Explore Hotel

Stay at this comfortable and affordable Mount Gambier motel located near Blue Lake, Crater Lakes and Coonawarra wineries.

Welcome to the family owned and operated BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel in Mount Gambier. Guests staying at this four star motel will be ideally situated for exploring mysterious Blue Lake, an extinct volcanic crater which contains crystal clear water that changes color from somber blue to a brilliant turquoise throughout the year.

The BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel proudly offers standard, deluxe and executive rooms with free cable TV and high-speed Internet access. This Mt. Gambier motels additional amenities include an elegant onsite restaurant and bar and an outdoor heated pool, spa and sauna.

BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel is close to a variety of local activities including shopping, aquifer tours, cave tours, scenic flights and horseback riding.

For excellent accommodations, value for money and a fantastic location in Mount Gambier, make a reservation at this Mount Gambier motel today!

View more

Location

175 Commercial Street East
Mount Gambier
5290
Australia
4 Star Rating

Summary

Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
14:00:00 | 10:00:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type 5290

Send to Tom Tom

Address
175 Commercial Street East
Mount Gambier
5290
Australia


What's nearby?

Recreation

  • 118.00 kilometer(s) from Portland, VIC, Australia

  • 131.00 kilometer(s) from Robe, SA, Australia

  • 436.00 kilometer(s) from Melbourne, VIC, Australia

  • 449.00 kilometer(s) from Adelaide, SA, Australia

  • 50.00 kilometer(s) from Mother Mary Mackillop School

  • 7.00 kilometer(s) from TAFE College




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 150 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 20
Rating: 4 45
Rating: 3 44
Rating: 2 26
Rating: 1 15
Rating

Time warp - needs update

08/09/2016 Peter G, pakenham, Australia

the staff are extremely good. friendly, efficient and polite. but the decor in the reception and first floor landing is very dated, and the rooms are also dated. the lighting needs updating, the ... more

Rating

Very Disappointed

06/09/2016 71Kell, Swan Hill, Australia

As we had been staying in inexpensive rooms on our travels we decided to treat ourselves to a more expensive room and have a night in, in a spa room First impression when we walked into foyer was ni... more

Owner Response
David P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review
Hello, Thankyou for your feedback We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and are alarmed at some of your comments. It would have been nice to have you raise these issues while you were here but unfortunately you didn't and that leaves me no chance to fix and confirm your complaints. We do always thrive on cleanliness and this is always backed by our AAA & Best Western assessments. Please note that we are in the process of a full refurbishment of the hotel which will take us to a level that will be well received. Again sorry for your unpleasant stay with us and be assured that action will follow by us to fix these issues. I would be pleased to offer you one of our completed upgraded rooms when your next in Mt Gambier
Rating

Seriously dated room, attitude and Qantas FF points chase

28/08/2016 Notorious M, Greater Sydney, Australia

Looks can be deceiving. Foyer, reception and bar areas look inviting, but my room was so dated, bordering on dangerous, I couldn't believe it. Lowlights - room was very dated and in urgent need of upd... more

Owner Response
David P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review
Hello, Firstly its nice to read that you actually enjoyed some of your stay. But I am very disappointed in your review and find it grossly inaccurate and misleading. Your claims of our rooms "bordering on dangerous" are ridiculous and its an insult to our business. I also cannot understand how the breakfast menu & set up is confusing, we have never had a complaint about our breakfast setup ever. I am totally confused with your claim about the Asian guests, I can see what your implying and that is extremely disappointing because our valued Asian clientele are a big part of our business. We are also in the process of a full renovation which will position us well in the upscale places to stay in Mt Gambier. I would like to suggest that travellers judge us on their own experiences and not that of a guest that makes wrongful claims..
Rating

Close to CBD

27/08/2016 Willysduck,

The first you notice is about this hotel is location, very close to CBD, the second thing you notice is the huge room which allows you to make you self at home. The staff are laid back back but gene... more

Rating

Don't leave without ordering breakfast

18/07/2016 graysand2016, Adelaide, Australia

Spacious clean room. Currently doing a few renovations but it did not interfere with our stay at all. Breakfast was delicious and great selection of choices on buffet and continental menu. All staff m... more