Disappointing- rooms are not 4*!
20/08/2017 wilsond29, Leeds, United Kingdom
After the initial entry into the hotel which seems quite luxurious the room was more than disappointing. We had booked a prestige room with terrace, the only room better was a suite. The room itself w... more
After the initial entry into the hotel which seems quite luxurious the room was more than disappointing. We had booked a prestige room with terrace, the only room better was a suite. The room itself was ok but dark and starting to look a little tatty, pulls on the bead spread and the odd mark on the carpet. As for the terrace it looked out onto a roof and is set back so you cannot see the river, the balcony itself was rusty and furniture was worn. We complained about this as we were unhappy. As an alternative we were shown a room with a pool view (no balcony) as an alternative but this was more like a 2* room with chips out of the furniture and a dirty carpet. We opted to stay put as there was no other choice. In addition our room was above where the bins were kept so there was a continuous unpleasant smell which meant the balcony was not a place you wanted to sit (so a complete waste of the extra money!). When we went to the spa and pool everyone had robes and slippers from there room, we had to request these from one of the ladies who cleaned as even though our room was a prestige, these were not provided.
On returning to our room on the first night we could not make the air conditioning work, we contacted reception but nothing changed. It had been 30' and we had to sleep with the door to the terrace open which was really noisy from cars and then dragging of trollies in the early morning. We had to complain 4 separate times to get the air conditioning fixed. Each time we were told the control panel said it was working. Eventually on our 4th complaint and getting slightly annoyed a technician was sent who fixed it for us. We raised this on departure, at no point were we even offered so much as a complimentary drink as compensation for such a poor night's sleep.
Pool area is nice but small, Sunbeds in high demand as only around 14 for an almost 90 room hotel! Spa area is lovely.
Staff pleasant but certainly don't go over and above, for example, asking directions to the town we were told to go out of the hotel and go left- this takes you to a residential area rather than the town centre. No map was offered or anymore detail which meant we got a little lost.
Overall an expensive trip to what I do not consider a 4* hotel. Really disappointed. We've travelled extensively around France over the last 3 years and this has been by far the most disappointing experience of luxury and customer service. less
JeanLucMartinez, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback following your recent stay at l’Abbaye des Capucins.
We were sorry to learn that we did not manage to reach your expectations in terms of quality and service.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience it has caused you.
We took very good note of your remark concerning your accommodation which has already been shared with the concerned department in order to take the necessary steps to avoid any recurrence of such situations in the future.
However,we hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.