna

  • 9 hole putting green

  • Croquet

  • List of local attractions and walks

  • Board games

  • Gym

  • Grass tennis court

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Whether you feel like a dip in our 15 meter pool followed by a sauna and a steam or a workout in our state-of-the-art gym, you'll feel fantastic when you leave our leisure suite!

castle-inn-hotel-leisure-11-83872

Weddings

Located within a stunning setting, with views to Bassenthwaite Lake and some of the Lake District's most famous fells, which provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding photographs. The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel has beautiful landscaped gardens where guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the local area.

The hotel has a number of suites licensed to host Civil Ceremonies, wedding breakfasts and evening receptions; so whether you are planning a small intimate wedding or a large grand affair, the four star Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel is the perfect romantic venue.

Wedding service and reception venue

It is so important that everything is personalised to make your wedding day a truly memorable occasion for everyone, and is exactly how you would like to celebrate this very special event. We can help create a bespoke package to make sure your day is exactly how you have always dreamed of.

Catering

From the canape reception to a sit-down meal and evening buffet, we will cater for your every need. Should you be looking for something slightly different such as an afternoon tea, or hog roast, we can cater for your own requirments. Our head chef whenever possible selects his products from local suppliers to create a selection of delicious menus. We are also proud to boast that we are one of the only hotels within Cumbria which offer your guests a choice of menu on the day!

Honeymoon Suite

The good news is that you'll receive complimentary use of our four poster honeymoon suite on your wedding night*

*subject to minimum numbers

Registrar

Registry office:
Whitehaven
College House, Flatt Walks, Whitehaven CA28 7RW
01946 506190




We pride ourselves on making the day as bespoke to each individual couple as we possibly can.
Any questions then please contact us and we are more than happy to answer them and listen to all the fantastic ideas you may have to make the day as magical as possible.

For any enquiries please call Wedding Co-ordinator on 01768 776401

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CA12 4RG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M6, J40, 24.00 miles
Nearest train station: Carlisle and Penrith, 23.00 miles
Nearest airport: Manchester, 130.00 miles
Free parking on site (150 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria
CA12 4RG
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Workington Football Club (15 miles)

  • Whitehaven Rugby League (22 miles)

  • Carlisle United Football Club (24 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Osprey's at Bassenthwaite (Dodd Wood) (3 miles)

  • Winlatter Forest & Go Ape (6 miles)

  • Skiddaw Mountain (5 miles)

  • Theatre by the Lake (7 miles)

  • Lakeland Wildlife Centre (0.5 miles)

Shopping

  • Keswick (7 miles)

  • Cockermouth (7 miles)

  • Carlisle (20 miles)

  • Workington (15 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

castle-inn-hotel-meeting-space-05-83872

Overlooking some of the Lake District's highest fells, the Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel can really boast great meeting rooms with great views! Our four dedicated conference rooms can cater for meetings for up to 200 delegates in a theatre style. Each with natural daylight and contemporary decor.

Our vast landscaped gardens are ideal for team building, getting fresh air during refreshments breaks or outdoor catering event.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Budworth 200 108 90 50 150
Skelton 80 36 35 40 70
Senhouse 50 27 24 26 50
Dalton 50 27 24 26 40
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 819 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 348
Rating: 4 278
Rating: 3 100
Rating: 2 51
Rating: 1 42
Rating

Stay in February

16/02/2017 bobandpam1973, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Stayed for 2 nights Feb 17. Had food In the bar both nights which was very good. Breakfast also very good and cooked to order so lovely, hot and fresh. Room adequate and clean, but mattress had a spr... more

Owner Response
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities and the food. It is true that we have removed the spa bath from our facilities. we have a major refurbishment programme commencing soon which will see new club facilities and a new spa bath. I am hope that in the near future you can return to stay with us and enjoy more time in the area. Best wishes, Jim
Rating

Well worth a visit!

14/02/2017 cmd212017, Lincoln, United Kingdom

We stayed here for 3 nights taking advantage of the promotional winter rates - excellent value for money. This was our first stay and we look forward to future stays as we enjoyed it very much. The s... more

Owner Response
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Jim
Rating

Long weekend in the Lakes.

14/02/2017 petet570, Cumbernauld, United Kingdom

Stayed here from Friday to Monday using Tesco vouchers. Can't really complain when a 3 night stay costs you £2! However can't let that cloud your view. Decent hotel that could be so much better. Has a... more

Owner Response
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay. I am plezsed to say that a major investment this year will see improvements to public areas and the leisure club. Works will commence on the club soon which will see a new spa bath and sauna and upgraded changing rooms. We had delayed the installation of a new spa bath with these plans in mind. I am sorry to learn that you found the restaurant dining poor value for money as we do keep the offering and price in line with our competitors. In the bar we stock most branded spirits and selection of bottled lagers as well as 2-3 real ales on draught. I wouldn't say it was very limited but I am sorry if we did not stock something that you prefer. We do offer breakfast at £10 when booking in advance, and on arrival at check-in. Many of our guests take advantage of this saving. We offer room only and breakfast included rates giving customers the option. A full continental buffet selection and a hearty Cumbrian plated breakfast are offered when paying £15 and considering many visits could be made to the buffet, I think it is excellent value for money. I appreciate the feedback and thank you for chosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Jim
Rating

Lovely getaway in a beautiful part of England

12/02/2017 PaulUndie, Banbury, United Kingdom

I think this is my third visit here, I came here for my wedding night, subsequently returned for a short honeymoon, and now back for Valentines weekend. I think that says it all! It's a lovely pub/hot... more

Owner Response
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay again with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best wishes, Jim
Rating

Fantastic hotel.

12/02/2017 Ian S, Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom

Stayed here for 1 night only in a suite, room 61. Very friendly welcome on arrival. We used the gym and the pool (and sauna and steam room) and had a meal in the bar. Overall the whole experience was... more

Owner Response
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay and meal, and that you made good use of the leisure facilities too. The team will be delivhted with the feedback. See you again soon. Kind regards Jim