Nice enough motel, but pricy compared to Eden, which is only 20 minutes by car south of Merimbula. The lady who checked me in and out was cheerful and polite and offered me fresh milk for tea and coff... more
Nice enough motel, but pricy compared to Eden, which is only 20 minutes by car south of Merimbula. The lady who checked me in and out was cheerful and polite and offered me fresh milk for tea and coffee, which was appreciated. I liked that the motel is located next door to a very nice restaurant called Wheelers (although this too is very pricey) and is immediately opposite the Pambula Merimbula Golf Club. Unfortunately the Golf Club appears to have fallen on tough times and on the Saturday night we went there for dinner, it was virtually empty (we counted 27 patrons, including ourselves, in a venue that can easily cater for 500+). It was only 8:40pm when we were given 15 minutes to finish or gaming/drinks as the venue as it was closing due to a lack of patrons. From the perspective of convenience of location in relation to the motel, I’m sure the close proximity would have once been a great attraction to may travelers and golfers, but one cannot help to wonder if there is any longer much benefit in being so close to a club which appears to be on its last legs. However, our room was clean, comfortable, quiet and well-appointed. I was also very impressed with the large size of the room. But, while the bath towels appeared to be clean (they were brown, so it was difficult to tell), we found our bath mat (which was white) to be dirty before we’d used it; very unsettling. Also, we had a huntsman spider in the bathroom, which made my wife nervous about going in there. less
Debbie G, Owner at Fairway Motor Inn, responded to this review
Dear valued guest,
Sorry to hear your visit was full of rare events. Firstly I would like to thank you for the lovely comments and I would like to put your mind at rest with the Golf Club. They are actually doing very well since the new owners have taken on the restaurant ( 12 weeks back) and most nights really busy. However they did have a few unforseen things happen and a lack of staff on just the night you visited so they did warn guests that they would have to close early- just that night. I should have probably told you that on check in however i did not realise you were dining there. So look forward to some great Australian and Chinese dining next time you visit there together with raffles and free prizes on weekends! On these days you actually are required to book ahead! And if you are a golfer even better! I am very pleased you liked your room as our staff try very hard every day to make sure guests are comfortable.
Also please be prepared for a few strange "visitors"when you visit a country motel in Australia. We have just had deterrent sprays around the motel which is why you probably had the huntsman visit you as this sometimes brings these out but not normally in your room. While they are harmless, they can be a little scary i know and my apologies to your wife. So i hope you come back to enjoy a better experience next time.