No room available
24/07/2016 lgreen63, Hampshire, United Kingdom
We have just returned from the hotel after what should of been a 2 night stay (Friday 22- Sunday 24th July). We were staying there as we were attending a wedding further up the road. Initially I reser... more
We have just returned from the hotel after what should of been a 2 night stay (Friday 22- Sunday 24th July). We were staying there as we were attending a wedding further up the road. Initially I reserved 3 rooms for the Saturday night, but then called to change the booking several weeks ago to just one room but for two nights. After asking for a confirmation by e mail to confirm the change, I was informed that it wasn't necessary as the person on reservations was making the changes as we were speaking. Upon our arrival and checking in on Friday afternoon, they could not find our booking. After going through a few different names, our booking was then found, but was the original booking for one night and three rooms. Unfortuantely as I did not have any e mail for confirmation, I did not have any proof of call. The hotel admitted that they had probably made a mistake, but they were fully booked for the Friday evening. Didn't really receive any apology from the staff. She went off to find a Manager, who didn't even have the decency to come out and talk to us. The receptionist did call a couple of hotels in the area and found us a room at the Bel and Dragon, which I have to say was fantastic. We then asked for an early check in for the next day as we were being collected from the hotel at 2.10 for the wedding. They offered us a midday check in which in the end was fine. Fortunately they cancelled our other rooms on the Friday, but this still should of been done weeks earlier.
The hotel itself was fine, in a lovely setting and was comfortable. We came down for breakfast on Sunday morning about 9.15am and there was a limited choice of cooked food. Although breakfast finished at 10, we felt that they were removing the hot food and not replacing it, even though people were still coming down. There wasn't any bread and no plates. We thought the breakfast was a bit disappointing for a 4 star hotel.
On checking out, I asked if there was any compensation for the booking error. The receptionist said she would pass my comments on to the head receptionist who would contact me on due course. WATCH THIS SPACE!!!!!! less
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately we have no record of your telephone call or cancellation of the two bedrooms for the Saturday. We would normally provide an email confirmation on request and we would normally quote you cancellation numbers for cancelled bedrooms.
I am pleased that we were able to find more reasonably priced acceptable accommodation nearby with the added advantage of an early check in. Please do accept our sincere apologies. for not meeting your expectations.
With regards to breakfast I am aware that the buffet was consistently being topped up but there were occasions during the service when items were missing.
If wishing to stay on some future occasion please feel free to contact me and I will ensure that you are taken good care of.