• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Plus Lake District Keswick Castle Inn Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel.

The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel Near Keswick is set overlooking some of England's highest fells and Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel is in a beautiful location, just 8 miles from Keswick and ideally situated for those wishing to explore Bassenthwaite, Keswick and the Lake District.

So whether you're out and about or relaxing at the hotel, with the Lake District as our back garden you'll be guaranteed peace & quiet.

Should you be using sat nav to reach the hotel, please note if travelling along the A591 from Keswick, please do NOT turn off the A591 into Bassenthwaite Village. We are located on the A591, a further 5 minutes drive along the main road.

View more

Location

Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria
CA12 4RG
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6254*
AA

Summary

For detailed driving directions please refer to the 'Explore Hotel' section A591 North of the hotel (from Carlisle) will be closed from Mon 20th March until Wed 29th March 2017 for repairs, diversions are in place.
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Sauna, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted Selected rooms only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

There is a variety of food options at the Castle Inn, from fine dining in the Ritsons restaurant, to the more casual experience in the Castle Inn Tavern. Our Head Chef brings a wealth of experience with AA rosettes, gained in 4 star hotel restaurants throughout the country.

Chef Neil Blackler

castle-inn-hotel-dining-10-83872

Ritson Restaurant

Our restaurant has a warm and modern appeal, for either a romantic meal for two, or a family meal. if you are hosting a special occassion, private dining can also be arranged in one our of our function rooms.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
castle-inn-hotel-dining-21-83872

Castle Inn Tavern

Our relaxing Castle Inn Tavern is a favourite with all our guests. With an extensive menu, relaxing dining and local beers there is something on the menu for everyone.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Keswick Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Rural
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6225 Yards
No handicap required

Location

11.6 miles away in Keswick

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £15.00
18 holes £20.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £10.00
Buggy hire £22.00
Tuition £15.00

Cockermouth Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Felllside
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 5410 Yards
No handicap required

Location

5.1 miles away in Cockermouth

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £16.00

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Large indoor heated swimming pool (15m)

  • Games room with Wii Sports and table tennis

  • Steam room and sauna

  • 9 hole putting green

  • Croquet

  • List of local attractions and walks

  • Board games

  • Gym

  • Grass tennis court

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Whether you feel like a dip in our 15 meter pool followed by a sauna and a steam or a workout in our state-of-the-art gym, you'll feel fantastic when you leave our leisure suite!

castle-inn-hotel-leisure-11-83872

Weddings

Located within a stunning setting, with views to Bassenthwaite Lake and some of the Lake District's most famous fells, which provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding photographs. The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel has beautiful landscaped gardens where guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the local area.

The hotel has a number of suites licensed to host Civil Ceremonies, wedding breakfasts and evening receptions; so whether you are planning a small intimate wedding or a large grand affair, the four star Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel is the perfect romantic venue.

Wedding service and reception venue

It is so important that everything is personalised to make your wedding day a truly memorable occasion for everyone, and is exactly how you would like to celebrate this very special event. We can help create a bespoke package to make sure your day is exactly how you have always dreamed of.

Catering

From the canape reception to a sit-down meal and evening buffet, we will cater for your every need. Should you be looking for something slightly different such as an afternoon tea, or hog roast, we can cater for your own requirments. Our head chef whenever possible selects his products from local suppliers to create a selection of delicious menus. We are also proud to boast that we are one of the only hotels within Cumbria which offer your guests a choice of menu on the day!

Honeymoon Suite

The good news is that you'll receive complimentary use of our four poster honeymoon suite on your wedding night*

*subject to minimum numbers

Registrar

Registry office:
Whitehaven
College House, Flatt Walks, Whitehaven CA28 7RW
01946 506190




We pride ourselves on making the day as bespoke to each individual couple as we possibly can.
Any questions then please contact us and we are more than happy to answer them and listen to all the fantastic ideas you may have to make the day as magical as possible.

For any enquiries please call Wedding Co-ordinator on 01768 776401

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CA12 4RG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M6, J40, 24.00 miles
Nearest train station: Carlisle and Penrith, 23.00 miles
Nearest airport: Manchester, 130.00 miles
Free parking on site (150 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria
CA12 4RG
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Workington Football Club (15 miles)

  • Whitehaven Rugby League (22 miles)

  • Carlisle United Football Club (24 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Osprey's at Bassenthwaite (Dodd Wood) (3 miles)

  • Winlatter Forest & Go Ape (6 miles)

  • Skiddaw Mountain (5 miles)

  • Theatre by the Lake (7 miles)

  • Lakeland Wildlife Centre (0.5 miles)

Shopping

  • Keswick (7 miles)

  • Cockermouth (7 miles)

  • Carlisle (20 miles)

  • Workington (15 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

castle-inn-hotel-meeting-space-05-83872

Overlooking some of the Lake District's highest fells, the Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel can really boast great meeting rooms with great views! Our four dedicated conference rooms can cater for meetings for up to 200 delegates in a theatre style. Each with natural daylight and contemporary decor.

