Fantastic wedding venue however small bedroom and charged for breakfast.
06/08/2019 Kevin7280, Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
We stayed at Walworth Castle for a family wedding and the wedding was perfect. Ice cream on such a warm day was a nice touch, afternoon tea rather than a dinner was also a genius move, so much more so... more
We stayed at Walworth Castle for a family wedding and the wedding was perfect. Ice cream on such a warm day was a nice touch, afternoon tea rather than a dinner was also a genius move, so much more social at the table.
I was disappointed with our room, it was so small it had no wardrobe just some hangers which for one night was OK but if you are planning to stay longer insist on one of the bigger rooms.
Although we booked a double room for 2 people when we checked out we were charged an extra £10 for a breakfast as "although you booked a double room only one breakfast is covered" I have never in my live heard anything so ridiculous and thought I must have misunderstood but no the receptionist stated that although we booked a double room only one breakfast was chosen!!! not sure that is even an option on booking sites.
It took the shine off an otherwise perfect weekend. less
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding, however I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your room. On booking.com you actually booked a bed and breakfast rate for single occupancy, and not for 2 people as you have said in you review. The booking confirmations were printed off and shown to you on check out confirming that this was the case. This was the reason that you were charged for the extra breakfast, as only one had been paid for in the room rate. We did explain everything to you at the time, so it is disappointing that you have decided to put it on Tripadvisor when the error was not the fault of the hotel.