• 8.1 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel in Oban has been substantially refurbished to offer both Victorian charm and modern, functional accommodation. Stunning views can be found both inside and out, as the hotel boasts beautiful, cosy reception rooms and outdoor views of Oban that stretch for miles across the water. The friendly team of staff are just as inviting, keen to offer the warmest of welcomes to all guests. Reassuringly, you'll be staying in the only 4-star full service hotel on the West Coast of Scotland - so there is no doubt about the quality you will enjoy.

The lovely resort town of Oban offers plenty of attractions inside and outside of its parameters. Dunollie Castle stands just on the outskirts the town, and provides glorious views that reach the Island of Kerrera. The falls of Lora can be found just six miles away from Oban, and prove a perfect day out for any adrenaline junkies or budding photographers. Treat yourself to some kayaking or diving, or simply enjoy the outstanding scenery that is waiting to be snapped. We'd highly recommend Loch Creran for some of the most peaceful fishing around, just 30-minutes away from the hotel.

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel is a magnificent building, with its own interesting history. The hotel is believed to have been built for the 1st Episcopalian Bishop of Argyll and the Islands, to become his home in the late 19th Century. At present, the building stands as a family run hotel, taken over by a friendly couple who saw great potential after staying on their honeymoon. The couple are proud to welcome their guests with unparalleled views over Oban Bay, an elegant interior and some of the best food in Oban.

View more

Location

Corran Esplanade
Oban
Argyll
PA34 5AG
Scotland
To make a reservation please call 0800 393130 (Freephone). For all other enquiries please call 01631 562505
VS

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Through its idyllic location and complete dedication to hospitality, this Best Western has quickly become one the of the most enjoyable places to eat in Oban. Head Chef Stuart Wood is a culinary artist, ready to welcome you with faultless cuisine that is sure to leave you speechless.

Chef Stuart Wood

the-queens-hotel-dining-13-83538

Cuanra Restaurant

The Glen Campa restaurant offers some of the finest food and finest views in all of Oban. Local produce is cooked to perfection by the fantastic team of chefs, as you can enjoy 3-course fine dining throughout the week and the heartiest of roast dinners every Sunday lunch-time. Whilst waiting for your meal, take a moment to appreciate the mesmerising crystal chandeliers above and the stretched views over Oban Bay - both sure to knock your socks off.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
the-queens-hotel-dining-12-83538

The Lounge Bar

The Lounge Bar provides an elegant yet cosy retreat, in keeping with the rest of the hotels classic and chic dcor. The lounge bar is perfect for enjoying a huge selection of delicious light bites and bar meals, along with your favourite tipple as the drinks menu is just as extensive. Whether your fancy a soft drink, some fine wine, a sweet cider or a nice cold pint, we've got it all.

Opening hours

17:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Glencruitten Golf Course

Glencruitten golf course is a real hidden gem just outside of Oban, in the hilly Glencruitten Estate. The 18-hole parkland course was designed by James Braid and offers a whole host of extra facilities, including a practice area with a putting green, a well-equipped shop and a delightful bar and lounge.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 62
Distance: 4434 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in Oban

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites

Prices

9 holes £20.00
18 holes £20.00
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

The Best Western Queens Hotel would be absolutely delighted to be chosen as your wedding venue in Oban, welcoming you and your guests on your very special day. The hotel can cater for celebrations of up to 70 people, offering both food and drinks packages that can be personalised to your tastes and budget. The experienced team at the Best Western The Queens Hotel have a real eye for detail, and will make sure every tiny little thing is taken care of - it is one of the most important days of your life after all.

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call on 01631 562505

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type PA34 5AG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M8, J, 87.00 miles
Nearest train station: Oban, 0.75 miles
Nearest airport: Glasgow, 89.00 miles
Free parking on site (14 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
Corran Esplanade
Oban
Argyll
PA34 5AG
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Mossfield Sports Stadium (2 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Gateway to The Isles Ferry Hub (0.8 miles)

  • Boat trips for cruising, seal watching (0.8 miles)

  • Oban Whisky Distiller and Whisky Coast (0.8 miles)

  • Oban Centre (0.8 miles)

  • Cruachan Hollow Mountain Visitor Centre (19 miles)

The beautiful Glen Campa restaurant is available to hire for your event and can comfortably seat 60 delegates, for a medium sized conference venue in Oban. The team off experienced chefs will provide plenty of brain fuel to keep delegates full and motivated. Whether you want a lighter soup and sandwich selection or an extravagant 4 course lunch, we've got you covered.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1105 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 308
Rating: 4 404
Rating: 3 237
Rating: 2 104
Rating: 1 52
Rating

Shocking!

08/02/2019 Macandcheese7,

If I could give a review worse than terrible I would! I booked to stay an overnight in this hotel with a groupon voucher. I emailed the hotel directly and received an email confirmation and booking re... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Macandcheese7, Thank you for you for leaving this review on tripadvisor from your recent experience with our hotel. I apologise for the inconvenience caused by this. When reservation was made, the hotel was planned to be open. All guests who had booked groupon vouchers did not book directly with the hotel, therefor we could not contact you directly due to GDPR laws. Groupon were instructed to contact all guests that had purchased a voucher. Explaining that the hotel was closed, that we could either refund or look into further dates. I can't comment on anything regarding to the manager, as its unknown to me who you have spoken to. If you wish to contact me directly I will leave a copy of my email address below. I wish you all the best with your future travels. Best Regards, William Stephen mqh.reception@muthuhotels.com Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel
Rating

Lovely

27/01/2019 Sanityjane, Bo'ness, United Kingdom

Stayed here for a night. We love Oban an come a few times a year. The room we got was fab on the ground floor over looking the bay . Had the seating area in a seperate part of room that could be curta... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your previous stay at the Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel. Its been a pleasure to read your review, and I will pass on your lovely comments at our staff meeting next week before we reopen for the next busy season ahead. We hope we will see you again soon. Best Regards, William Stephen
Rating

Hotel closed but had agreed booking! Awful service.

24/01/2019 starshaped83, Glasgow, United Kingdom

So, we booked this hotel trip via a Groupon deal. Called the hotel direct at end of December to book and no issues with the dates we chose. So imagine our surprise when, after a 3 hour drive, we arriv... more

Rating

Not open!

24/01/2019 Trudi M, Rossendale, United Kingdom

My partner and I were due to stay on 16th and 17th January, confirmed by e mail from Muthu Queens. Only the day before we were due to arrive, I was on their web page only to discover hotel was shut fo... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent experience with our company. I note from the feedback you have provide that you had booked and paid using a Groupon voucher. Due to the terms and conditons with Groupon it was their responsibility to contact all guests who had booked using a Groupon voucher. This is due to the new GDPR laws. If you would like to contact me directly I will leave my email address below. I can insure you and all others guests, that renovations have taken place. Best Regards, William Stephen mqh.reception@muthuhotels.com Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel
Rating

Closed

20/01/2019 JeanD2129, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom

Booked via Groupon on 23rd November, immediately booked dates via reservations, reference BK031576. Now at this point surely it is the responsibility of hotel and not Groupon, voucher has been used. A... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear JeanD2129, Thank you for providing us with feedback from your experience. I understand your frustrations, and I personally apologise for this. However, the due to the nature of your booking through a groupon voucher. Groupon had to contact all guests who had paid for the hotel due to GDPR to be cancelled. I also note that you have wrote that we had no refurbishment going on. I must disagree with you on this, has many improvements have been made around the hotel, including a complete refurbishment of our laundry room. So please do not wirte slander regarding our hotel. I wish you all the best with your future travels. Best Regards, William Stephen Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel.