• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Cedars Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

A lovely spot in Suffolk

Best Western The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant is a real home away from home. A 15th Century building perched on the edge of the Cedars Park and close to the A14 for easy access to anywhere you'd like to go. With Stowmarket as your base you have your pick of places to visit nearby, and yo'ull have the luxury of returning each evening to traditional English cuisine in our 60 seater Restaurant and a drink in the rustic oak beamed Cedars Bar.

View more

Location

Needham Road
Stowmarket
Suffolk
IP14 2AJ
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 034088

Summary

Bars, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 10:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Peter Bulkeley

blank image

Cedars Restaurant

Offering a host of freshly cooked English dishes every day, our menu is as pleasant as our surroundings at the Cedars Restaurant. We can seat up to 60 guests, and when youre one of them you can choose from three courses of sumptuous traditional English dishes, including 'Proper' puddings such as Spotted Dick.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:15 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Book a table

blank image

Cedars Bar and Lounge

The 15th Century Oak beamed Cedars Bar is all about serving up local beers and beverages in a welcoming atmosphere - with real ales to enjoy (from the Greene King Brewery at Bury St Edmunds just 9 miles away) and open fires in colder months. A bar snack menu is available every day and our Traditional Sunday Roast is very popular too.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Stowmarket Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Standard
Location: On Site
Holes: 18
Par: 69
Distance: 6114 Yards
No handicap required

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £36.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes

Woodbridge Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: heath / forest
Location: On Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6299 Yards
Handicap required

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

Whether youre planning a small intimate wedding or large wedding for up to 100 people, we have the facilities you need to guarantee big smiles on your big day.

The large Gainsborough suite is an ideal location for weddings with its private bar, entrance and cloakroom and doors leading to the beautiful gardens surrounded by Conifers. The suite can be dressed to impress, and a range of options are available including a traditional wedding breakfast menu, canapes, hot and cold fork and finger buffets. Discos, Bands, Magicians, Toastmasters, Guitarists, Singers and Comedians are available too, so please ask our events co-ordinator. For photos, the rear gardens are perfect as is our very own love bench.

Wedding Receptions at Th Cedars Hotel

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Sharon Haynes on 01449 612668

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP14 2AJ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J50, 1.00 miles
Nearest train station: Stowmarket, 1.40 miles
Nearest airport: Norwich, 39.00 miles
Free parking on site (90 spaces)
On site disabled parking (5 spaces)

Address
Needham Road
Stowmarket
Suffolk
IP14 2AJ
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Stowmarket Town Football Club (1.6 miles)

  • Ipswich Town Football Club (13 miles)

  • Stowmarket Rugby Union Football Club (2.3 miles)

  • Mid Suffolk Leisure Centre (2 miles)

  • Mid Suffolk Showground (7 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Museum of Anglian Life (1.5 miles)

  • Mid Sufolk Light Railway Museum (13 miles)

  • Rattlesden Gliding Club (1 miles)

  • PLayworld Ocean Adventure (3 miles)

  • Suffolk Owl Sanctuary (6 miles)

Shopping

  • Ipswich (12 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (17 miles)

  • Norwich City Centre (38 miles)

  • Colchester (27 miles)

  • Cambridge (46 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our well-equipped and welcoming hotel is perched on the edge of the cedars Business Park and attracts a lot of conferences for the large corporations in the area by day (our largest suite holds up to 120 people) as well as community meetings and functions by night. The Gainsborough Suite is a light, high ceiling meeting and function room with its own traditional wooden bar facility - and can be split into three separate function rooms. It also has its own entrance to avoid the hustle and bustle of busy Reception areas.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Gainsborough 160 60 40 40 100
Constable 20 12 12 14 14
Restaurant 0 0 0 0 50
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 255 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 106
Rating: 4 64
Rating: 3 43
Rating: 2 20
Rating: 1 22
Rating

Good overnight stay

04/10/2019 sue_todd5, Letchworth, United Kingdom

We decided to book a room at the Cedars Hotel as we were attending a birthday lunch there. The room was clean and comfortable with adequate tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was lovely. Ther... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear sue_todd5, Thank-you for your 5* review - The team and myself are delighted with you kind words. We cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Caroline Holloway General Manager
Rating

Need to know what vegetarian means. Room very hot

29/09/2019 Bluexandee, Kent

Again a very nice stay. Slight disappointment as we were upgraded to a superior room only to be told that all the rooms were booked and we were in a normal room. We were given a little refund but cons... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Bluexandee, Thank-you for your review with your comments made, we aim to assist with all needs at this hotel and we can only apologise on this occasion that you feel that these were not met. We can also only accommodate each guests needs if we are made aware of this prior or during your stay with us. I take all reviews very seriously good or bad feedback positively so we are then able to address this to ensure this never happens again. I do hope to welcome you back in the future as there are GREAT IMPROVEMENTS on the agenda for The Cedars Hotel in the next few years. Kind Regards, Caroline Holloway General Manager
Rating

Breakfast service needs improvement

13/09/2019 Alan1451, Bedford, United Kingdom

Stayed for the night on Thursday 12 September. When we arrived we were greeted by two very polite welcoming receptionist. We requested a room on a low floor due knee issues. Our room was near receptio... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Alan1451, Thank-you for your review and making us aware of the experience that you had at breakfast. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard - thank-you for your honesty and this will be reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Caroline Holloway General Manager
Rating

Wonderful service but dated decor

02/09/2019 Evertonbabe15,

The service right from arriving to leaving, including sorting out a function that we held at the venue was exceptional, I cannot fault it. The hotel decor is very outdated and lets the hotel down. I... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, Receptionist at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Evertonbabe15, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Cedars Hotel, I am so pleased to hear of your positive feedback. We have major refurbishment of the hotel coming up in which new building work will be completed! I do hope you will visit us again so see the difference it makes - these plans are the other side of reception. Kindest Regards Lauren Downey Receptionist
Rating

Cheap and ok for the night

12/08/2019 ivorwhittle, Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom

We booked here for a night over a weekend and the room was quiet and clean. The beds were comfy but the shower was tiny for a family room. I am glad we are young and fit enough for the stairs as we wa... more

Owner Response
cvgcedarshotel, Receptionist at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ivorwhittle, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Cedars Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that your stay was convenient, and we do hope to see you again soon! Look out for our upcoming refurbishment! We try out best to allocate guests to suitable rooms throughout the building. Kindest Regards Lauren Downey Receptionist