Stay at the other Best Western in Ilford
22/05/2019 Steve295, Rainham, United Kingdom
My wife and I had the unfortunate pleasure of staying here at the beginning of May. To be honest I was shocked at where we were staying. I am Diamond Select card holder that chose to use one of the fr... more
My wife and I had the unfortunate pleasure of staying here at the beginning of May. To be honest I was shocked at where we were staying. I am Diamond Select card holder that chose to use one of the free nights I had accrued, clearly a mistake.
If this is how you treat loyal guests I won’t be spending many more nights with Best Western.
On arrival around 10.15pm my wife and I had to negotiate our way past three men at the front door which didn’t look particularly friendly, neither did they move.
Walking in to reception (if you can call it that), it was deserted (my wife had checked in earlier), we went to our room unchallenged.
What caught my eye was the delicatessen counter at the ear of reception, breakfast? I can assure you I’d didn’t stay to have breakfast.
We went to our room and on the way up the stairs we were affronted by the smell of marijuana which was really strong. Upon entering our room it seemed to have made it there as well, really disgusting smell.
The room itself was incredibly small with furniture that you wouldn’t buy in Homebase, it all looked very dated although appeared clean.
I opened the window to our room that had a lovely view of a brick wall. In the morning I woke up (not that I slept) to the sound of a child crying in the house next door and the noise of a washing machine (no idea where from).
To be fair the bathroom was clean and the shower good.
When reviewing this hotel many people have uploaded pictures and comments from the other Best Western in Ilford whereas my comments do relate to this hotel.
I did receive an email from Reception following a survey I completed for Best Western but it wasn’t reassuring. less
hotelilford, Manager at Best Western Greater London Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for the feedback. Please accept my apologies for the disappointing experience you had with us. We always do our best to meet the expectations of our guests.
I am sorry to know that you felt tight in your room. Let me reassure you that all our rooms are different in sizes but all of them meet Best Western and AA standards.
Please accept my apologies about unpleasant smoking smell. Let me reassure you that all our bedrooms are non-smoking however it is very hard to prevent some guests from doing it.
It is a pity that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance and we will change a negative impression on a more positive one.