Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel.

The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel Near Keswick is set overlooking some of England's highest fells and Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel is in a beautiful location, just 8 miles from Keswick and ideally situated for those wishing to explore Bassenthwaite, Keswick and the Lake District.

So whether you're out and about or relaxing at the hotel, with the Lake District as our back garden you'll be guaranteed peace & quiet.

Should you be using sat nav to reach the hotel, please note if travelling along the A591 from Keswick, please do NOT turn off the A591 into Bassenthwaite Village. We are located on the A591, a further 5 minutes drive along the main road.

View more


CA12 4RG
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6254*


For detailed driving directions please refer to the 'Explore Hotel' section
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Sauna, Tennis, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted Selected rooms only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

There is a variety of food options at the Castle Inn, from fine dining in the Ritsons restaurant, to the more casual experience in the Castle Inn Tavern. Our Head Chef brings a wealth of experience with AA rosettes, gained in 4 star hotel restaurants throughout the country.

Chef Neil Blackler


Ritson Restaurant

Our restaurant has a warm and modern appeal, for either a romantic meal for two, or a family meal. if you are hosting a special occassion, private dining can also be arranged in one our of our function rooms.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Castle Inn Tavern

Our relaxing Castle Inn Tavern is a favourite with all our guests. With an extensive menu, relaxing dining and local beers there is something on the menu for everyone.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Keswick Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Rural
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6225 Yards
No handicap required


11.6 miles away in Keswick


Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £15.00
18 holes £20.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £10.00
Buggy hire £22.00
Tuition £15.00

Cockermouth Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Felllside
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 5410 Yards
No handicap required


5.1 miles away in Cockermouth


9 holes £10.00
18 holes £16.00

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Large indoor heated swimming pool (15m)

  • Games room with Wii Sports and table tennis

  • Steam room and sauna

  • 9 hole putting green

  • Croquet

  • List of local attractions and walks

  • Board games

  • Gym

  • Grass tennis court

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Whether you feel like a dip in our 15 meter pool followed by a sauna and a steam or a workout in our state-of-the-art gym, you'll feel fantastic when you leave our leisure suite!



Located within a stunning setting, with views to Bassenthwaite Lake and some of the Lake District's most famous fells, which provide the perfect backdrop for your wedding photographs. The Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel has beautiful landscaped gardens where guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the local area.

The hotel has a number of suites licensed to host Civil Ceremonies, wedding breakfasts and evening receptions; so whether you are planning a small intimate wedding or a large grand affair, the four star Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel is the perfect romantic venue.

Wedding service and reception venue

It is so important that everything is personalised to make your wedding day a truly memorable occasion for everyone, and is exactly how you would like to celebrate this very special event. We can help create a bespoke package to make sure your day is exactly how you have always dreamed of.


From the canape reception to a sit-down meal and evening buffet, we will cater for your every need. Should you be looking for something slightly different such as an afternoon tea, or hog roast, we can cater for your own requirments. Our head chef whenever possible selects his products from local suppliers to create a selection of delicious menus. We are also proud to boast that we are one of the only hotels within Cumbria which offer your guests a choice of menu on the day!

Honeymoon Suite

The good news is that you'll receive complimentary use of our four poster honeymoon suite on your wedding night*

*subject to minimum numbers


Registry office:
College House, Flatt Walks, Whitehaven CA28 7RW
01946 506190

We pride ourselves on making the day as bespoke to each individual couple as we possibly can.
Any questions then please contact us and we are more than happy to answer them and listen to all the fantastic ideas you may have to make the day as magical as possible.

For any enquiries please call Wedding Co-ordinator on 01768 776401

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CA12 4RG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M6, J40, 24.00 miles
Nearest train station: Carlisle and Penrith, 23.00 miles
Nearest airport: Manchester, 130.00 miles
Free parking on site (150 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

CA12 4RG

What's nearby?


