• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Woodlands Hotel.

A delightful retreat near Dundee.

The Best Western Woodlands Hotel is nestled near Dundee, in a well-established residential area close to the seaside town of Broughty Ferry. The country house style hotel is only a 15 minute drive from Dundee itself, railway station and Dundee Airport, which makes life even easier when you're here on a relaxing short break or a long weekend!

Set in mature gardens, our delightful hotel (once a prominent manor house!) makes an ideal location for either business or pleasure. The onsite leisure facilities provide the perfect place to relax too, with a lovely pool, steam room and Jacuzzi. If you're feeling energetic there's a fully equipped gym to burn off that excess energy!

The hotel is also a renowned favourite meeting place, with a welcoming restaurant serving an extensive menu full of local specialities. Guests can relax and enjoy a coffee or a drink in the comfortable lounge or on the patio area too!

View more

Location

13 Panmure Terrace
Dundee

Dundee
Tayside
DD5 2QL
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 035297
VSSilver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to some floors, Restaurants, Sauna, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi, Twenty Four Hour Service
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Our fantastic Chef has been with the Best Western Woodlands Hotel for more than 10 years. Always looking to adapt to the latest trends, he likes to set them too!

Chef Ewan McCrae

blank image

The Beeches

Delicious, locally sourced food is the order of the day here, and we serve it with a twist! Renowned in the area, our restaurant serves traditional British food, while our young chef adopts international flavours to spice things up every now and again!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Lounge Bar

In a separate area to the restaurant, our cosy bar serves paninis and snacks, with its lively yet relaxed atmosphere providing the perfect accompaniment to your favourite drink!

Opening hours

10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

St Andrews Old Course

Six Centuries of Golf
Golf has been played on the Links at St Andrews since around 1400 AD and the Old Course is renowned throughout the world as the Home of Golf. The game grew in popularity and by the 19th century it was part of the way of life for many local people, whether as players, caddies, ball makers or club makers. Golf still plays a major part in the culture and economy of St Andrews today. As the 600 year history of the Links has unfolded, one simple track hacked through the bushes and heather has developed into six public golf courses, attracting hundreds of thousands of golfing pilgrims from around the globe. St Andrews Links is the largest golfing complex in Europe and all 18 hole courses can be booked in advance. The Castle Course, the seventh course at the Home of Golf, is situated on clifftops overlooking St Andrews to the east of the town.

Course information

Course Type: British Open Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6690 Yards
Handicap required

Location

25.00 miles away in St Andrews

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £150.00
Trolley hire £15.00
Club hire £40.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £6.50

Monifieth Golf Course

Carnoustie is public and has three golf courses. The golf courses are open every day and we welcome visitors from all parts of the globe. To book tee times with us you may use the online booking facility or simply call or email our Reservations department on +44 (0)1241 802270 or golf@carnoustiegolflinks.co.uk

Course information

Course Type: Championship Venue
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 73
Distance: 7300 Yards
Handicap required

Location

3.00 miles away in Monifieth

Facilities

Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £140.00
Trolley hire £14.00
Club hire £45.00
Tuition £35.00

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Fully Equipped Gym

  • Sauna

  • Steam Room

  • Pool

Weddings

With more than 30 years as one of the major venues in the Dundee/Broughty Ferry area, we know a thing or too about hosting unforgettable weddings! Our all-inclusive package ensures everything (and everyone) is taken care of, with exceptional service providing the icing on the cake!

blank imageblank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

Best Western Woodlands Hotel is a beautiful private building in country house style, set in landscaped gardens, well back from any major road and providing an oasis of calm with beautiful backdrops for your photographs. The hotel Ballroom incorporates a large sprung dance floor, large bar and cloakrooms. We cater for any size of occasion from a small family gathering to a large wedding for up to 180 people.

Catering

An easy-to-understand all-inclusive package means you can cater for 70 daytime guests plus 50 evening guests - prices start from £2018!

Honeymoon Room

Tucked away in the original part of the mansion house, our feature bedroom has the luxury of a four poster bed!

Registrar

Registry office:
Dundee City Council
Reform Street Dundee
01382 480033




We offer special promotions on wedding packages throughout the year - Our event team are always on hand to show you around the venue and answer any questions you may have.

Nikki has worked at the Hotel for over 15 years - she knows the hotel inside out and has a wealth of experience with regards

For any enquiries please call Nikki Robertson on 01382 480033

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DD5 2QL

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M90, J11, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: Dundee, 6.00 miles
Nearest airport: Dundee, 7.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
13 Panmure Terrace
Dundee
Dundee
Tayside
DD5 2QL
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Tannadice Park - DUFC (10 miles)

  • Dens Park - DFC (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Glamis Castle (17 miles)

  • Dundee Rep Theatre (5 miles)

  • Dundee Contemporary Art Centre (5 miles)

  • V&A Mueseum of Design (5 miles)

  • RRS Discovery Ship (5 miles)

  • McManus Galleries (5 miles)

Shopping

  • Broughty Ferry (0.5 miles)

  • Award-winning Overgate Shopping Centre (6 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

blank image

From Meetings and Conferences to Training Seminars and Team Build Residentials, The Best Western Woodlands Hotel is perfectly placed to guarantee a successful stay. Located in Broughty Ferry, just a 15 minute drive from Dundee City Centre, it really is the ideal venue

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ballroom (Partitions into two)

Ideal for a large conference / meeting with an inbuilt high quality PA system




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ballroom (Partitions into two) 200 150 45 80 150
Library 25 13 14 20 20
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 751 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 336
Rating: 4 259
Rating: 3 101
Rating: 2 39
Rating: 1 16
Rating

Nice looking, uncomfortable, rude reception

22/09/2019 Guide812302,

When traveling internationally, I may have to cross Best Western off list. This makes twice making internet reservations resulted in an error. Last time, Eaglesham did not get the Reservation Woodland... more

Owner Response
Nikki R, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
I am sorry that you experienced issues at our hotel, unfortunately as we are not owned by Best Western it is impossible for us to cancel any rooms booked through them until they contact us and ask if we are willing to waive the fee for the customer, as far as i am aware this is what happened. I have taken up the issues with our housekeeping department and the heating system would not be on in the hotel at that time as it is on a seasonal timer.
Rating

Very Good Base, Good Food, Friendly Staff

21/09/2019 joeeggGreenock, greenock

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on a B&B basis with dinner on the 1st night.There is ample free parking at the hotel We had an issue with the 1st room (room 111) being positioned directly at the co... more

Owner Response
Nikki R, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased we were able to help you move room as we always strive to make sure our guests are comfortable and well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Rating

Excellent value

20/09/2019 lesley19702019,

Very friendly staff and excellent facilities nothing too much trouble. Excellent location perfect for my daughters wedding and vert good value, hotel staff set everything up for us. Would definitely r... more

Owner Response
Nikki R, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind words and we hope you all enjoyed the wedding. We do hope you will visit us again soon.
Rating

Excellent

19/09/2019 LesleyandPaul, Peterborough, United Kingdom

This hotel, we have found was excellent all round. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was spacious, clean and fresh. It was adequately equipped with tea coffee etc. The food in th... more

Owner Response
Nikki R, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Rating

Lovely wedding venue

17/09/2019 hazelr4, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Stayed here for two nights for my son's wedding which was in the hotel and was very impressed with the professional and smooth running of the whole event.. The staff were all polite and helpful and di... more

Owner Response
Nikki R, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
I am delighted to hear that you all had a wonderful day and congratulations to your son and his new wife, we wish them both the very best for their future together. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.