Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Station Approach, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, PE1 1QL, England
based on 782 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

A 10-minute walk from Peterborough city centre, the recently refurbished, 180-year-old Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western offers elegant rooms, 50 yards from the train station. It serves a full English breakfast in the on-sit show more

Bars, Free WIFI, No Lift
There is charged parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
no pets allowed
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00
Station Approach, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, PE1 1QL, England
What 3 Words: ///tribune.looked.oath

Restaurants & Bars

Traditional dished throughout the day

Taste the delicious food that our restaurant has to offer. Available for everyone, our chefs diligently create culinary masterpieces for you to enjoy.

  • Circa 1852
  • Circa 1852 Coffee Shop
  • Sleepers Bar

Taste the delicious food that our restaurant has to offer. Available for everyone, our chefs diligently create culinary masterpieces for you to enjoy.

Circa 1852

60 cover modern dining room, with lovely high ceiling and chandeliers

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Circa 1852 Coffee Shop

informal seating area serving hot and cold beverages as well as a selection of light snacks

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
Dining and bars

Sleepers Bar

Come and relax in our informal bar area with comfortable lounge seating and wonderful array of your favourite drinks, serving Local real ales and draft lagers. Live sports are shown on our large projector screen, or just come and watch the local news.

Opening hours
10:00-22:00
Weekend times may vary

Meetings & Events

Standout corporate and banquet venue in Peterborough. Make sure you impress your colleagues and superiors by hosting your conference at the Great Northern Hotel in Peterborough, Cambridgeshire.

Providing a high-class corporate and banquet venue option, our friendly team have the perfect rooms for you to use. The food we offer is cooked to perfection and there's a great selection to choose from. Utilise a luxury building that's located in the heart of Peterborough for all your corporate needs.

Available Room Set Ups

The below information shows the capcity of each meeting room based on the room setup type.

Room Name Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Richard Branson 0 0 0 8 0
Ray Kroc 0 0 0 6 0
Michael Gerber 0 0 0 6 0
Garden Room 50 40 26 30 40
Ballroom 0 0 0 0 0

Reviews of Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 782 reviews
Excellent 44%
Very Good 26%
Average 13%
Poor 7%
Terrible 7%
Rating

119stanleyf, wrote review 15/12/2021

Excellent, Friendly staff

I have been staying at the Great Northern hotel in Peterborough for 6 months now & the staff are really friendly, the rooms are clean and great value for money & generally a nice environment to be in.... more

Rating

614annie, wrote review 12/12/2021

I did not stay at the hotel but along with 25 other folk I ate in their function room - The Garden Room recently

This was the first time our group had ventured out for a meal together since the Covid struck the UK. The staff were very welcoming and attentive, the room was spacious and laid out nicely with large ... more

Owner Response
Shaun Rollinson, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Good Afternoon so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, and after such a long-time away. We look forward to your next visit this coming year. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager
Rating

Nomad03156660735, wrote review 10/12/2021

Tired and Old

Great location but the whole place is tired and needs a face lift. Breakfast very poor. Staff trying their best but working with poor tools. The dining room was very cold and people were shivering ... more

Owner Response
Shaun Rollinson, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Good afternoon I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, The staff are trying their best in the most exceptional of circumstances and the owners are aware that some refurbishment is needed, so we are hoping that in the New Year we may be able to look at some work, although the last two years has been tough with limited business, but we hope that we can pull through these difficult times. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager
Rating

JJD13, wrote review 01/12/2021

Tired, in need of a good clean and a boiler that works

Booked a suite, got a dirty room, with a leaky shower and no spa bath as room advertised, shower only delivered cold water, bathroom was poorly finished. no extras in the room as advertised on their w... more

Owner Response
Shaun Rollinson, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Good afternoon I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, The staff are trying their best in the most exceptional of circumstances and the owners are aware that some refurbishment is needed, so we are hoping that in the New Year we may be able to look at some work, although the last two years has been tough with limited business, but we hope that we can pull through these difficult times. I do hope that you appreciate we did take the time to organise the flowers you requested for the room, and the issues highlighted will be looked into. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager
Rating

davidgI9149UT, wrote review 29/11/2021

Great staff

Well we're do start staff we're very friendly that included they mouse that was resident in the cafe.kept popping his head out from under the fridge .but didn't phase me to much lol. If I had one com... more

Owner Response
Shaun Rollinson, General Manager at Great Northern Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Hello Thank you for your review and your kind comments, we have dealt with the unwelcome guest, and I am pleased that you have highlighted the staff as a plus point. Your room issues will be passed on to Housekeeping to see if they might be rectified. Kind Regards Shaun Rollinson General Manager