• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington.

12th Century charm meets 21st Century convenience.

The Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington offers all the peace and quiet that comes with staying in the countryside, with none of the isolation. Set within 12 acres of lawns and woodlands, this magnificent 12th Century hotel also lies within easy access to the A1 and A68.

Managing to perfectly combine the best of old and new features, this hotel provides the perfect getaway for guests looking for rural relaxation. Whether you're attending a conference here or spending quality time with someone special, your stay will live long in the memory!

As for the accommodation itself, we offer four poster tower suites with double Jacuzzi baths, an award winning restaurant or more traditional farmers bar. The hotel is extremely popular for wedding receptions too, and we can arrange anything to make your special day perfect.

View more


Co. Durham
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 035284
AASilver CSR award from Green Tourism.


Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00


Dining and Bars

Steve has been at the hotel for 25 years and during that time he has created some fantastic dishes and memories for our guests. He has even put an engagement ring in a dessert for a proposal. He prides himself on creating dishes which are both seasonal and local to the North East. The North East sharing platter is popular as guests can sample the best of what the North East has to offer.

Chef Steven Myers

blank image

Hansards Restaurant

Hansard's Restaurant is located in the main castle and offers a good selection of dishes. Whether you are wanting to enjoy a good bottle of wine and a sharing platter, or enjoy a sumptuous four course meal, then we can offer it to you. Hansard's Restaurant is open at weekends, however we do open during the week depending on bookings.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 7.00 - 9.30
Lunch: 0 - 0
Dinner: 18.30 - 22.00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Farmers Bar

The traditional Farmers Bar Restaurant is also located within the main castle. Here we offer a relaxing environment where you can enjoy some superb quality dishes sourced from local Farmers. We offer the same menu throughout the hotel and you can dine wherever you like. We have a lovely patio at the front and rear of the hotel with a great children's play area and a healthy eating menu for the kids. Everyone is welcome.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12.00 - 16.00
Dinner: 16.00 - 23:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image


Hansard's Bar is located near to the restaurant. Drinks can either be enjoyed at the bar, in the lounge or on the front patio. Wherever you find most comfortable.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
blank image

Farmers Bar

Drinks can be taken either in the Farmers Bar or on the back patio. This is a great location to enjoy the beautiful views of the countryside. There is also a children's play area which is great for keeping them entertained while you can relax and enjoy the sunshine.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Where better to celebrate your vows than a romantic 12th century castle? Our hotel makes the perfect backdrop for wedding photographs, and sets the mood for a truly special occasion!

blank imageblank imageblank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

We offer a personal service when booking your wedding reception at our hotel. The point of contact at the initial enquiry to planning all your personal touches, to running the wedding on the actual day the same team of highly trained managers will ensure your day runs as smoothly as possible. What could be more romantic than getting married in an original 12th century castle hotel, Darlington's only grade I listed building.


Wedding menus are created to suit your exact requirements. We have a selection of dishes for you to choose from, however if there is something you particularly require, then we can work with our team of chefs to design something specific to your wedding. No request is too small, just let us know.

Honeymoon Suite

The King James suite really does offer once-in-a-lifetime luxury. With its huge private lounge, dining table, period furnishings and beautifully decorated 16th century ceiling, you'll be in heaven! The bedroom is located in the castles tower and has a four poster bed for even more indulgence, while the bathroom has a tented double jacuzzi bath and full length windows for you to enjoy the beautiful views while enjoying a soak!


Registry office:
Backhouse Hall, Bull Wynd, Darlington
01325 406400

Please contact the hotel on 01325 485470 and our highly trained team will arrange a time for you to come and view the castle. We also offer you a complimentary first anniversary stay.

For any enquiries please call Surinder Singh on 01325 485470

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DL2 2LY

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J58, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Darlington, 6.00 miles
Nearest airport: Durham Tees Valley, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (10 spaces)

Co. Durham

What's nearby?


