Centrally placed hotel but difficult to find due to satnav versus one-way system/pedestrianisation
03/09/2017 arualgeeneebee, Market Harborough, United Kingdom
We had an exasperating time finding the hotel, knowing we were very close but unable to work out how to gain access by car due to the apparent blockage by concrete bollards of the pedestrianised area ... more
We had an exasperating time finding the hotel, knowing we were very close but unable to work out how to gain access by car due to the apparent blockage by concrete bollards of the pedestrianised area leading to the hotel.
However, once we finally found the hotel and been directed to the secure parking, we were pleased with the hotel's very central location, with the shops, restaurants and beach all within proximity.
The hotel room was rather disappointing, in our opinion feeling more like a budget motel than a hotel, and the bed was THE hardest we have ever slept in. The fact that we were exhausted helped us to sleep but, despite my preference for a firm mattress, this particular bed was not comfortable. The rooms were clean, which was the most important thing and for which we were grateful. The floors were ?laminate rather than carpet* , which added to the overall cheap and dated feeling of the room.
Breakfast was good, served in a light and airy room, and the staff were welcoming and friendly.
We stayed in Pescara for only one night due to a last minute change to our holiday plans, but were relieved that this was the case. Though there is a lively centre with a good selection of decent shops, restaurants/cafes and the beach is nearby, we were horrified by the dirtiness of the area's pavements from dog excrement. Instead of enjoying our walk and looking around, our eyes were diverted to the pavements in order to avoid treading in anything unpleasant. It is a great shame that the dog fouling problem is not rigorously controlled as the town could be very nice.
* we also wondered whether the flooring choice at the hotel room was purely coincidence or was to ensure easy cleaning, given our experience of the town.
The beach road was extremely popular, to put it mildly, with not a single space at any of our attempts to park throughout the day. This is not a criticism per se, just an observation that this would not be a place we would choose to revisit due to its mass appeal and being so overcrowded.
Road signage was appalling throughout the town, and we were grateful to have a satnav as even the airport was hard to find without it!
Not somewhere we would choose to return to. less
Carlotta B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Plaza, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. I'm happy to know that you have appreciated the cleanliness of the room, the breakfast and the kindness of the staff. But I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and we rest assure that your feedback is taken very serious.