Our vast landscaped gardens are ideal for team building, getting fresh air during refreshments breaks or outdoor catering event.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Budworth 200 108 90 50 150
Skelton 80 36 35 40 70
Senhouse 50 27 24 26 50
Dalton 50 27 24 26 40
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 954 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 388
Rating: 4 327
Rating: 3 122
Rating: 2 64
Rating: 1 53
Rating

No hassle at the Castle

30/12/2017 Douglas M, Selkirk, United Kingdom

Stayed for three nights over Christmas with our cockapoo. Room spotless, warm and well equipped. Welcome gifts ( bottle of wine, sweets and shortbread) very generous. Food absolutely brilliant (smoked... more

Owner Response
DGM-CastleInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 'Douglas M', Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit with us. I am pleased to read that were able to have a relaxing stay with your dog over the Christmas period. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the food and the leisure facilities. Unfortunately the Smoked Haddock risotto was only on during the Christmas period, but I will pass on your kind feedback to the chef, and who knows, it may feature on our main menu soon! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Tom Cobley Deputy General Manager
Rating

Totally exceeded my expectations, so impressed and would definitely return

27/12/2017 tubsa, Lancashire

We stayed for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding down the road at Armathwaite Hall. First impressions was how big the hotel was but when we entered our room we were so impressed with the attenti... more

Owner Response
DGM-CastleInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 'tubsa', Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and kind review on your recent stay with us. I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and even more so that you would definitely return again. We look forward to welcoming you back, in the hopefully not too distant future! Kind Regards, Tom Cobley Deputy General Manager
Rating

Disappointing !

24/12/2017 Joanne M,

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Armathwaite Hall . Good points - very close to armathwaite Hall , walking distance . Plenty parking Modern bathrooms We were disappointed with the sta... more

Owner Response
DGM-CastleInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 'Joanne M', Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you felt disappointed with your stay. I am surprised to read that a member of my team sent you the wrong way to Armathwaite Hall as it is less than a 1 minute drive from us, and all of the staff know where this is. I am sorry that you were told breakfast was over at 10.15am, I will ensure that it reiterated to my team that breakfast does not finish until 10.30am. I am glad however that you managed to have your breakfast. Kind Regards, Tom Cobley Deputy General Manager
Rating

Dirty dirty dirty!

20/12/2017 12dharamp, London, United Kingdom

Hi, we had an absolutely appalling experience and would never stay there again. We arrived around 11pm after driving 5 and half hours from London with a 8 month old baby and 22 month toddler. We calle... more

Owner Response
DGM-CastleInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear ‘12dharamp’, Firstly let me apologise that you were unsatisfied with your recent stay. However, there are a few points mentioned which I would like to address. I can absolutely assure you that all beds in your original room were changed before your arrival, and the whole room checked by a senior member of management, as well as the Housekeeping supervisor, so find it very hard to believe you found dirty tissues on the floor, nor hairs in the bed. Richard, our night porter, advised our manager the following morning of the room move he made, however explained to you that you would have to move back in to your original room once it was ready for you to return, and wouldn’t be charged for the extra room for that night. Upon arrival to your original room, 2 members of senior management went over the room with a fine toothcomb, and could not see anything diabolical about the cleanliness. I have spoken to the manager on duty on Monday morning, who said that the manner in which she was spoken to was unacceptable, but I apologise if she seemed uninterested to you, but happy to read that you were able to stay in the two separate rooms as you wanted. My team assure me that every effort was made to ensure that your rooms were thoroughly cleaned throughout your stay, however, if you do not use the bins which are provided in your room for litter, then the housekeeping team would not dispose of this in case something you wanted to keep was disposed of. We do not change the bedding in a guests room each day, as we are firm believers of looking after the environment, however had you asked us to change your bedding after one night, we would’ve done this for you. As numerous of fantastic reviews on this site show, this has not been an issue for any other guests, so for yourselves to find all three rooms you were in to be dirty is extremely surprising, perhaps it is a matter of personal opinion. Kind Regards, Tom Cobley Deputy General Manager
Rating

Great Hotel

19/12/2017 J184FHkaren, Darlington, United Kingdom

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding at another more expensive hotel. Excellent service no remote for tv but staff quickly rectified this immediately. Staff always asking if they could do more f... more

Owner Response
DGM-CastleInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 'J184FHkaren', Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and am glad the staff quickly rectified your missing TV remote situation. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Tom Cobley Deputy General Manager

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures. Great stories cannot be untold. They burst out. We love hearing them, reading them and sharing them. Click below to be inspired by our most recent stories near this hotel.