  • Newcastle FC (38 miles)

  • Middlesbrough (15 miles)

  • Darlington FC (3 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Bowes Museum (8 miles)

  • Beamish (20 miles)

  • Metro Centre (35 miles)

  • 2 bars

  • High Force Waterfall (8 miles)


  • Darlington (4.3 miles)

  • Metro Centre (25.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

blank image

We can offer some fantastic rooms your meeting or conference. We offer a daily delegate rate which would include room hire, tea coffee and biscuits, lunch and everything in the conference room. Specialist equipment can be ordered in. We work very closely with team building company and we can arrange some great team building games and ideas. We are also opening a Falconry Centre in the hotels grounds at Easter 2014 which can also be used.

Available room set ups

U shape

Cardinals Court

The Cardinals Court is our largest function room and is located in what was the original courtyard of the castle. With a glass roof, there is plenty of natural light. Also located on the ground floor, this room has suitable access for disabled guests.


This meeting room is located on the ground floor and has direct access to the gardens. The walls and ceiling are adorned with 16th century plasterwork, so you certainly know you are having a meeting in a castle.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Cardinals Court 150 0 0 0 120
Ballroom 75 30 28 30 85
King James 75 26 28 30 75
Prince Bishops 30 18 16 18 34
Prince Bishops Tower 0 0 0 10 10
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40


TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1173 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 588
Rating: 4 303
Rating: 3 159
Rating: 2 85
Rating: 1 38

Overall brilliant.

09/08/2019 shireenharrison28, Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom

Lovely stay. Every member off staff were perfect nothing was too much trouble for them. Esp Andrew Katie Rachel and Julie. Every meal I ate was lovely and had no faults and they more than happy to me... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thanks so much for your review. I'll certainly pass your comments onto all the staff you have mentioned. Again thank you for giving us 5 stars and we hope to see you back at the castle again soon. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director

Almost the perfect relaxation getaway

06/08/2019 Hargreaves007, Hull, England

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife following a couple of nights in Newcastle at a wedding. The hotel had a wedding event on the Sunday we arrived (28th July) which meant that we had to endure the evenin... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your recent review. Due to the nature of the building and the layout of the castle, some rooms may hear music louder than others, although we do try and keep guests who are not attending the event away from the noise as best as possible. We have considered a marquee, however the feedback we have from our guests is that they want to celebrate actually in the castle itself. I hope the noise didn't disturb you too much and I hope you will stay at the castle again if you are next in the Darlington area. If you call us directly we can advise if a function is taking place and if there are any rooms away from the noise. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director

Extra Thankyou

06/08/2019 Lhedl,

This hotel has the best front desk Manager Sue Head and her staff are second to none. We stayed 3 nights recently unfortunately it was for a sad occasion for us. But Sue did all she could to make our ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thanks for your review. I will certainly pass your comments onto Susan and Julie who I am sure will be thrilled with the feedback. We hope to see you back at the castle again soon. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director

Fantastic wedding venue however small bedroom and charged for breakfast.

06/08/2019 Kevin7280, Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom

We stayed at Walworth Castle for a family wedding and the wedding was perfect. Ice cream on such a warm day was a nice touch, afternoon tea rather than a dinner was also a genius move, so much more so... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Kevin, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding, however I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your room. On booking.com you actually booked a bed and breakfast rate for single occupancy, and not for 2 people as you have said in you review. The booking confirmations were printed off and shown to you on check out confirming that this was the case. This was the reason that you were charged for the extra breakfast, as only one had been paid for in the room rate. We did explain everything to you at the time, so it is disappointing that you have decided to put it on Tripadvisor when the error was not the fault of the hotel. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director

Really Wonderful Place to Stay

04/08/2019 L1426ACmohamedh,

Three of us and two dogs drove 8 hours from Brighton to get here but it was worth every minute. We are staying in one of the self contained cottages with its own hot tub. The setting is magical, we ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Wow! I am certainly pleased that the 8 hour trip was worth it! I am pleased that you enjoyed the experience and I hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. I'll make sure I pass your comments onto everyone concerned. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director