Explore Hotel

Best Western Ryokan Hotel.

Nip up to Newcastle-upon-Tyne!

Best Western Ryokan Hotel is just a stones throw from Newcastle City Centre, within a 10 minute walk of its many shops, theatres, bars and sports venues.

Though you'll be staying in a Grade II listed building that dates back to 1840. Modern bedrooms that overlook the city provide the comfort, while the building itself is bursting with character!

As a small hotel, the Best Western Ryokan offers the most personal of service, but you'll have plenty of room for relaxation too, not least in our deliciously fascinating restaurant. Luigikhans offers the very best of Punjabi cuisine and all Halal!

View more

Location

358 Westgate Road
Newcastle
Tyne and Wear
NE4 6NU
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6285*
VB

Summary

Hotel now offers hot & cold buffet breakfast
Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

blank image

Luigikhans Restaurant

There is a warm welcome waiting at Luigikhan's our restaurant and bar in the hotel. Where you can sit and relax over a glass of wine or a pint while you study our menu of Relaxed Punjabi Cuisine. Mouth watering delights to savour as you enjoy an evening of good food, relaxing music and friendly staff.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07.00 - 09.00
Dinner: 17:00 - 23.00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Luigikhan's

There is a warm welcome waiting at Luigikhan's our restaurant and bar in the hotel. Where you can sit and relax over a glass of wine or a pint while you study our menu of Relaxed Punjabi Cuisine. Mouth watering delights to savour as you enjoy an evening of good food, relaxing music and friendly staff.

Opening hours

17:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NE4 6NU

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J65, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Newcastle Central, 1.50 miles
Nearest tube station: Newcaste Metro, 1.50 mins
Nearest airport: Newcastle, 6.00 miles
Free parking on site (30 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
358 Westgate Road
Newcastle
Tyne and Wear
NE4 6NU
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • St James Park Stadium (0.5 miles)

  • St James Park Stadium (0.5 miles)

  • The Sage (1.5 miles)

  • Radio Arena (1.5 miles)

  • O2 Academy (0.9 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • St James Park Stadium (0.5 miles)

  • Discovery Museum (0.7 miles)

  • Centre of Life (1.2 miles)

  • Angel of the North (5 miles)

  • Metro Centre (4 miles)

Shopping

  • Metrocentre (4 miles)

  • Silver Link Shopping Centre (4 miles)




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 71 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 41
Rating: 4 20
Rating: 3 7
Rating: 2 3
Rating: 1 0
Rating

Clean and comfortable

13/01/2017 baham c, Leeds, United Kingdom

We stayed three nights here in a spacious, modern, comfortable and immaculately clean room. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the centre of town and freq... more

Rating

Sufficient with great service

04/01/2017 Daniel H, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Free parking outside on arrival. Extremely helpful staff- brought us extra teas and coffees to room within minutes of request. Good location for city touring. We walked in during the day but opted f... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Daniel H, Thank you for leaving some feedback. It is nice to hear that you found the hotel to be an ideal location for touring and that the staff were helpful. I'm sorry you experienced problems with the heating. The full hotel is underfloor heated, which takes 3 to 4 hours to start heating up and over 6 hours to start to cool down. The main wing of the hotel is single glazed with it being Grade II listed and unfortunately we are not allowed secondary glazing. I hope this wouldn't stop you from booking again. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
Rating

Lovely hotel, shame about the disabled access

02/01/2017 Liz K,

Spent a few days at this Best Western and wasn't very pleased with the result. Disabled access was difficult to find to the front door, it was hidden away behind the car that's always parked there to ... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Liz K, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found problems with your room. The adapted room can be made as a double or twin bed, and could have been changed if mentioned to reception during your stay. We have a regular guest who is wheelchair bound and she loves the hotel and the room. Breakfast is £8.50 and included in your rate. If you mentioned to the breakfast staff that you found it only luke warm, they would have happily prepared some more for you. I shall speak to the restaurant owner and hotel owner regarding the car advertising the restaurant, and se about having it positioned elsewhere in the car park. I hope that you would consider us again on your next trip to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
Rating

Christmas stop over

27/12/2016 Gary D, Whitby, United Kingdom

Stayed at the Ryokan Hotel for 2 nights at Christmas whilst visiting family. It was a very pleasant experience & very impressed with the standard of accommodation & choice at breakfast even though the... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Gary D, Thank you for leaving some feedback. I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the standard of accommodation. As you say the hotel was quiet over the Christmas period. I shall take on board your comment regarding the breakfast times and see about changing for next year. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next trip to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
Rating

Exceptionally Surprised

12/12/2016 Nicolas M,

One night stay - figured I'd just check in at the Best Western Ryokan and was more than a little bit surprised. Checkin was quick, painless and welcoming. Room was very clean. Bed was clean, bathroom ... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Nicolas M, Thank you for leaving some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We always like to hear from guests and their experience. It is lovely to hear you were a little surprised. We pride ourselves with being a small hotel and giving that home from home feel. With regards to the television size, these will be changing later in the new year to larger, I shall mention to our laundry supplier with regards to the fluffier towels. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next trip to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager