Not quite the best
11/08/2016 delboy16, Bournville UK
We booked in to stay for 3 nights at a good price via Booking.Com. We had upgraded to a suite for an additional small fee. Plenty of parking. We arrived a little earlier than planned and checked in. O... more
We booked in to stay for 3 nights at a good price via Booking.Com. We had upgraded to a suite for an additional small fee. Plenty of parking. We arrived a little earlier than planned and checked in. Our room was huge and was apparently the Honeymoon Suite.
There were a few issues we noticed, the bath had some black scuff marks. We reported this to reception. We were asked if we wanted them to arrange for housekeeping to attend to this? I think this could have been handled better by saying, "I am sorry, I will arrange for housekeeping to attend to this". We also noticed that the small peddle bin in the bathroom had no lid, it appears it had been broken off! The drinking glasses in the bathroom were plastic water dispenser cups!! We tried to use these for a drink of water on the first night but they were too fragile. The bed was quite uncomfortable and it appears that the mattress has had a considerable amount of use.(It is the honeymoon suite after all) Springs could be felt on the surface of the bed and there was lots of springing noises when either of us turned over.
We decided to have a drink at the bar on the first night and sat outside at the back of the hotel. There were three tables, barely enough for such a big hotel. The block set paving had not been swept for quite some time and there were lots of cigarette ends strewn across the whole area despite the fact there were ash trays on the tables. We ate in the restaurant on the first night. The welcome into the restaurant was excellent and the food was also very good indeed.
The second day, those plastic cups were still in the bathroom when we arrived back to the room. They were the same cups and had not even been washed out. We decided that when we had another drink at the bar we would bring back a couple of glasses.
The hospitality tray was rather sparse, no decaffeinated coffee or tea and no biscuits and of course no glasses.
The breakfast at the hotel was very good indeed. A buffet of hot and cold food which was very tasty indeed. The hospitality during breakfast was also very good.
The hospitality in the bar was excellent and the drinks more than satisfactory.
Overall, the hotel needs updating throughout. The waiting staff were very polite and attentive at all times. The remainder of the staff never made eye contact with us or any other client that we noticed. This in my opinion is a major failing. All staff should take time to wish people good morning or goodnight and if relevant asking if everything was ok.
When we arrived home, I had chance to check the bill. We had been overcharged by £21.95! My wife called the hotel and this was agreed and refunded. I have given this some thought. Suppose you go into the restaurant or bar and hear someone else give a room number. Whats to stop this from happening? This could clearly have happened to us as the meal was for one starter and one main. BE AWARE!! less
Gareth S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich, responded to this review
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel. Firstly please accept my apologises for the overcharge on your bill, I will of course be raising this issue with the restaurant team as we do have procedures to follow to avoid this. The reason we have plastic disposable cups in the bathroom is for the purpose of brushing your teeth, they are meant as drinking glasses, I will take on board that if you are staying more than one night you may want a glass. Your comments regarding our staff I can not agree with, we get nothing but praise about our staff here at the hotel so this seems very strange to me. However I hope with these small issues it hasn't put you off returning to us again in the near future.