• 8.1 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel in Oban has been substantially refurbished to offer both Victorian charm and modern, functional accommodation. Stunning views can be found both inside and out, as the hotel boasts beautiful, cosy reception rooms and outdoor views of Oban that stretch for miles across the water. The friendly team of staff are just as inviting, keen to offer the warmest of welcomes to all guests. Reassuringly, you'll be staying in the only 4-star full service hotel on the West Coast of Scotland - so there is no doubt about the quality you will enjoy.

The lovely resort town of Oban offers plenty of attractions inside and outside of its parameters. Dunollie Castle stands just on the outskirts the town, and provides glorious views that reach the Island of Kerrera. The falls of Lora can be found just six miles away from Oban, and prove a perfect day out for any adrenaline junkies or budding photographers. Treat yourself to some kayaking or diving, or simply enjoy the outstanding scenery that is waiting to be snapped. We'd highly recommend Loch Creran for some of the most peaceful fishing around, just 30-minutes away from the hotel.

Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel is a magnificent building, with its own interesting history. The hotel is believed to have been built for the 1st Episcopalian Bishop of Argyll and the Islands, to become his home in the late 19th Century. At present, the building stands as a family run hotel, taken over by a friendly couple who saw great potential after staying on their honeymoon. The couple are proud to welcome their guests with unparalleled views over Oban Bay, an elegant interior and some of the best food in Oban.

View more

Location

Corran Esplanade
Oban
Argyll
PA34 5AG
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6115*
VS

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Through its idyllic location and complete dedication to hospitality, this Best Western has quickly become one the of the most enjoyable places to eat in Oban. Head Chef Stuart Wood is a culinary artist, ready to welcome you with faultless cuisine that is sure to leave you speechless.

Chef Stuart Wood

the-queens-hotel-dining-13-83538

Cuanra Restaurant

The Glen Campa restaurant offers some of the finest food and finest views in all of Oban. Local produce is cooked to perfection by the fantastic team of chefs, as you can enjoy 3-course fine dining throughout the week and the heartiest of roast dinners every Sunday lunch-time. Whilst waiting for your meal, take a moment to appreciate the mesmerising crystal chandeliers above and the stretched views over Oban Bay - both sure to knock your socks off.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
the-queens-hotel-dining-12-83538

The Lounge Bar

The Lounge Bar provides an elegant yet cosy retreat, in keeping with the rest of the hotels classic and chic dcor. The lounge bar is perfect for enjoying a huge selection of delicious light bites and bar meals, along with your favourite tipple as the drinks menu is just as extensive. Whether your fancy a soft drink, some fine wine, a sweet cider or a nice cold pint, we've got it all.

Opening hours

17:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Glencruitten Golf Course

Glencruitten golf course is a real hidden gem just outside of Oban, in the hilly Glencruitten Estate. The 18-hole parkland course was designed by James Braid and offers a whole host of extra facilities, including a practice area with a putting green, a well-equipped shop and a delightful bar and lounge.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 62
Distance: 4434 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in Oban

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites

Prices

9 holes £20.00
18 holes £20.00
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

The Best Western Queens Hotel would be absolutely delighted to be chosen as your wedding venue in Oban, welcoming you and your guests on your very special day. The hotel can cater for celebrations of up to 70 people, offering both food and drinks packages that can be personalised to your tastes and budget. The experienced team at the Best Western The Queens Hotel have a real eye for detail, and will make sure every tiny little thing is taken care of - it is one of the most important days of your life after all.

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call on 01631 562505

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type PA34 5AG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M8, J, 87.00 miles
Nearest train station: Oban, 0.75 miles
Nearest airport: Glasgow, 89.00 miles
Free parking on site (14 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
Corran Esplanade
Oban
Argyll
PA34 5AG
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Mossfield Sports Stadium (2 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Gateway to The Isles Ferry Hub (0.8 miles)

  • Boat trips for cruising, seal watching (0.8 miles)

  • Oban Whisky Distiller and Whisky Coast (0.8 miles)

  • Oban Centre (0.8 miles)

  • Cruachan Hollow Mountain Visitor Centre (19 miles)

The beautiful Glen Campa restaurant is available to hire for your event and can comfortably seat 60 delegates, for a medium sized conference venue in Oban. The team off experienced chefs will provide plenty of brain fuel to keep delegates full and motivated. Whether you want a lighter soup and sandwich selection or an extravagant 4 course lunch, we've got you covered.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1062 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 300
Rating: 4 393
Rating: 3 231
Rating: 2 98
Rating: 1 40
Rating

Not Best anything

14/08/2018 98PaulB007, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Nothing ‘Best’ about this place. A modern chain hotel; every member of staff appeared to be from eastern Europe. Nothing wrong with that in itself, but we just ended up feeling like foreigners ourselv... more

Rating

Not Value For Money

10/08/2018 Wyn P,

Parking very difficult, long walk to hotel when eventually found a spot. Wifi available but no internet connection - very annoying. Reception unwelcoming. I have breathing difficulties and was upset t... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read you were not happy with your stay. We have limited parking space and is subject to availability on a first come first serve basis. I have had a word with the various department you have mentioned. We do hope this does not stop you from returning and allowing us to give you a far better experience during your stay here. Kind Regards Rohan Devgan
Rating

How did this place ever get Best Western accreditation?

09/08/2018 John M, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Booked this hotel for 3 nights at short notice and during peak holiday period after finding most other hotels in the area fully booked. Prices a bit higher than other Oban hotels but swayed by Best We... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken out to leave us your detailed feedback. This is important to us as it enables us to continuously improve our services for guests in future.I sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you had to face. I have taken all your points into note and have spoken each of the departments regarding the issues you faced during your stay with us.We have limited parking and this is subject to availability on a first come first serve basis. We always offer assistance to carry the bags for our guests and i will ensure the restaurant team does not repeat the same mistake again. We do not have parking at the back for our guests as that is our loading zone for deliveries for vans and trucks. I apologise once again for the inconvenience you faced and i hope this does not stop you from staying with us again and allow us to further enhance your experience with us. Kind Regards Rohan Devgan
Rating

Poor location and service

06/08/2018 Richard M, London, United Kingdom

This hotel is right on the outskirts of Oban which means, for those using public transport, that it is about 15 minutes walk from the train station, ferry terminal and restaurants. That is significant... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback which is important to us as it helps us improve our services for our guests in the future. I apologise for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us but i can assure the kitchen issues have been rectified and will not occur again. We are always ready to help with bags should you require assistance. We do hope you return and allow us the opportunity to further enhance your experience with us. Kind Regards Rohan Devgan
Rating

Disappointed

03/08/2018 patrickM61, Mexico City, Mexico

We cannot say that our stay at the hotel was really bad, but we expected much better, considering that we had booked a room for 140 pounds, breakfast included. The first problem is the parking. It is ... more

Owner Response
MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It enables us to improve our services for future guests and iron out all the small issues we incur. We are disappointed to read about the unhappiness of your stay. The hotel is structured in such away hence it makes it a bit of a winding route to the rooms. Parking is free but limited and is subject to availability. We are always ready to assist with baggage especially to the higher floors. We are continuously trying to improve our breakfast selection. We hope this experience will not deter you from returning so we can further enhance your experience of staying with us. Kind Regards Rohan Devgan