  • Workington Football Club (15 miles)

  • Whitehaven Rugby League (22 miles)

  • Carlisle United Football Club (24 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Osprey's at Bassenthwaite (Dodd Wood) (3 miles)

  • Winlatter Forest & Go Ape (6 miles)

  • Skiddaw Mountain (5 miles)

  • Theatre by the Lake (7 miles)

  • Lakeland Wildlife Centre (0.5 miles)


  • Keswick (7 miles)

  • Cockermouth (7 miles)

  • Carlisle (20 miles)

  • Workington (15 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events


Overlooking some of the Lake District's highest fells, the Best Western Plus Castle Inn Hotel can really boast great meeting rooms with great views! Our four dedicated conference rooms can cater for meetings for up to 200 delegates in a theatre style. Each with natural daylight and contemporary decor.

Our vast landscaped gardens are ideal for team building, getting fresh air during refreshments breaks or outdoor catering event.

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Budworth 200 108 90 50 150
Skelton 80 36 35 40 70
Senhouse 50 27 24 26 50
Dalton 50 27 24 26 40
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 711 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 313
Rating: 4 237
Rating: 3 85
Rating: 2 39
Rating: 1 37

Wedding weekend

26/05/2016 Mick W, Leeds, England, United Kingdom

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding nearby, great location for walking, biking or just relaxing away from the busy city life.didn't use the pool or spa facilities but it looked great, breakfa... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mick W Thank you for your review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and I will share your feedback with the team. We look forward to you returning in the very near future. Kind regards Peter.

Value for Money

25/05/2016 Howard J, Liverpool, United Kingdom

I stay in numerous hotels in the UK on business including Best Western Plus and I feel this time at £99/per night is too much. This maybe because I booked my room the day of arrival, maybe because occ... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Howard J Thank you for your recent review. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience with me, if you would kindly contact me at the hotel. Best regards Peter.

Wonderful wedding and average night away

22/05/2016 Gerry-Angie, Thetford, United Kingdom

We have just returned from a wonderful family wedding at this hotel. All of the various reception rooms were lovely and the grounds immaculate - all helped by a rare bit of Cumbrian sun! The food was... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Gerry-Angie Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It was a great day and we have had lots of great feedback from guests. I was disappointed that you didn't enjoy your accommodation experience, I will look into this and ensure that it is rectified. Our breakfast offering is very extensive and we generally receive lots of positive feedback. The breakfast price is included in the room rate and only charged at £15 if a guest has not prior booked this or is not a hotel resident. Thank you once again Best wishes Peter,

this is not a 4 star hotel!

20/05/2016 IanTyson, Coventry

I'm struggling to give a fair review of this hotel, but they are making my job very hard. We are here for 2 days and it's 17.12 on the second and day and we are waiting for them to clean our forgotten... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr Tyson Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that we didn't have the opportunity of fixing the issues before highlighting them on this review site. I have asked all of my managers and not one was aware of your concerns. My apologies for my team not getting to your room earlier to make your bed and tidy up for you, there are no excuses although we did have some challenges on this day. Regarding the taxi, as you know we are in the beautiful but slightly remote part of the Lake District, 8 miles from Keswick and Cockermouth which is the base for the taxi companies we use. You asked us to book a taxi to take you to your destination a mile and half away, but there was no mention that you wanted us to check the price of this journey before confirming the reservation with the taxi company. Maybe in future ask this question so there are no hidden surprises! As far as the crisps are concerned, the price is a fairly standard price for a bowl of hand-cut homemade crisps, my apologies if you thought this was a little expensive. I have checked your room and I did find the hair-dryer, it was in the drawer. We do not have irons/ironing boards in bedrooms, but on request these are brought up to the room. Thank you for your kind words regarding breakfast, our leisure club and the team on the bar. Best regards Peter.

Quality Hotel with great location

18/05/2016 peterfStanley, Stanley

One of the better Best Western hotels but is in need of some updating but does not detract from the overall pleasurable experience of the weekend in the 'sunny' lake district! Ideally placed to cover ... more

Owner Response
PLEEWELS, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Peter Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We pride ourselves on being a traditional Lakeland hotel with modern twists. I am glad you enjoyed your sunny weekend, it really is sunny all of the time in the Lakes !!