How is this rated so well ????
10/06/2017 bmisk, Sherwood Park, Canada
This hotel was not even close to what we expected! We changed rooms 3 times and all were horrible! This place looked nice online and had good reviews but was repulsive. It's old and very unclean. The ... more
This hotel was not even close to what we expected! We changed rooms 3 times and all were horrible! This place looked nice online and had good reviews but was repulsive. It's old and very unclean. The first room had broken glass all over the patio, the second room had poop smeared on the toilet seat. Two obvious things that maids should have cleaned. There was also scuffs in the walls, dirt on the floor, lots of dust and dead insects. We actually left and went somewhere else. I am not rich and not use to staying in fancy places and have never left a place after booking it before. I just don't understand how this place has good reviews, it is probably one of the worst hotels (excluding some very cheap hostels) that I have stayed at. One good thing about this place is the polite staff. The few staff we encountered at our short stay were friendly and respectful about our choice to leave. We felt bad leaving, we didn't want to seem stuck up, but the cleanliness just wasn't up to par . less
petehansen, Manager at Best Western Mango House Resort, responded to this review
Wow obviously failed you miserably so just a brief comment. Broken glass on patio, yes guilty, an ashtray one of our much loved by guests, wild cockatoos had pushed it off the table but could have happened 1 minute before you went in and since the cyclone the birds have developed some new "bad" habits.
Not clean though a different perspective from us. As we were fully booked I managed to resell the rooms you didn't want and made a special point of asking new guests in all 3 if any problems and 3 out of 3 said no all perfect.
Just a thought and one I suggested to the male guest when leaving was that perhaps the lady would be happier somewhere with perhaps a sea view etc. The "not clean card" which hotels regularly get when guests decide they would rather be elsewhere and need an excuse to leave and not be charged is a bit sad as I'm sure most places would rather people just said "not for us, will find somewhere else" which is what I thought in your case so more than happy for you to move on and as stated no charge at all.
Hope the next place ticked all the boxes for you and you still had a nice visit to the Whitsundays.
I see England beat Australia in the cricket so at least we looked after to you on that front.