• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Cedars Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

A lovely spot in Suffolk

Best Western The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant is a real home away from home. A 15th Century building perched on the edge of the Cedars Park and close to the A14 for easy access to anywhere you'd like to go. With Stowmarket as your base you have your pick of places to visit nearby, and yo'ull have the luxury of returning each evening to traditional English cuisine in our 60 seater Restaurant and a drink in the rustic oak beamed Cedars Bar.

View more

Location

Needham Road
Stowmarket
Suffolk
IP14 2AJ
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 034088

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 10:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Peter Bulkeley

blank image

Cedars Restaurant

Offering a host of freshly cooked English dishes every day, our menu is as pleasant as our surroundings at the Cedars Restaurant. We can seat up to 60 guests, and when youre one of them you can choose from three courses of sumptuous traditional English dishes, including 'Proper' puddings such as Spotted Dick.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:15 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Book a table

blank image

Cedars Bar and Lounge

The 15th Century Oak beamed Cedars Bar is all about serving up local beers and beverages in a welcoming atmosphere - with real ales to enjoy (from the Greene King Brewery at Bury St Edmunds just 9 miles away) and open fires in colder months. A bar snack menu is available every day and our Traditional Sunday Roast is very popular too.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Stowmarket Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Standard
Location: On Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 6114 Yards
No handicap required

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £36.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes

Woodbridge Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: heath / forest
Location: On Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6299 Yards
Handicap required

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

Whether youre planning a small intimate wedding or large wedding for up to 100 people, we have the facilities you need to guarantee big smiles on your big day.

The large Gainsborough suite is an ideal location for weddings with its private bar, entrance and cloakroom and doors leading to the beautiful gardens surrounded by Conifers. The suite can be dressed to impress, and a range of options are available including a traditional wedding breakfast menu, canapes, hot and cold fork and finger buffets. Discos, Bands, Magicians, Toastmasters, Guitarists, Singers and Comedians are available too, so please ask our events co-ordinator. For photos, the rear gardens are perfect as is our very own love bench.

Wedding Receptions at Th Cedars Hotel

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Sharon Haynes on 01449 612668

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP14 2AJ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J50, 1.00 miles
Nearest train station: Stowmarket, 1.40 miles
Nearest airport: Norwich, 39.00 miles
Free parking on site (90 spaces)
On site disabled parking (5 spaces)

Address
Needham Road
Stowmarket
Suffolk
IP14 2AJ
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Stowmarket Town Football Club (1.6 miles)

  • Ipswich Town Football Club (13 miles)

  • Stowmarket Rugby Union Football Club (2.3 miles)

  • Mid Suffolk Leisure Centre (2 miles)

  • Mid Suffolk Showground (7 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Museum of Anglian Life (1.5 miles)

  • Mid Sufolk Light Railway Museum (13 miles)

  • Rattlesden Gliding Club (1 miles)

  • PLayworld Ocean Adventure (3 miles)

  • Suffolk Owl Sanctuary (6 miles)

Shopping

  • Ipswich (12 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (17 miles)

  • Norwich City Centre (38 miles)

  • Colchester (27 miles)

  • Cambridge (46 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our well-equipped and welcoming hotel is perched on the edge of the cedars Business Park and attracts a lot of conferences for the large corporations in the area by day (our largest suite holds up to 120 people) as well as community meetings and functions by night. The Gainsborough Suite is a light, high ceiling meeting and function room with its own traditional wooden bar facility - and can be split into three separate function rooms. It also has its own entrance to avoid the hustle and bustle of busy Reception areas.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Gainsborough 100 60 40 40 100
Constable 20 12 12 14 14
Restaurant 0 0 0 0 50
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 251 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 105
Rating: 4 64
Rating: 3 40
Rating: 2 20
Rating: 1 22
Rating

Cheap and ok for the night

12/08/2019 ivorwhittle, Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom

We booked here for a night over a weekend and the room was quiet and clean. The beds were comfy but the shower was tiny for a family room. I am glad we are young and fit enough for the stairs as we wa... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, Receptionist at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ivorwhittle, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Cedars Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that your stay was convenient, and we do hope to see you again soon! Look out for our upcoming refurbishment! We try out best to allocate guests to suitable rooms throughout the building. Kindest Regards Lauren Downey Receptionist
Rating

This place is damaging the Best Western brand

07/08/2019 garyw1122015, Wales, United Kingdom

Terrible from check-in to breakfast. We walked into hotel and found reception unmanned, waited for some time and rang the bell etc to no avail. Finally we went to the bar and advised that the recepti... more

Rating

Could be better

02/08/2019 Dave R, Liversedge, United Kingdom

Stayed here for 3 nights the rooms are clean and tidy and comfortable. The staff are friendly , pleasant and helpful. The down side of this stay was the breakfast ,the price is £12 but if you pre orde... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, Receptionist at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Dave R, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Cedars Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. It is so great to hear your kind words about how you found our staff team friendly, pleasant and helpful. In addition to the room being clean, tidy and comfortable. We take pride in this and I will pass it on. However, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast- I can ensure that this is not our usual standard and will look into this to improve upon. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Lauren Downey Reception
Rating

Worst Hotel in the 47 Countries I’ve Visited

08/07/2019 79PaulM79, Amarante, Portugal

This hotel is a joke - dirty, shabby, and a complete farce. We had 3 rooms for family which included a baby. The fridge in the room for the baby was filthy and even after reporting it not cleaned. The... more

Owner Response
Michelle198237, Receptionist at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Paul M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Cedars Hotel, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and that we failed on this occasion to meet standards. I would like to look into this further; please do contact me: reception@cedarshotel.co.uk to discuss. As mentioned we are due to have a refurb next year; and I do hope you will come and see the difference it will make. I look forward to hearing from you. Kindest Regards Lauren Downey Reception
Rating

Stowmarket stay

26/06/2019 Venture45551386710, Greater London, United Kingdom

Great hotel, with helpful staff. There was ample parking and the hotel is well situated for Stowmarket and road system. We had tv problems, but Julie at reception found us another ground floor room wh... more

Owner Response
Michelle198237, Receptionist at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Venture45551386710, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Cedars Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were accommodating! We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Lauren Downey Reception