Avoid The Village/Annexe Rooms At All Costs... Filth
09/10/2019 kirstyb82, Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
I will be honest I am not really where to start but the disappointment from this stay is still strongly In our minds. The room with a best Western branding on it was absolutely shocking. We have staye... more
I will be honest I am not really where to start but the disappointment from this stay is still strongly In our minds. The room with a best Western branding on it was absolutely shocking. We have stayed in many Best Western hotels and this one must be the worst.
Firstly the drive to the “room” via an industrial estate is not the best welcome to a hotel. But I understand we booked a village/annexe room and this is not part of the main hotel building.. maybe this needs a little more explanation on the website. Because we certainly did not expect this.
When entering the room itself it had an extremely pungent damp smell. So we turned the heating on, opened the windows and tried to air the place out. We unpacked and realised that the wifi did not work. We tried a number of devices all which said the password we were given was incorrect. So we telephoned reception who confirmed we were entering the password as it should be so there must of been something wrong with the router in our area. We were told a duty manager would be with us shortly.
The duty manager arrived and seemed to have no idea what he was doing, he even asked us if we knew where the router was! He then proceeded to climb on furniture to try and reach the loft space.. (he couldn’t).. he checked the wifi himself and confirmed it was not working as it would not accept the password either.
He left and came back 5 minutes later saying he had switched something off/on and it should work in a few minutes… well it never did and we were without wifi for our entire stay. No one followed this up with us and we felt like there was no point complaining any further as no-one seemed that interested in fixing it for us.
The room itself was filthy, mouldly, dusty and very tired. The bed’s were so uncomfortable and in the middle of the night we woke up with extremely sore throats from the damp and the windows completely covered in condensation. We had to open the windows to help with the air flow which meant we were then freezing cold!
After the worse night sleep ever to top it off neither of us could have a proper shower because the electric shower did not work properly.. it was either freezing cold or scalding hot! Not to mention the tiny bit of toilet roll to last us a whole night….
When checking out of the hotel I did mention my complaint and concerns to the reception staff who asked me to email the reception manager on my return. I can say that I did do this and have received a full refund since our return.
We understand the reception staff told us we should of complained during our stay but our theory is if you had a better room to give us we should of been in it originally anyway! Hotels don't usually give out their poorest rooms first! The reception staff also told me to “stay in the main building during our next stay” well to be honest to me that says it all.. that she does not even recommend staying in these awful village rooms!
The only plus point about this hotel was the reception staff, they were very welcoming and pleasant during check in and out.
I have family who work for Best Western and they have high standards to pass to remain in the brand. I have no idea how this hotel has made it into the chain! I have written to Best Western myself and I am still waiting for a reply. But as far as I am concerned this hotel needs a full refit or removing from the brand name! Sadly we will not stay here again due to this poor room. less
zack_j83, Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I am happy you have excepted the full refund for your stay.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01257 455052.
Front of House Manager
Best Western Preston Chorley West Park Hall Hotel