• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington.

12th Century charm meets 21st Century convenience.

The Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington offers all the peace and quiet that comes with staying in the countryside, with none of the isolation. Set within 12 acres of lawns and woodlands, this magnificent 12th Century hotel also lies within easy access to the A1 and A68.

Managing to perfectly combine the best of old and new features, this hotel provides the perfect getaway for guests looking for rural relaxation. Whether you're attending a conference here or spending quality time with someone special, your stay will live long in the memory!

As for the accommodation itself, we offer four poster tower suites with double Jacuzzi baths, an award winning restaurant or more traditional farmers bar. The hotel is extremely popular for wedding receptions too, and we can arrange anything to make your special day perfect.

View more

Location

Walworth
Darlington
Co. Durham
DL2 2LY
England
To make a reservation please call 0800 393130 (Freephone). For all other enquiries please call 01325 485470
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Steve has been at the hotel for 25 years and during that time he has created some fantastic dishes and memories for our guests. He has even put an engagement ring in a dessert for a proposal. He prides himself on creating dishes which are both seasonal and local to the North East. The North East sharing platter is popular as guests can sample the best of what the North East has to offer.

Chef Steven Myers

walworth-castle-hotel-dining-10-83869

Hansards Restaurant

Hansard's Restaurant is located in the main castle and offers a good selection of dishes. Whether you are wanting to enjoy a good bottle of wine and a sharing platter, or enjoy a sumptuous four course meal, then we can offer it to you. Hansard's Restaurant is open at weekends, however we do open during the week depending on bookings.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 7.00 - 9.30
Lunch: 0 - 0
Dinner: 18.30 - 22.00
Weekend times may vary
walworth-castle-hotel-dining-15-83869

Farmers Bar

The traditional Farmers Bar Restaurant is also located within the main castle. Here we offer a relaxing environment where you can enjoy some superb quality dishes sourced from local Farmers. We offer the same menu throughout the hotel and you can dine wherever you like. We have a lovely patio at the front and rear of the hotel with a great children's play area and a healthy eating menu for the kids. Everyone is welcome.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12.00 - 16.00
Dinner: 16.00 - 23:00
Weekend times may vary
walworth-castle-hotel-dining-10-83869

Hansards

Hansard's Bar is located near to the restaurant. Drinks can either be enjoyed at the bar, in the lounge or on the front patio. Wherever you find most comfortable.

Opening hours

12.00-23:00
Weekend times may vary
walworth-castle-hotel-dining-17-83869

Farmers Bar

Drinks can be taken either in the Farmers Bar or on the back patio. This is a great location to enjoy the beautiful views of the countryside. There is also a children's play area which is great for keeping them entertained while you can relax and enjoy the sunshine.

Opening hours

12.00-23.00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Where better to celebrate your vows than a romantic 12th century castle? Our hotel makes the perfect backdrop for wedding photographs, and sets the mood for a truly special occasion!

walworth-castle-hotel-wedding-events-01-83869walworth-castle-hotel-wedding-events-04-83869walworth-castle-hotel-wedding-events-07-83869walworth-castle-hotel-wedding-events-08-83869

Wedding service and reception venue

We offer a personal service when booking your wedding reception at our hotel. The point of contact at the initial enquiry to planning all your personal touches, to running the wedding on the actual day the same team of highly trained managers will ensure your day runs as smoothly as possible. What could be more romantic than getting married in an original 12th century castle hotel, Darlington's only grade I listed building.

Catering

Wedding menus are created to suit your exact requirements. We have a selection of dishes for you to choose from, however if there is something you particularly require, then we can work with our team of chefs to design something specific to your wedding. No request is too small, just let us know.

Honeymoon Suite

The King James suite really does offer once-in-a-lifetime luxury. With its huge private lounge, dining table, period furnishings and beautifully decorated 16th century ceiling, you'll be in heaven! The bedroom is located in the castles tower and has a four poster bed for even more indulgence, while the bathroom has a tented double jacuzzi bath and full length windows for you to enjoy the beautiful views while enjoying a soak!

