Sadly, a wilted White Rose
03/11/2018 Kenneth R, Sutton, United Kingdom
Having requested a room with "easy access and limited stairs, near lift if not on lower floor", to be sited in the most distant position from the only lift in action was not a good start. " Central ... more
Having requested a room with "easy access and limited stairs, near lift if not on lower floor", to be sited in the most distant position from the only lift in action was not a good start. " Central reservations had not passed on the request " or so I was told!
Hotel Reception were further confused about the lack of dining possibilities. Having received a message that there would be no dinner facilities for Wednesday and made a table reservation for 7.15pm on Tuesday. it transpired that there was no dinner available on Tuesday OR Wednesday.
Newspapers ordered for collection from Reception each morning were not there on the first morning - Sorry, Reception had not actioned the recorded request.
Sadly that's the unprofessional picture that has to be painted.
The bedroom, to be fair, was OK and the walk-in shower was fine, as was the general cleanliness, but the Reception gaffes and lack of attention to detail spoiled what should have been a pleasant leisure break. less
YHHManagement, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Kenneth R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on your recent stay with us here at the Best Western York House Hotel Eastbourne.
According to our records your reservation was booked through a third party agent so when the receptionist stated central reservations had not passed on the request, this wasn't completely accurate so apologies for that. The issue was we didn't receive the request at all from the agent you booked with. When we did our courtesy call to you 10 minutes after check-in and we offered a complimentary upgrade to meet your request to enhance your comfort further. You declined to transfer rooms stating you'd already unpacked which we respected.
Apologies for the mix up in communication regarding the maintenance works and opening times of the restaurant. At the time of the stay the hotel was having maintenance works completed in the kitchen whilst we did plan for the kitchen to be back in service on the Tuesday evening, these works over run and the kitchen had to remain closed. The Duty Manager called you in the afternoon and explained the change of plan but explained the restaurant would be back open the next day (Wednesday), we booked you a table at your request and the Duty Manager provided complimentary drinks voucher as a gesture for the inconvenience.
We usually receive great praise for our attentive, friendly and professional staff and I can only apologise that due to the circumstances that occurred this was not the image perceived. When you choose to visit Eastbourne again please feel free to contact me directly on: firstname.lastname@example.org and I'd be happy to arrange your next reservation with us.