Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant.

Take a well-earned break near Brighton.

The BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant is perfectly located in the picturesque village of Bramber at the foot of the South Downs National Park and the Downslink, BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel and Restaurant is a pebble's throw from Brighton.

The hotel is within easy reach of Gatwick airport and mainline stations too, so feel free to stop by and spend a night or two en-route to your overseas holiday! If you're here on business, the nearby motorway links take the hard work out of organizing a conference or event.

There are miles of walking to enjoy around the hotel, as well as riding, fishing and other outdoor pursuits! You'll also find a number of historic houses and gardens close-by.

Maintaining high brand standards and excellence in quality is second nature to the BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel in Steyning. We have proven that going that extra mile during our annual BEST WESTERN quality assurance assessments really does pay off. Our hard work and dedication to cleanliness and quality of both guest rooms and public areas has gained us the BEST WESTERN International Quality Award. A global recognition of excellence given to only a few selected hotels throughout the world, this award shows that we take pride in offering high levels of excellence in quality and brand standards our guests expect.

View more


The Street
West Sussex
BN44 3WE


Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Chef Jeff Hammerschlag


Hotel Restaurant

The menu features the famous hors d'oeuvres cold table and hot starters, followed by the carvery style main course which includes casseroles, fish and vegetarian options in additional to the selection of roast meats. We also have hot and cold desserts and a selection of cheeses.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07.00 - 09.30
Lunch: 12.00 - 14.00
Dinner: 18.00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary


Our guest ale is locally brewed and well worth a try!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Worthing GC

Course information

Course Type: Downland Links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71 & 66
Distance: 6505 Yards
No handicap required


9 miles away in Worthing


Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £30.00
18 holes £30.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition Yes

West Chiltington GC

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5967 Yards
No handicap required


11 miles away in West Chiltington


Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £20.00
18 holes £20.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes


The BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel & Restaurant is a very popular venue for weddings, civil ceremonies and partnerships. Our experienced team will guide you through the many preparations as the big day approaches, and take care of the finer details on the day itself.


Wedding service and reception venue

From the Civil ceremony to the last dance, you can spend the entire day with us here in Bramber! The glorious countryside that surrounds the hotel will prove the perfect backdrop for the all important photos too!


Your wedding breakfast will normally begin with a welcome drinks reception and for that extra special touch, you can also treat your guests to a selection of our homemade canapes.


Registry office:
Registration Services Manager
Edes House, West Street, Chichester PO19 1RQ

Get in touch with Maggie Parsons or Liz Tennant on 01903 879494

For any enquiries please call Maggie Parsons & Liz Tennant on 01903 879494

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type BN44 3WE

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M23, J11, 15.00 miles
Nearest train station: Shoreham-by-Sea, 4.00 miles
Nearest airport: london Gatwick, 26.00 miles
Free parking on site (60 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

The Street
West Sussex
BN44 3WE

What's nearby?


  • Brighton & Hove Albion FC (8 miles)

  • Goodwood Racecourse & Estate (27 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Amberley Castle (10 miles)

  • Brighton Pavilion (10 miles)

  • Arundel - Historical Town (20 miles)

  • South Downs - National Park (1 miles)

  • Devils Dyke - National Trust (9 miles)


  • Churchill Square (10 miles)

  • North Laines (10 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

We have several rooms ideal for conferences for a meeting from 2 delegates to 60 theatre style.

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Regency Room 60 30 26 26 30
Gate Room 30 12 12 14 16
Tackroom 12 4 8 10 10
Syn 106 & 206 12 4 8 10 0
Syn 110 & 210 6 2 4 6 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 374 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 178
Rating: 4 144
Rating: 3 34
Rating: 2 12
Rating: 1 6


21/11/2015 Janet H, Oxford, United Kingdom

Second visit to this hotel and we have recommended to many friends and family. the staff are excellent and some are still there since our last stay 2 years ago. the welcome is warm and friendly and th... more


Not very happy.

15/11/2015 absenttraveller2015, Littlehampton, United Kingdom

We couldn't say what it was like to stay at this hotel, as there was a confusion with our booking and the reception staff were not helpful and were very quick to blame us with the confusion, even thou... more

Owner Response
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
Dear absenttraveller2015 I am sorry to read your review, however, unfortunately you did not book with us direct and when you arrived at the hotel on Sunday 15 th November we were fully booked. the receptionist then asked if you had a confirmation of your booking - it was at this point you produced one that was clearly for the 15th October. You state in your review that you were charged for your room and I would like to reassure you that we The Old Tollgate Hotel did not charge you.Please feel free to contact me personally should you wish to book in the future and I will ensure it is handled correctly. kind regards

Would definitely stay again

13/11/2015 Jacqui H, London, United Kingdom

Would certainly recommend this hotel.Friendly staff,nice room-very clean and the bed was very comfortable.Good breakfast .A very relaxed,easy experience.Extremely easy to find the hotel,beautiful area... more

Owner Response
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
We really appreciate your 5* review Jacqui H - thank you.

A relaxing Hotel

12/11/2015 Andy W, Stroud, United Kingdom

I booked again to stay after the London to Brighton Car Run. had to change one of the rooms at the last minute from a double to a twin. Was that a problem? No as nothing ever seems to be a problem... more

Owner Response
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Andy W What an amazing review - thank you, we really appreciate your comments. kind regards

Excellent and friendly hotel in superb location

11/11/2015 Worldlife, Sussex

We have often had lunch at the Old Tollgate Restaurant and found their carvery provided most enjoyable food at a reasonable price. Unable to put everyone up for a family event we recommended the Old T... more

Owner Response
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review
What a fantastic review Worldlife - we really appreciate you posting your comments. Thank you.