• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington.

12th Century charm meets 21st Century convenience.

The Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington offers all the peace and quiet that comes with staying in the countryside, with none of the isolation. Set within 12 acres of lawns and woodlands, this magnificent 12th Century hotel also lies within easy access to the A1 and A68.

Managing to perfectly combine the best of old and new features, this hotel provides the perfect getaway for guests looking for rural relaxation. Whether you're attending a conference here or spending quality time with someone special, your stay will live long in the memory!

As for the accommodation itself, we offer four poster tower suites with double Jacuzzi baths, an award winning restaurant or more traditional farmers bar. The hotel is extremely popular for wedding receptions too, and we can arrange anything to make your special day perfect.

View more

Location

Walworth
Darlington
Co. Durham
DL2 2LY
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 035284
AASilver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Steve has been at the hotel for 25 years and during that time he has created some fantastic dishes and memories for our guests. He has even put an engagement ring in a dessert for a proposal. He prides himself on creating dishes which are both seasonal and local to the North East. The North East sharing platter is popular as guests can sample the best of what the North East has to offer.

Chef Steven Myers

blank image

Hansards Restaurant

Hansard's Restaurant is located in the main castle and offers a good selection of dishes. Whether you are wanting to enjoy a good bottle of wine and a sharing platter, or enjoy a sumptuous four course meal, then we can offer it to you. Hansard's Restaurant is open at weekends, however we do open during the week depending on bookings.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 7.00 - 9.30
Lunch: 0 - 0
Dinner: 18.30 - 22.00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Farmers Bar

The traditional Farmers Bar Restaurant is also located within the main castle. Here we offer a relaxing environment where you can enjoy some superb quality dishes sourced from local Farmers. We offer the same menu throughout the hotel and you can dine wherever you like. We have a lovely patio at the front and rear of the hotel with a great children's play area and a healthy eating menu for the kids. Everyone is welcome.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12.00 - 16.00
Dinner: 16.00 - 23:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Hansards

Hansard's Bar is located near to the restaurant. Drinks can either be enjoyed at the bar, in the lounge or on the front patio. Wherever you find most comfortable.

Opening hours

12.00-23:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Farmers Bar

Drinks can be taken either in the Farmers Bar or on the back patio. This is a great location to enjoy the beautiful views of the countryside. There is also a children's play area which is great for keeping them entertained while you can relax and enjoy the sunshine.

Opening hours

12.00-23.00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Where better to celebrate your vows than a romantic 12th century castle? Our hotel makes the perfect backdrop for wedding photographs, and sets the mood for a truly special occasion!

blank imageblank imageblank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

We offer a personal service when booking your wedding reception at our hotel. The point of contact at the initial enquiry to planning all your personal touches, to running the wedding on the actual day the same team of highly trained managers will ensure your day runs as smoothly as possible. What could be more romantic than getting married in an original 12th century castle hotel, Darlington's only grade I listed building.

Catering

Wedding menus are created to suit your exact requirements. We have a selection of dishes for you to choose from, however if there is something you particularly require, then we can work with our team of chefs to design something specific to your wedding. No request is too small, just let us know.

Honeymoon Suite

The King James suite really does offer once-in-a-lifetime luxury. With its huge private lounge, dining table, period furnishings and beautifully decorated 16th century ceiling, you'll be in heaven! The bedroom is located in the castles tower and has a four poster bed for even more indulgence, while the bathroom has a tented double jacuzzi bath and full length windows for you to enjoy the beautiful views while enjoying a soak!

Registrar

Registry office:
Darlington
Backhouse Hall, Bull Wynd, Darlington
01325 406400




Please contact the hotel on 01325 485470 and our highly trained team will arrange a time for you to come and view the castle. We also offer you a complimentary first anniversary stay.

For any enquiries please call Surinder Singh on 01325 485470

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DL2 2LY

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J58, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Darlington, 6.00 miles
Nearest airport: Durham Tees Valley, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (10 spaces)

Address
Walworth
Darlington
Co. Durham
DL2 2LY
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Newcastle FC (38 miles)

  • Middlesbrough (15 miles)

  • Darlington FC (3 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Bowes Museum (8 miles)

  • Beamish (20 miles)

  • Metro Centre (35 miles)

  • 2 bars

  • High Force Waterfall (8 miles)

Shopping

  • Darlington (4.3 miles)

  • Metro Centre (25.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

blank image

We can offer some fantastic rooms your meeting or conference. We offer a daily delegate rate which would include room hire, tea coffee and biscuits, lunch and everything in the conference room. Specialist equipment can be ordered in. We work very closely with team building company and we can arrange some great team building games and ideas. We are also opening a Falconry Centre in the hotels grounds at Easter 2014 which can also be used.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Cardinals Court

The Cardinals Court is our largest function room and is located in what was the original courtyard of the castle. With a glass roof, there is plenty of natural light. Also located on the ground floor, this room has suitable access for disabled guests.

Ballroom

This meeting room is located on the ground floor and has direct access to the gardens. The walls and ceiling are adorned with 16th century plasterwork, so you certainly know you are having a meeting in a castle.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Cardinals Court 150 0 0 0 120
Ballroom 75 30 28 30 85
King James 75 26 28 30 75
Prince Bishops 30 18 16 18 34
Prince Bishops Tower 0 0 0 10 10
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1159 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 579
Rating: 4 300
Rating: 3 158
Rating: 2 84
Rating: 1 38
Rating

Great fun

14/07/2019 404alastairw, Norwich, United Kingdom

Stayed in a very large suite in a tower. There was a four poster bed. I felt like a princes looking out of the window! The suite was so large it had its own private corridor. Unfortunately the shower ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the suite which you stayed in and I will certainly take on board your comments regarding the shower. I hope you will stay with us again when you are next in the area. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

Lovely hotel but poor organisation let the whole thing down.

04/07/2019 Michelle O,

Sadly breakfast let the place down. We stayed over as we needed to be in Durham early the next day for a University open day. Arriving for breakfast at 8am there was not much on offer in the buffet - ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Michelle, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you left feeling so disappointed and I will certainly take on board your feedback in order to improve the services we offer. I can assure you that your experience was a one off and not the experience we usually deliver to our guests. I do hope everything went well at Durham University and I hope you will give us another opportunity if you are in this area again in the future. King regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

Walworth hotel

04/07/2019 Global27023274208, Shrewsbury, United Kingdom

Jaw dropping 16th century manor house, absolute pleasure to visit.and would not hesitate to select it again given the opportunity. Although on a business trip, it would make an ideal base for touring ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thanks so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will come and see us again when you are next in the North East. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

Amazing...but...

01/07/2019 griffmanager,

Really wanted to leave a fabulous so annoyed I cant. Stunning building, immaculate gardens and impressive public areas. Greeted by a lovely lady on reception who was training, very welcoming. On arriv... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I have read your review and I have taken on board the points which you've raised in order to improve the service we offer. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future and if you call the hotel directly we can let you know which rooms are available, and I'm sure we will have one which is more to your liking. We have had issues with third party booking agents not allocating the right room, so please accept my apologies for this. However if you call us directly we will always be able to offer you the best rate and room available. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

An impressive building

29/06/2019 Julie P, United Kingdom

Last time we visited was not a pleasant experience, but this time we had an amazing 4 poster room overlooking the gardens. The bed was very high, but comfortable. The room could have done with a sofa ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Julie, Thanks for giving us another opportunity. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience this time around. I hope you will visit us again when you're next in the Darlington area. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director