Dirty dirty dirty!
20/12/2017 12dharamp, London, United Kingdom
Hi, we had an absolutely appalling experience and would never stay there again. We arrived around 11pm after driving 5 and half hours from London with a 8 month old baby and 22 month toddler. We calle... more
Hi, we had an absolutely appalling experience and would never stay there again. We arrived around 11pm after driving 5 and half hours from London with a 8 month old baby and 22 month toddler. We called ahead to ask if they had a room with two room as my little baby had a viral infection and bronchitis. The staff over the phone said they did so we accepeted to change rooms. When we arrived in the room the cleanliness was beyond diabolical. It was so dirty. 1) the sheets weren’t changed and were made properly and I found Hair in the double bed. 2) we found dirty tissues on the floor. 3) when I got the blanket out the cupboard for my little girls it has a Thomas the tank engine yogurt lid stuck to it. I went down to reception immediately to make a complaint. The gentleman serving us was Richard. He was extremely helpful and moved us to two separate rooms 60-61. The room was in slightly better condition but the bathroom in 60 smelt like a sewer. The next morning. On the Monday we received a call to say we had to move rooms again, however the gentleman that helped us before said we wouldn’t have to move and the price would be covered, this again was not the case. Reception said this was not the case and said that one room was already booked. We then complained. The manager did not seem interested at all. Then whine my husband said he would pay the difference did suddleny the room became available. When we got back to the room on the Monday evening it was not cleaned people - rubbish was left on the floor, tissues left on the bed - dirty plastic cups in the bathroom were left which were already broken before we even got into the room. The bed was not made people and not changed as there were steins on the sheets. One the Tuesday evening when we got back the cleaning was only slightly better the sheets were changed but the broken cups on the bathroom and tissues were not cleaned. We had such a horrible experience we ending up leaving the hotel a night before we were suppose. We were appalled by the service and cleanliness of he hotel we would never stay there again. Made our small trip a complete headache with our children. less
DGM-CastleInnHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Firstly let me apologise that you were unsatisfied with your recent stay.
However, there are a few points mentioned which I would like to address.
I can absolutely assure you that all beds in your original room were changed before your arrival, and the whole room checked by a senior member of management, as well as the Housekeeping supervisor, so find it very hard to believe you found dirty tissues on the floor, nor hairs in the bed.
Richard, our night porter, advised our manager the following morning of the room move he made, however explained to you that you would have to move back in to your original room once it was ready for you to return, and wouldn’t be charged for the extra room for that night. Upon arrival to your original room, 2 members of senior management went over the room with a fine toothcomb, and could not see anything diabolical about the cleanliness.
I have spoken to the manager on duty on Monday morning, who said that the manner in which she was spoken to was unacceptable, but I apologise if she seemed uninterested to you, but happy to read that you were able to stay in the two separate rooms as you wanted.
My team assure me that every effort was made to ensure that your rooms were thoroughly cleaned throughout your stay, however, if you do not use the bins which are provided in your room for litter, then the housekeeping team would not dispose of this in case something you wanted to keep was disposed of.
We do not change the bedding in a guests room each day, as we are firm believers of looking after the environment, however had you asked us to change your bedding after one night, we would’ve done this for you.
As numerous of fantastic reviews on this site show, this has not been an issue for any other guests, so for yourselves to find all three rooms you were in to be dirty is extremely surprising, perhaps it is a matter of personal opinion.
Deputy General Manager