Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Walworth Rd, Walworth, Darlington, Co. Durham, DL2 2LY, England
based on 1241 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington.

12th Century charm meets 21st Century convenience.

The Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel near Darlington offers all the peace and quiet that comes with staying in the countryside, with none of the isolation. Set within 12 acres of lawns
show more

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Steve has been at the hotel for 25 years and during that time he has created some fantastic dishes and memories for our guests. He has even put an engagement ring in a dessert for a proposal. He prides himself on creating dishes which are both seasonal and local to the North East. The North East sharing platter is popular as guests can sample the best of what the North East has to offer.

Chef Steven Myers
  • Hansards Restaurant
  • Farmers Bar
  • Hansards
  • Farmers Bar

Hansards Restaurant

Hansard's Restaurant is located in the main castle and offers a good selection of dishes. Whether you are wanting to enjoy a good bottle of wine and a sharing platter, or enjoy a sumptuous four course meal, then we can offer it to you. Hansard's Restaurant is open at weekends, however we do open during the week depending on bookings.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary

Farmers Bar

The traditional Farmers Bar Restaurant is also located within the main castle. Here we offer a relaxing environment where you can enjoy some superb quality dishes sourced from local Farmers. We offer the same menu throughout the hotel and you can dine wherever you like. We have a lovely patio at the front and rear of the hotel with a great children's play area and a healthy eating menu for the kids. Everyone is welcome.

Opening hours
Lunch: 12.00 - 16.00
Dinner: 16.00 - 23:00
Weekend times may vary

Hansards

Hansard's Bar is located near to the restaurant. Drinks can either be enjoyed at the bar, in the lounge or on the front patio. Wherever you find most comfortable.

Opening hours
12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Farmers Bar

Drinks can be taken either in the Farmers Bar or on the back patio. This is a great location to enjoy the beautiful views of the countryside. There is also a children's play area which is great for keeping them entertained while you can relax and enjoy the sunshine.

Opening hours
12.00-23.00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Where better to celebrate your vows than a romantic 12th century castle? Our hotel makes the perfect backdrop for wedding photographs, and sets the mood for a truly special occasion!

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Surinder Singh on 01325 485470

Wedding service and reception venue

We offer a personal service when booking your wedding reception at our hotel. The point of contact at the initial enquiry to planning all your personal touches, to running the wedding on the actual day the same team of highly trained managers will ensure your day runs as smoothly as possible. What could be more romantic than getting married in an original 12th century castle hotel, Darlington's only grade I listed building.

Catering

Wedding menus are created to suit your exact requirements. We have a selection of dishes for you to choose from, however if there is something you particularly require, then we can work with our team of chefs to design something specific to your wedding. No request is too small, just let us know.

Honeymoon Suite

The King James suite really does offer once-in-a-lifetime luxury. With its huge private lounge, dining table, period furnishings and beautifully decorated 16th century ceiling, you'll be in heaven! The bedroom is located in the castles tower and has a four poster bed for even more indulgence, while the bathroom has a tented double jacuzzi bath and full length windows for you to enjoy the beautiful views while enjoying a soak!

Registrar

Registry office:
Darlington
Backhouse Hall, Bull Wynd, Darlington
01325 406400

Additional Information

Please contact the hotel on 01325 485470 and our highly trained team will arrange a time for you to come and view the castle. We also offer you a complimentary first anniversary stay.

Meetings & Events

We can offer some fantastic rooms your meeting or conference. We offer a daily delegate rate which would include room hire, tea coffee and biscuits, lunch and everything in the conference room. Specia...

  • Cardinals Court
  • Ballroom

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

We can offer some fantastic rooms your meeting or conference. We offer a daily delegate rate which would include room hire, tea coffee and biscuits, lunch and everything in the conference room. Specialist equipment can be ordered in. We work very closely with team building company and we can arrange some great team building games and ideas. We are also opening a Falconry Centre in the hotels grounds at Easter 2014 which can also be used.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Cardinals Court

The Cardinals Court is our largest function room and is located in what was the original courtyard of the castle. With a glass roof, there is plenty of natural light. Also located on the ground floor, this room has suitable access for disabled guests.

Ballroom

This meeting room is located on the ground floor and has direct access to the gardens. The walls and ceiling are adorned with 16th century plasterwork, so you certainly know you are having a meeting in a castle.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Cardinals Court 150 0 0 0 120
Ballroom 75 30 28 30 85
King James 75 26 28 30 75
Prince Bishops 30 18 16 18 34
Prince Bishops Tower 0 0 0 10 10

Reviews of Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 1241 reviews
Excellent 51%
Very Good 25%
Average 13%
Poor 7%
Terrible 3%
Rating

599paulap, wrote review 09/02/2020

Romantic stay

We wanted a little luxery within our means not too far away from home so booked a four poster room 32 (neville) it was big clean and what we wanted. The bathroom was dated but was acceptable...until!!... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Firstly I apologise for the issues you experienced in the bathroom, however I can assure you that the water was not sewerage, and will have been water left in the pipe between the sink and the bath. A plumber we have had on site this morning has confirmed this. We moved your room to the one next door and gave you both a complimentary drink, so I hope there wasn't too much upheaval. I hope you will come back and stay with us again. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

tinasteel, wrote review 04/02/2020

Evening Meal

Thought we would give Walworth another try as we have lovely memories there (due to our wedding day a few years ago) but our last meal we had there approximatley 2 years ago was very poor - hence we d... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Tina, Thanks for your review and thanks for giving us another opportunity! I will certainly pass your comments onto all the team and we hope you will pay us a visit again soon. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

Supermanlookalike, wrote review 02/02/2020

Day visit

On our way back from a weekend away further up north, i thought we would call in just for a coffee. Over the years I have stayed here in most of the main rooms, From the King James suite and alot of ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, I appreciate your feedback. My husband and I have owned Walworth Castle for 20 years, and during this time, I believe we have refurbished and renovated the castle in keeping with its period, enhancing its history. With this in mind we do have to keep up with modern expectations guests have when staying in a hotel, and therefore have to change with market demands. If we didn't improve on what we are doing, then guests would simply go elsewhere. It is perhaps idealistic, to not change with the 'if it's not broken then don't fix it mentality'. Would you like to stay in a hotel with no wifi, no modern bathroom with power shower, or no green credentials? Years ago this was perhaps the case, but now guests are far more discerning. If you look at the majority of previous reviews, the management, staff and service are rated very highly and we are proud in what we have achieved. We have a great team at here at Walworth, and we will continue to improve the service we offer and improve the experience for our guests. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

Linnynick, wrote review 02/02/2020

Sunday lunch

Just had a beautiful Sunday lunch in the restaurant at Walworth castle hotel. The food was really tasty, well presented, piping hot and really good portions. Both the lamb and beef was lovely tasting ... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed Sunday lunch. I will certainly pass your feedback onto everyone who made the experience so enjoyable. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Rating

consistent21, wrote review 02/02/2020

12th Century Manor House with Character

Walworth Castle has a history of entertaining guests throughout the last 900 years. It's an interesting place to stay with a charming coutry feel. The staff are friendly and attentive, beds are comf... more

Owner Response
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, Thanks for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the castle in the not too distant future. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director