Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel.

The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel Near Keswick is set overlooking some of England's highest fells and Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel is in a beautiful location, just 8 miles from Keswick and ideally situated for those wishing to explore Bassenthwaite, Keswick and the Lake District.

So whether you're out and about or relaxing at the hotel, with the Lake District as our back garden you'll be guaranteed peace & quiet.

Should you be using sat nav to reach the hotel, please note if travelling along the A591 from Keswick, please do NOT turn off the A591 into Bassenthwaite Village. We are located on the A591, a further 5 minutes drive along the main road.

View more

Location

Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria
CA12 4RG
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6254*
AA

Summary

For detailed driving directions please refer to the 'Explore Hotel' section
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Sauna, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted Selected rooms only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

There is a variety of food options at the Castle Inn, from fine dining in the Ritsons restaurant, to the more casual experience in the Castle Inn Tavern. Our Head Chef brings a wealth of experience with AA rosettes, gained in 4 star hotel restaurants throughout the country.

Chef Neil Blackler

castle-inn-hotel-dining-10-83872

Ritson Restaurant

Our restaurant has a warm and modern appeal, for either a romantic meal for two, or a family meal. if you are hosting a special occassion, private dining can also be arranged in one our of our function rooms.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
castle-inn-hotel-dining-21-83872

Castle Inn Tavern

Our relaxing Castle Inn Tavern is a favourite with all our guests. With an extensive menu, relaxing dining and local beers there is something on the menu for everyone.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Keswick Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Rural
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6225 Yards
No handicap required

Location

11.6 miles away in Keswick

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £15.00
18 holes £20.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £10.00
Buggy hire £22.00
Tuition £15.00

Cockermouth Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Felllside
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 5410 Yards
No handicap required

Location

5.1 miles away in Cockermouth

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £16.00

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Large indoor heated swimming pool (15m)

  • Games room with Wii Sports and table tennis

  • Steam room and sauna

  • 9 hole putting green

  • Croquet

  • List of local attractions and walks

  • Board games

  • Gym

  • Grass tennis court

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Whether you feel like a dip in our 15 meter pool followed by a sauna and a steam or a workout in our state-of-the-art gym, you'll feel fantastic when you leave our leisure suite!

castle-inn-hotel-leisure-11-83872

Weddings

Located within a stunning setting, with views to Bassenthwaite Lake and some of the Lake District's most famous fells, which provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding photographs. The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel has beautiful landscaped gardens where guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the local area.

The hotel has a number of suites licensed to host Civil Ceremonies, wedding breakfasts and evening receptions; so whether you are planning a small intimate wedding or a large grand affair, the four star Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel is the perfect romantic venue.

Wedding service and reception venue

It is so important that everything is personalised to make your wedding day a truly memorable occasion for everyone, and is exactly how you would like to celebrate this very special event. We can help create a bespoke package to make sure your day is exactly how you have always dreamed of.

Catering

From the canape reception to a sit-down meal and evening buffet, we will cater for your every need. Should you be looking for something slightly different such as an afternoon tea, or hog roast, we can cater for your own requirments. Our head chef whenever possible selects his products from local suppliers to create a selection of delicious menus. We are also proud to boast that we are one of the only hotels within Cumbria which offer your guests a choice of menu on the day!

Honeymoon Suite

The good news is that you'll receive complimentary use of our four poster honeymoon suite on your wedding night*

*subject to minimum numbers

Registrar

Registry office:
Whitehaven
College House, Flatt Walks, Whitehaven CA28 7RW
01946 506190




We pride ourselves on making the day as bespoke to each individual couple as we possibly can.
Any questions then please contact us and we are more than happy to answer them and listen to all the fantastic ideas you may have to make the day as magical as possible.

For any enquiries please call Wedding Co-ordinator on 01768 776401

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CA12 4RG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M6, J40, 24.00 miles
Nearest train station: Carlisle and Penrith, 23.00 miles
Nearest airport: Manchester, 130.00 miles
Free parking on site (150 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Bassenthwaite
Keswick
Cumbria
CA12 4RG
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Workington Football Club (15 miles)

  • Whitehaven Rugby League (22 miles)

  • Carlisle United Football Club (24 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Osprey's at Bassenthwaite (Dodd Wood) (3 miles)

  • Winlatter Forest & Go Ape (6 miles)

  • Skiddaw Mountain (5 miles)

  • Theatre by the Lake (7 miles)

  • Lakeland Wildlife Centre (0.5 miles)

Shopping

  • Keswick (7 miles)

  • Cockermouth (7 miles)

  • Carlisle (20 miles)

  • Workington (15 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

castle-inn-hotel-meeting-space-05-83872

Overlooking some of the Lake District's highest fells, the Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel can really boast great meeting rooms with great views! Our four dedicated conference rooms can cater for meetings for up to 200 delegates in a theatre style. Each with natural daylight and contemporary decor.

Our vast landscaped gardens are ideal for team building, getting fresh air during refreshments breaks or outdoor catering event.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Budworth 200 108 90 50 150
Skelton 80 36 35 40 70
Senhouse 50 27 24 26 50
Dalton 50 27 24 26 40
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 769 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 333
Rating: 4 254
Rating: 3 94
Rating: 2 48
Rating: 1 40
Rating

Lovely meal

19/09/2016 Felicity123456,

Tonight we thought we would try the Castle Inn for a meal, it was lovely; we had the risotto and the cod and chips. The meals were delicious and the service was First class. Even a bowl of water was b... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Felicity123456, Thank you for taking the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed the Tavern Bar and I will pass your kind comments across to the staff. Also I am glad your dog enjoyed the trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Inn Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Peter
Rating

Fantastic

18/09/2016 ClaireBarber,

Only booked this as we wanted to go to the nearby distillery on our way back from Fort William to Wakefield Loved every thing about this place.. location, staff, comfort, bar( and the excellent bar ma... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear ClaireBarber, Thank you for taking the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Peter
Rating

Beautiful location - excellent food - wonderful staff

18/09/2016 Diane L, London, Canada

We are traveling with a tour group and have just spent four nights at the Castle Inn. The setting is beautiful - lovely grounds - very quiet (although lots going on!) - a beautiful pool. The front l... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Diane L, Thank you for taking the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel. I want to thank you for your lovely comments about the staff and the hotel in which I ensure you these will be passed across to the team. I will make sure the comments about the bath and the bedroom are rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and we will ensure extra pillows are put in the room for your added comfort. Kind Regards Peter
Rating

Beautiful scenery

09/09/2016 Patricia Ann W, Hartlepool, United Kingdom

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly. Good location for visiting Carlisle and Keswick. Peaceful surroundings. Room excellent. First class restaurant and also has a tavern. Sauna, steam room and pool ver... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Patricia Ann W, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel, we really do appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Inn in the future. Kind Regards Peter
Rating

Poor customer service

05/09/2016 rhondaponda, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Booked 2 standard rooms here for a friend and myself. On arriving the room had clearly been smoked in iver a period of time. The smell was very strong and the window was open. On notifying reception i... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Rhondaponda, Thank you for the taking the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel. In this instant as explained the hotel was full that night and I do apologize that we were unable to move your room in which we would of upgraded you free of charge if we had a room available. We hadn't had any report that the previous guest was smoking in the room,this could of been from the open window in the room. I offer my sincere apologizes for the discomfort during your stay. We would love to see you visit the hotel and give us a second chance to impress you. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Peter