• 8.1 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel in Oban has been substantially refurbished to offer both Victorian charm and modern, functional accommodation. Stunning views can be found both inside and out, as the hotel boasts beautiful, cosy reception rooms and outdoor views of Oban that stretch for miles across the water. The friendly team of staff are just as inviting, keen to offer the warmest of welcomes to all guests. Reassuringly, you'll be staying in the only 4-star full service hotel on the West Coast of Scotland - so there is no doubt about the quality you will enjoy.

The lovely resort town of Oban offers plenty of attractions inside and outside of its parameters. Dunollie Castle stands just on the outskirts the town, and provides glorious views that reach the Island of Kerrera. The falls of Lora can be found just six miles away from Oban, and prove a perfect day out for any adrenaline junkies or budding photographers. Treat yourself to some kayaking or diving, or simply enjoy the outstanding scenery that is waiting to be snapped. We'd highly recommend Loch Creran for some of the most peaceful fishing around, just 30-minutes away from the hotel.

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel is a magnificent building, with its own interesting history. The hotel is believed to have been built for the 1st Episcopalian Bishop of Argyll and the Islands, to become his home in the late 19th Century. At present, the building stands as a family run hotel, taken over by a friendly couple who saw great potential after staying on their honeymoon. The couple are proud to welcome their guests with unparalleled views over Oban Bay, an elegant interior and some of the best food in Oban.

View more

Location

Corran Esplanade
Oban
Argyll
PA34 5AG
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6115*
VS

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Through its idyllic location and complete dedication to hospitality, this Best Western has quickly become one the of the most enjoyable places to eat in Oban. Head Chef Stuart Wood is a culinary artist, ready to welcome you with faultless cuisine that is sure to leave you speechless.

Chef Stuart Wood

the-queens-hotel-dining-13-83538

Cuanra Restaurant

The Glen Campa restaurant offers some of the finest food and finest views in all of Oban. Local produce is cooked to perfection by the fantastic team of chefs, as you can enjoy 3-course fine dining throughout the week and the heartiest of roast dinners every Sunday lunch-time. Whilst waiting for your meal, take a moment to appreciate the mesmerising crystal chandeliers above and the stretched views over Oban Bay - both sure to knock your socks off.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
the-queens-hotel-dining-12-83538

The Lounge Bar

The Lounge Bar provides an elegant yet cosy retreat, in keeping with the rest of the hotels classic and chic dcor. The lounge bar is perfect for enjoying a huge selection of delicious light bites and bar meals, along with your favourite tipple as the drinks menu is just as extensive. Whether your fancy a soft drink, some fine wine, a sweet cider or a nice cold pint, we've got it all.

Opening hours

17:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Glencruitten Golf Course

Glencruitten golf course is a real hidden gem just outside of Oban, in the hilly Glencruitten Estate. The 18-hole parkland course was designed by James Braid and offers a whole host of extra facilities, including a practice area with a putting green, a well-equipped shop and a delightful bar and lounge.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 62
Distance: 4434 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in Oban

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites

Prices

9 holes £20.00
18 holes £20.00
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

The Best Western Queens Hotel would be absolutely delighted to be chosen as your wedding venue in Oban, welcoming you and your guests on your very special day. The hotel can cater for celebrations of up to 70 people, offering both food and drinks packages that can be personalised to your tastes and budget. The experienced team at the Best Western The Queens Hotel have a real eye for detail, and will make sure every tiny little thing is taken care of - it is one of the most important days of your life after all.

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call on 01631 562505

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type PA34 5AG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M8, J, 87.00 miles
Nearest train station: Oban, 0.75 miles
Nearest airport: Glasgow, 89.00 miles
Free parking on site (14 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
Corran Esplanade
Oban
Argyll
PA34 5AG
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Mossfield Sports Stadium (2 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Gateway to The Isles Ferry Hub (0.8 miles)

  • Boat trips for cruising, seal watching (0.8 miles)

  • Oban Whisky Distiller and Whisky Coast (0.8 miles)

  • Oban Centre (0.8 miles)

  • Cruachan Hollow Mountain Visitor Centre (19 miles)

The beautiful Glen Campa restaurant is available to hire for your event and can comfortably seat 60 delegates, for a medium sized conference venue in Oban. The team off experienced chefs will provide plenty of brain fuel to keep delegates full and motivated. Whether you want a lighter soup and sandwich selection or an extravagant 4 course lunch, we've got you covered.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1080 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 302
Rating: 4 399
Rating: 3 234
Rating: 2 101
Rating: 1 44
Rating

Just a Bed

17/10/2018 Elle-Rae I,

My partner and I stayed here while we were touring around Scotland. If we are being honest we would NOT stay here again. To us we saw it as just a bed and not anything else impressive. Also the shower... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Head Receptionist. at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will open an investigation regarding the pressure with the shower you had. I must say that all our bathrooms have an extractor fans for ventilation purpose. We wish you the best of luck with your future travels. Best Regards, William Stephen, Head Receptionist, Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel.
Rating

Not worth the price.

16/10/2018 MarieM5716,

If the idea of a hot tub in the room is nice, it is the only thing that worth to go in the hotel : a big stain on the wall of the room, very small bar, grumpy staff, basic room (quiet ugly), beds were... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Head Receptionist. at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review from your most recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear their was a number of issues with your room. I will pass these comments onto our maintance team to rectify as soon as possible. I will bring up the comments you have made regarding staff at our weekly team meeting. Best luck with your future travels. Best Regards, William Stephen, Head Receptionist, Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel.
Rating

A superb end to a brilliant tour of Scotland!!

15/10/2018 TonyMitchelW, Great Malvern, United Kingdom

We went on a fantastic tour of Scotland and ended up in the beautiful resort town of Oban staying in the BW Muthu Queens Hotel. This hotel is perfectly situated and within walking distance of the shop... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Head Receptionist. at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review from your most recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and your tour of Scotland! I will personally pass on your lovely comments at our weekly staff meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Regards, William Stephen, Head Receptionist, Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel.
Rating

Quiet, wonderful sea view

14/10/2018 Jeff C, Irving

It was a great place to unwind after a day of driving. Parking in the Hotel lot was very tight. I'm not sure how some of the vehicles got in there, or how they were going to get out. Room was large en... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Front Desk at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay at our property. Our parking is very limited,but you can always park behind our sister Hotel Alexandra Muthu. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01631 562505 / 01631 562381. Thank you again for taking the time to complete your review. Sincerely, Emilia Djumic Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel
Rating

Would Not Recommend

13/10/2018 Madison025, Wisconsin

There was a general tiredness in this hotel. There was no offer to help us with bags up the flight of stairs to the elevator. The room decor was in need of updating. We were told on check-in that w... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Front Desk at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01631 562505 / 01631 562381. Sincerely, Emilia Djumic Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel