Could have been so much better
14/07/2017 Andy W, Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
I'm a little bit torn with this hotel and review .I have stayed in a few Best Westerns now so I am becoming used to their quirks . I believe I could have given it 5 stars but you have to get the basi... more
I'm a little bit torn with this hotel and review .I have stayed in a few Best Westerns now so I am becoming used to their quirks . I believe I could have given it 5 stars but you have to get the basics right and treat your clientele like adults . This Hotel is impressive as you drive in . It looks imposing and grand and the grounds are extremely well manicured . The reception staff are very friendly , efficient and welcoming.The reception area is nice bright and clean . We stayed in room 30 .This is a suite and has a lounge with Flat screen TV , bedroom with flat screen TV and separate Bathroom that has a both a bath and shower over it . It's located in one of the turrets and has some nice views of the grounds and surrounding countryside. The decor is slightly eclectic with a mixture of modern furniture and an imposing four poster bed but its still a very nice suite of rooms . The water was hot and the shower adequate for our needs and the room was spotlessly clean . We stayed two nights and there was no noise to keep us awake .( although sleep was not pleasant and I'll explain why later) .There were two couples and our friends had room 16 which was equally as impressive . We all had four excellent meals in the Farmers restaurant , service was good and price reasonable. Breakfast on the first morning was very good with an excellent full English and variations served to all four of us .The second morning was more hit and miss as we had to practically clear our own table to sit down in what was not a busy time . The Food however was again excellent .Free Wifi is also a bit hit and miss but I guess Castle walls will do that for you . The reason I have given this hotel an average rating is two fold . Firstly , this was a 60th birthday treat and we had brought a bottle of expensive champagne to drink in the room with our friends . I asked at reception if I could have a bucket of ice to chill it down a bit and was very politely told I could not consume food or drink not bought at the hotel in the rooms . It is written on your check in form but I was unaware . This is a petty, money grabbing rip off by Best western and quite frankly cheapens the whole franchise . I am sure it is in place to stop people ordering in Pizza or Chinese to their room but surely there can be some discretion . We bought a £20 bottle of wine with our meal so its not like you can avoid the exorbitant prices is it . Then there was the bed . This four poster bed may well be from the 18th century but did I really have to have an 18th Century mattress . This was the most uncomfortable bed me and my wife have ever slept in . It was lumpy , you could feel the springs and it sunk in the middle . ( It's no Hypnos I can tell you ) . Shamefully I perhaps didn't notice it as much on the first night due to alcohol ( otherwise I would have complained ) but on the second night I certainly did. I was going to mention this at reception as we checked out but no one asked me how our stay was so quite frankly I couldn't be bothered . Shame really as I said , this hotel could be so much better . less
Mrs S, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your in depth review of our hotel. I am disappointed that you have only rated us with 3 stars when you mention so many positives from your stay. Impressive building, manicured grounds, friendly receptionist, bright and clean reception, a positive description of your suite, nice views, spotlessly clean, no noise, excellent full English breakfast, free wifi etc. However you choose to give us a three star as we wouldn't let you consume your own alcohol on the premises. Only after this refusal do you mention the mattress being uncomfortable. Its a shame as everyone at the hotel works so hard to try and get things right for our customers, but it seem that even when we do we still can't please everyone all the time. Thanks for letting us know about your experience.