DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, DO NOT LEAVE CREDIT/DEBIT CARD DETAILS AT A BEST WESTERN HOTEL
We stayed at the Best Western Frensham Pond from 6th-8th of July, as we were attending a wedding with a group of friends close by. Frensham Pond is in a beautiful location and the hotel had very nice rooms and facilities, however we were very disappointed in almost all aspects of our stay in Frensham pond. Our own experience (detailed below) unfortunately pales in comparison to the disgusting treatment of our close friend. On arriving early evening having driven quite a distance, our friend accidentally walked into a newly cleaned (according to the staff) unmarked full length window, mistaking it for an open doorway. The window cracked, he went straight to reception and let them know, and the staff were very apologetic and asking if he was injured in any way. In spite of this, during the wedding celebrations the following day he received an e mail from the hotel manager telling him they had reviewed cctv and they were charging him over £900 pounds as they felt he had broken the window on purpose. As he had given his debit card details to the hotel to pay for the room, as is normal practice, they debited the money without his permission. An absolutely disgraceful, dishonest and immoral act. I have known my friend most of my life, he is very respectful, caring and honest family man, and the behaviour of Frensham Pond and Best Western as a company was very upsetting not only for him and his wife, but for all of his friends attending the wedding. Due to this we will not be staying at this hotel again, would not recommend it to anyone, and will be very reluctant to stay at any Best Western facility in the future. Please take this as a warning, do not leave your debit/credit card open with any Best Western hotel, as they have no issue with taking money from your account without your permission.
(Our own experience) We booked into a patio room which was as far away from the hotel reception as any other property, and it was immediately apparent there were a number of issues. The pathway was in disrepair and very poorly lit, luckily no injuries occurred. The rooms air conditioning was not working at all, and on a warm summers day our room was hotter than it was outside. After highlighting this to the reception staff they apparently were going to look at it while we were out for dinner. On our return from dinner, it was clear this had not happened as the duty manager asked for the key to go and check out our room. Having said he fixed it, again it was clear this was not the case, as all the windows had been left open, and we were woken throughout the night by the very noisy broken air conditioning. We were fortunately moved to a very nice suite for our second night, however our morning was quite stressful, getting ready for a wedding in an unbearably hot room and having to re-pack our bag so that we could be moved. So disappointed... less
mala694, Manager at Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on behalf of your very close friend as well as your own experience with us.
I am aware that prior to this review being posted your friend was actually credited for the full amount as the cost of the broken glass is now being taken care of by our insurers.
With regards to your room : You had stayed in a Superior room with private patio. We must say how surprised we are to read your comments and would like to stress how unusual it is for us to receive feedback like this . The room is in a separate block from the main building and in terms of distance it is literally a stone throw away.
May we offer our sincere apologies you did not have the experience you were expecting. I have had a look at the pathway this morning and can see no area of concern.
I am however very pleased to read that you were moved to a suite in the main building .
We do value all constructive feedback and use this in our ongoing efforts to improve the level of hospitality we provide our visitors.