Underwhelmed by an unexpected charge
03/02/2019 sdb1968, London, England
Although I had booked this hotel as a flexible arrangement, as soon as I confirmed the booking I was charged the room rate. This was not advertised on the booking site - I was told that it was to ch... more
Although I had booked this hotel as a flexible arrangement, as soon as I confirmed the booking I was charged the room rate. This was not advertised on the booking site - I was told that it was to check that my card was valid. Then on arrival I had to pay an additional fee in the event of accidental damage, which was refunded several days after I left. Again, this fee was not advertised on the booking site. My room was clean, warm and tidy, but it was noisy with people walking up and down the corridors during the early hours. This, combined with the unexpected charges, means that I would not stay here again unless absolutely necessary. less
hotelilford, Manager at Best Western London Ilford Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments.
We value your feedback and your comments have been taken on board.
For any pre-paid reservations we must check the card at the time of check in in order to finalise the payment. This is done for security reasons and in order to protect our customers payment details. The pre-paid reservation along with the security deposit policies are available on our website as well as on any online agency we worked with.
I am really sorry if it was not clearly displayed and we will make sure that these policies will be highlighted.
I am sorry to learn that you did not report the noise issue at the reception as we could have happily offered you a quieter room.
Do not hesitate to contact me for any future stay and I will personally make sure you will have a comfortable stay.
Best Western Ilford Hotel