Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Ryokan Hotel.

Nip up to Newcastle-upon-Tyne!

Best Western Ryokan Hotel is just a stones throw from Newcastle City Centre, within a 10 minute walk of its many shops, theatres, bars and sports venues.

Though you'll be staying in a Grade II listed building that dates back to 1840. Modern bedrooms that overlook the city provide the comfort, while the building itself is bursting with character!

As a small hotel, the Best Western Ryokan offers the most personal of service, but you'll have plenty of room for relaxation too, not least in our deliciously fascinating restaurant. Luigikhans offers the very best of Punjabi cuisine and all Halal!

View more

Location

358 Westgate Road
Newcastle
Tyne and Wear
NE4 6NU
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6285*
VB

Summary

Hotel now offers hot & cold buffet breakfast
Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

blank image

Luigikhans Restaurant

There is a warm welcome waiting at Luigikhan's our restaurant and bar in the hotel. Where you can sit and relax over a glass of wine or a pint while you study our menu of Relaxed Punjabi Cuisine. Mouth watering delights to savour as you enjoy an evening of good food, relaxing music and friendly staff.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07.00 - 09.00
Dinner: 17:00 - 23.00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Luigikhan's

There is a warm welcome waiting at Luigikhan's our restaurant and bar in the hotel. Where you can sit and relax over a glass of wine or a pint while you study our menu of Relaxed Punjabi Cuisine. Mouth watering delights to savour as you enjoy an evening of good food, relaxing music and friendly staff.

Opening hours

17:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NE4 6NU

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J65, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Newcastle Central, 1.50 miles
Nearest tube station: Newcaste Metro, 1.50 mins
Nearest airport: Newcastle, 6.00 miles
Free parking on site (30 spaces)
On site disabled parking (1 spaces)

Address
358 Westgate Road
Newcastle
Tyne and Wear
NE4 6NU
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • St James Park Stadium (0.5 miles)

  • St James Park Stadium (0.5 miles)

  • The Sage (1.5 miles)

  • Radio Arena (1.5 miles)

  • O2 Academy (0.9 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • St James Park Stadium (0.5 miles)

  • Discovery Museum (0.7 miles)

  • Centre of Life (1.2 miles)

  • Angel of the North (5 miles)

  • Metro Centre (4 miles)

Shopping

  • Metrocentre (4 miles)

  • Silver Link Shopping Centre (4 miles)




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 28 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 15
Rating: 4 9
Rating: 3 3
Rating: 2 1
Rating: 1 0
Rating

Nice hotel, great Indian restaurant

22/07/2016 Pauliet, Nottingham

I stay here on a regular basis and always use it when I have business in Newcastle. Hotel is friendly and the added bonus of one of the best indian restaurants around is great. On a downside the TVs i... more

Rating

Convenient hotel located not too far from the centre.

19/07/2016 David C, Newcastle-under-Lyme

The bedroom was quite large with comfortable beds but the lighting in the room and in the bathroom was poor; it was impossible to read in bed and difficult to shave. Unfortunately Expedia had the wron... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear David C, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. I'm sorry to hear that you found the lighting to be poor. I can agree with the bedside lights for reading, which we are looking to change in the near future, a designers wrong choice for the bedside lights. The breakfast room has just been recently redesigned, with seating for 20 guests, the food selection of Continental and cooked has been very popular with most guests and our regular guests enjoy. We hope to welcome you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel o your next visit to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
Rating

Comfortable

14/07/2016 Nick S, Birmingham, United Kingdom

This is quite a small, compact hotel which from the outside belies it's interior charm. The reception and breakfast area are very small, to the point where if it were busy it would verge on the uncom... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Nick S, Thank you for leaving some feedback, we always like to hear from our guests and their experience while staying with us. With regards to the thermostat, these control the underfloor heating, which were all installed in 2010 not a leftover from a bygone age. We do not have air con, but all windows open and electric fans are available from Reception. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the cooked options for breakfast, we do have many return guests that enjoy that selection. If you were having problems with the wifi, if notified reception we could have checked this for you. I do hope that you would consider booking the Best Western Ryokan hotel for your next visit to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
Rating

Nice hotel, pity about the location

12/07/2016 Henry L, Gothenburg, Sweden

The hotel is a good conversion of a stone-faced old house, with tasteful interior design. The room was large and comfortable, and cleaning was of the highest standard. Unfortunately, the situation is... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Henry L, Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests regarding their stay with us. The building dates to 1840 when it was built as a hotel and bar, the West End of town once was a very affluent part of town, which over the last few years has been going through a regeneration. I assume the large area of derelict land would be the new site of the Newcastle Science Park which is being built. I'm sorry to hear that you encountered problems with the WiFi. We did loose conection for one day, we do have a PC at Reception for guests to use in that situation. I do hope you would consider to book the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next visit to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager
Rating

Nice little hotel

09/07/2016 redhammer69, Dumfries, United Kingdom

A nice little hotel within easy walking distance of Newcastle town centre and the Quayside. Nice spacious rooms and very helpful staff, and an excellent Indian restaurant which is part of the hotel. E... more

Owner Response
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review
Dear redhammer69, Thank you for your feedback. We always like to hear from guests and their experience while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan hotel on your next visit to Newcastle. Kind Regards Ian Nicholls General Manager