Very disappointing for a Best Western
25/09/2016 Ramona G,
My husband and I have stayed at Best Western on many occasions and always with good results, except in Granbury, Tx. I booked through a third party site and mistakenly clicked a smoking room. When I... more
My husband and I have stayed at Best Western on many occasions and always with good results, except in Granbury, Tx. I booked through a third party site and mistakenly clicked a smoking room. When I learned that a smoking room had been reserved, I let the clerk know that was not what we intended. She was not concerned. We decided to go ahead and check the room out but when we opened the door the cigarette smoke smell was like a wall hitting us in the face. We went back to the desk clerk who assured us that we were stuck with the room. We had no recourse because we had already paid through a third party. The only thing we could have done is to leave and go to another hotel and pay for a second room. We decided to make the best of it, however, when I pulled back the bedspread to climb into the bed, the sheet was so badly worn that it was pilled up with threads and felt very rough. I could not sleep on it and instead slept between the top sheet and the bedspread. We woke up with stuffed up heads because of the smokey room. Went in the bathroom and had to kill a roach on the floor. As I glanced around while taking a shower I noticed spider webs in the corners. This was a very disappointing stay with Best Western. less
BWGIS, Manager at BEST WESTERN Granbury Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Your review was very much appreciated. We understand that you did not have a good experience with us, and we take that seriously. Even though you mistakenly requested a smoking room through a third party website, we would normally not hesitate to simply change you to the room type you meant to reserve. Unfortunately, on this particular day we were completely booked and had no other room to give you.
Because it was a third party website, and your initial credit card payment was to them, we recommended you contact the third party website. On third party reservations our hotel neither receives guests' credit cards nor charges them for room rates. That's why contacting the third party to request cancellations or changes is necessary. We did not hear from the third party site requesting a cancellation so we had no other options.
Had we communicated better exactly why we couldn't refund your reservation without the third party involvement, perhaps we could have kept the situation from escalating. If that's the case, we could have done a much better job for you. For that we apologize.
For the other issues you mentioned in your review, I was neither aware of those nor had any indication that our staff received word of those during your stay; so I'm not able to speak to those directly. However, please be assured that our staff will give your comments full attention.
Again, thank you for your feedback because reviews help us improve our service and, ultimately, the guest experience. We would welcome you back in the future, and be very appreciative should you allow us to give you the great experience that every guest deserves.