Best Western Cedars Hotel

Needham Road, Stowmarket, Suffolk, IP14 2AJ, England
based on 264 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Cedars Hotel

A lovely spot in Suffolk

Best Western The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant is a real home away from home. A 15th Century building perched on the edge of the Cedars Park and close to the A14 for easy access to anywhere you'd like to go. With Stowmarket as your base you have your pic show more

Bars, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 10:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Peter Bulkeley
  • Cedars Restaurant
  • Cedars Bar and Lounge

Available

Cedars Restaurant

Offering a host of freshly cooked English dishes every day, our menu is as pleasant as our surroundings at the Cedars Restaurant. We can seat up to 60 guests, and when youre one of them you can choose from three courses of sumptuous traditional English dishes, including 'Proper' puddings such as Spotted Dick.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:15 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Cedars Bar and Lounge

The 15th Century Oak beamed Cedars Bar is all about serving up local beers and beverages in a welcoming atmosphere - with real ales to enjoy (from the Greene King Brewery at Bury St Edmunds just 9 miles away) and open fires in colder months. A bar snack menu is available every day and our Traditional Sunday Roast is very popular too.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Whether youre planning a small intimate wedding or large wedding for up to 100 people, we have the facilities you need to guarantee big smiles on your big day.

The large Gainsborough suite is an ideal location for weddings with its private bar, entrance and cloakroom and doors leading to the beautiful gardens surrounded by Conifers. The suite can be dressed to impress, and a range of options are available including a traditional wedding breakfast menu, canapes, hot and cold fork and finger buffets. Discos, Bands, Magicians, Toastmasters, Guitarists, Singers and Comedians are available too, so please ask our events co-ordinator. For photos, the rear gardens are perfect as is our very own love bench.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue

For any enquiries please call Sharon Haynes on 01449 612668

Wedding Receptions at Th Cedars Hotel

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

  • Stowmarket Golf Club
  • Woodbridge Golf Club

Stowmarket Golf Club

Course information

  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Standard

Location

On Site

Holes

18

Par

69

Distance

6114 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £36.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes

Woodbridge Golf Club

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

heath / forest

Location

On Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6299 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Driving Range Yes

Meetings & Events

Our well-equipped and welcoming hotel is perched on the edge of the cedars Business Park and attracts a lot of conferences for the large corporations in the area by day (our largest suite holds up to ...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Our well-equipped and welcoming hotel is perched on the edge of the cedars Business Park and attracts a lot of conferences for the large corporations in the area by day (our largest suite holds up to 120 people) as well as community meetings and functions by night. The Gainsborough Suite is a light, high ceiling meeting and function room with its own traditional wooden bar facility - and can be split into three separate function rooms. It also has its own entrance to avoid the hustle and bustle of busy Reception areas.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Gainsborough 160 60 40 40 100
Constable 20 12 12 14 14
Restaurant 0 0 0 0 50

Reviews of Best Western Cedars Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 264 reviews
Excellent 40%
Very Good 25%
Average 16%
Poor 8%
Terrible 9%
Rating

Mags186525, wrote review 04/01/2020

Mrs

Stayed 4 nights over new year to visit family. Have stayed before and think it is good value for money. On this occasion we were very lucky and had a large room with patio doors to patio area,would ha... more

Rating

tpamies, wrote review 03/01/2020

not what we expected

Staff was very friendly and helpful, but the place was really rundown (and we stayed on a superior room - I don’t want to imagine how the standard looks like). We will not stay there again - it needs ... more

Rating

Dawniepig, wrote review 31/12/2019

Good food, relaxing atmosphere

We booked for a family meal on New Years Eve. The bar and restaurant was very quiet. There was a log fire burning and we felt relaxed. Staff were friendly and the food was very good. There was a limit... more

Rating

Wendy U, wrote review 28/12/2019

Christmas Lunch on a shoestring

This was our third Christmas Day lunch at the Cedars but I left feeling disappointed and a bit depressed ! It didn't start well when we came into the main reception (normally enter via the function ro... more

Rating

Tgrahan, wrote review 25/12/2019

Christmas day dinner

We have eaten here for 4 Christmas's now, and sadly this will be the last one. The food was very poor, and didn't meet the choice given on the menu for all 3 courses. Staff were rarely available and w... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, Receptionist at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Tgrahan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience, and I will be looking into this matter further to ensure that improvements are made. We do hope to see you return to The Cedars Hotel to see our upcoming major refurbishment. Kindest Regards Lauren Downey