Appalled! Absolutely shocked at the service from Management.
First of all, to set things straight;
I stayed last weekend of April for a family wedding. The hotel & grounds were beautiful, clean and the staff were very friendly and ever so helpful. The food served was to a high standard, plenty of staff walking around to aid with request for extra drinks, more bread etc. I am NOT faulting the hotel on the wedding side. That side was perfect.
I am faulting the hotel as paying customer for a hotel room. Yes, I got a party rate of £90 for a room as it came under the wedding party but the room was a shoe box! Me and my partner walked in and practically tripped up over the bed as that was how small the room was. Hardly any room to move, the bed took up most the space, I couldn't pull out the chair from the dressing table where the mirror/tv was stood, as was about an arms length away from the bed leaving me no choice but to do my hair & make up standing. The bathroom was tiny, clean, but tiny. I don't see how this hotel can think charging £90 for this room is acceptable, I dread to see the full price!!
Now, the thing that got me the most was visiting other peoples rooms. Most of them were in bright, spacious rooms, I was so jealous thinking I wish we had a room like theirs, only to find out, they paid the same party rate of £90 and the room was given to them upon arrival - whaaat!! How can they charge the same rate and give some bigger rooms, some smaller rooms! I'm not sure how that logic works.
Now, for the finale; a few days later, I decided to message the manager of the hotel, expressing all my feelings I made above, to which they replied "why did you not come to reception? We could have sorted it then and there and upgraded you to a bigger room" .. well first of all, I had care of the bridesmaids children, so I had no time to go to reception, secondly, we had half an hour to get everything settled before we had to make our way down to the ceremony, and thirdly, I did not want to upset any of the wedding party by complaining, as id hate to ruin the brides day! Upon telling them this, and having days apart from them replying to me they offered me a "free meal" to which I declined, still no answer as to why bigger rooms were given at the same price.
After two weeks of exchanging emails with the hotel manger I asked for Heads Office email..again I expressed my concerns & added I was not impressed with the managers attitude to get a reply from Head Office saying "Cut to the chase, what are you after?" ..SO RUDE!!
I was putting off writing a review for this hotel, as I was giving them time to win me round, now, after receiving that email, I have ranted.
Awaiting a reply still from Head Office. less
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN York House Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review.
I note your comments with regard the management, initially the manager and myself.
It is unfortunate that you have taken my comments out of context and misquoted what I actually said and totally altered the meaning of my email. I have therefore had to request that this review be taken down for distorting the facts, which I don't like to do as all is fair normally speaking. It is coincidental also that we have received another 'word for word' email stating similar, which naturally makes us wary.
As mentioned in a direct email to yourself any larger rooms for the 20+ rooms attributed to this party were paid for extra and were not on the same rate as yourself as you have stated.
You are correct we have asked why you didn't say anything on the day as we may have been able to come to a resolution immediately, this would not have in anyway involved the 'Bride' and we can't fathom your comments on this matter either.