this is not a 4 star hotel!
20/05/2016 IanTyson, Coventry
I'm struggling to give a fair review of this hotel, but they are making my job very hard. We are here for 2 days and it's 17.12 on the second and day and we are waiting for them to clean our forgotten... more
I'm struggling to give a fair review of this hotel, but they are making my job very hard. We are here for 2 days and it's 17.12 on the second and day and we are waiting for them to clean our forgotten room. On the first day we asked them to book a taxi for a mile and half journey. What they didn't tell was they booked from Keswick and it cost us £15! Complaints to reception and management got us a "sorry" and that's it...absolutely piss poor! On the plus side breakfast is good, leisure facilities are ok and bar staff are good except charging £1.50 for little more than a bag of crisps. No iron or hair dryer in the room. THIS IS DEFINITELY NOT A 4star HOTEL. I haven't paid 4 star prices, but please do not pretend to be something you are not. less
PLEEWELS, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr Tyson
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that we didn't have the opportunity of fixing the issues before highlighting them on this review site. I have asked all of my managers and not one was aware of your concerns.
My apologies for my team not getting to your room earlier to make your bed and tidy up for you, there are no excuses although we did have some challenges on this day.
Regarding the taxi, as you know we are in the beautiful but slightly remote part of the Lake District, 8 miles from Keswick and Cockermouth which is the base for the taxi companies we use. You asked us to book a taxi to take you to your destination a mile and half away, but there was no mention that you wanted us to check the price of this journey before confirming the reservation with the taxi company. Maybe in future ask this question so there are no hidden surprises!
As far as the crisps are concerned, the price is a fairly standard price for a bowl of hand-cut homemade crisps, my apologies if you thought this was a little expensive.
I have checked your room and I did find the hair-dryer, it was in the drawer. We do not have irons/ironing boards in bedrooms, but on request these are brought up to the room.
Thank you for your kind words regarding breakfast, our leisure club and the team on the bar.