I always try to be honest when writing reveiws and always base them on my experience of the stay.
Originally we only planned to stay one night as we were attending a surprised birthday party, but we decided to make a weekend of it and booked for three nights. We also decided to upgrade to a executive room for a extra £30 a night.
On check-in the manager seemed nice enough, checked us in and took us to our room.
First impression was nice hotel and a just about ok room. The room on inspection wasn't the cleanest but acceptable. There was nowhere to really put your suitcase as the wardrobe was cluttered with stuff, e.g. heater, tower fan, pillows, iron, hairdryer, etc.
After the first night, where we were woken up on numerous occasions by other guest and squeaky floorboards, we decided to go into Lockerbie for breakfast as we didn't think the hotel breakfast was value for money. We returned to the hotel and decided to get some sleep, we put on the do not disturb sign, but unfortunately got very little sleep thanks to the cleaner and the squeaky floorboards.
Later that night, friends joined us at the hotel, and we had drinks, which was very pleasant sat next to a log fire. It was then we decided to change our plans and go Glasgow for the new year. I asked reception about the cancellation policy and we were told to see the manager in the morning.
In the morning I spoke to James, and fair play we were offered a part refund, but would still have to pay Booking.coms fee. I said I didn't want anyone to be out of pocket because we changed our plans and I paid the full price of £327 and told them we would pick our bags up the next morning.
We went out for the day, and with my wife still seething for what was certainly not value for money, we decided to return and get our stuff and check out early.
Unfortunately for the manager, my wife was still not happy about the room and she challenged him about the room and the price. It worked out that we didn't get the executive room because of a coach load of Chinese people coming in and they can be very noisy (nice way for the manager to talk about paying customers to other guests).
Asked why we were still charged for the executive room, when we were in a standard double room, apparently they had been trying to contact us for two days and described my wife has the Scarlett Pimpernel, even though I spoke to reception on a few occasions, (we had drinks at the bar and there is a telephone in the room). I find it very hard to believe that we were not contactable.
Unfortunately Glen, I found you patronising, arrogant and extremely unprofessional, and you would blame anyone else for your mistakes rather than taking responsibility for them . Your offer of a cheap bottle of house wine as an apology was pointless as we wont be returning!
We did get the £90 overcharge refunded.
Overall £79 for the hotel was probably right, for the room I wouldn't pay more than £55, and based on customer service, you would have to pay me! less
wrighty147, General Manager at Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review
Dear reviewer, sometimes we get it wrong, you booked a superior room but in fact were allocated a standard double room, for this we apologise. The mistake was explained fully and an immediate refund was offered by myself ,