Registrar

Registry office:
Darlington
Backhouse Hall, Bull Wynd, Darlington
01325 406400




Please contact the hotel on 01325 485470 and our highly trained team will arrange a time for you to come and view the castle. We also offer you a complimentary first anniversary stay.

For any enquiries please call Surinder Singh on 01325 485470

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DL2 2LY

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J58, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Darlington, 6.00 miles
Nearest airport: Durham Tees Valley, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (10 spaces)

Address
Walworth
Darlington
Co. Durham
DL2 2LY
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Newcastle FC (38 miles)

  • Middlesbrough (15 miles)

  • Darlington FC (3 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Bowes Museum (8 miles)

  • Beamish (20 miles)

  • Metro Centre (35 miles)

  • 2 bars

  • High Force Waterfall (8 miles)

Shopping

  • Darlington (4.3 miles)

  • Metro Centre (25.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

walworth-castle-hotel-meeting-space-02-83869

We can offer some fantastic rooms your meeting or conference. We offer a daily delegate rate which would include room hire, tea coffee and biscuits, lunch and everything in the conference room. Specialist equipment can be ordered in. We work very closely with team building company and we can arrange some great team building games and ideas. We are also opening a Falconry Centre in the hotels grounds at Easter 2014 which can also be used.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Cardinals Court

The Cardinals Court is our largest function room and is located in what was the original courtyard of the castle. With a glass roof, there is plenty of natural light. Also located on the ground floor, this room has suitable access for disabled guests.

Ballroom

This meeting room is located on the ground floor and has direct access to the gardens. The walls and ceiling are adorned with 16th century plasterwork, so you certainly know you are having a meeting in a castle.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Cardinals Court 150 0 0 0 120
Ballroom 75 30 28 30 85
King James 75 26 28 30 75
Prince Bishops 30 18 16 18 34
Prince Bishops Tower 0 0 0 10 10
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1122 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 554
Rating: 4 290
Rating: 3 157
Rating: 2 84
Rating: 1 37
Rating

Daughters wedding

15/03/2019 Anita J,

Got to say the staff everyone from the under manager to bar staff reception were amazing my Daughters wedding was excellent from start to finish. Food excellent the place was imaculate. Setting awesom... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Anita, I am delighted that you enjoyed your daughters wedding so much. I will certainly pass your comments onto all the members of staff who contributed in making the day so special. We hope you will come back and visit us again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

Nice to be back....

14/03/2019 Adam B, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Having got engaged here back in 2010 we try and return on a regular basis as we do have fond memories of the place. From arrival to departure all the staff (but particularly front of house) couldn't h... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Adam, I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found all the staff to be so welcoming. We have just refurbished room 19, so I am pleased that you liked the decor. I do take on board your comments regarding the shower, and we are looking at ways in which we can increase the pressure of the showers, but being such an old building it is a challenge. I will pass your comments onto all the members of our team who made your stay so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

An experiance

10/03/2019 Happy_Eater900,

Friendly staff. Poor internet access.code given did not work in room . The shower was ok but don’t put on eco as cold even tho the sign asks you too. Service was good. Sunday roast was as always tasty... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thanks for your comments about your recent stay. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

Terrible room! Tiny bathroom

04/03/2019 nigelg84,

Recently stayed here for a friend's wedding and paid to stay in the castle, this was my first mistake! After ascending the 3 sets of stairs we eventually made it to our room. The room (31) was tiny an... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr Guz, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your bedroom. We do have rooms of all different shapes and sizes in the castle, but if you were unhappy with your room in any way, if you would have let us know during your stay we could have potentially changed your room to one which was more suitable to your requirements. A member of our management team has spoken to you since your departure and we believed we had reached an amicable solution, so its therefore disappointing to read your review on Tripadvisor. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Kind regards Mrs Swain Director
Rating

Best western Walworth castle

01/03/2019 aaronfuller,

Very polite well mannered staff , was ungraded to a 4poster room at short notice , the lady behind reception ( Susan ) was one in a million very helpful! The food was delicious with a great service. ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Aaron, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will pass your comments onto all the team, and Susan is indeed one in a million and I'm sure she'll be delighted with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Mrs Swain Director