Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Woodlands Hotel.

A delightful retreat near Dundee.

The Best Western Woodlands Hotel is nestled near Dundee, in a well-established residential area close to the seaside town of Broughty Ferry. The country house style hotel is only a 15 minute drive from Dundee itself, railway station and Dundee Airport, which makes life even easier when you're here on a relaxing short break or a long weekend!

Set in mature gardens, our delightful hotel (once a prominent manor house!) makes an ideal location for either business or pleasure. The onsite leisure facilities provide the perfect place to relax too, with a lovely pool, steam room and Jacuzzi. If you're feeling energetic there's a fully equipped gym to burn off that excess energy!

The hotel is also a renowned favourite meeting place, with a welcoming restaurant serving an extensive menu full of local specialities. Guests can relax and enjoy a coffee or a drink in the comfortable lounge or on the patio area too!

View more

Location

13 Panmure Terrace
Broughty Ferry
Dundee
Tayside
DD5 2QL
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6102*
VS

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Gym, Indoor Pool, Restaurants, Sauna, Twenty Four Hour Service, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Our fantastic Chef has been with the Best Western Woodlands Hotel for more than 10 years. Always looking to adapt to the latest trends, he likes to set them too!

Chef Ewan McCrae

woodlands-hotel-dining-15-83507

The Beeches

Delicious, locally sourced food is the order of the day here, and we serve it with a twist! Renowned in the area, our restaurant serves traditional British food, while our young chef adopts international flavours to spice things up every now and again!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Lounge Bar

In a separate area to the restaurant, our cosy bar serves paninis and snacks, with its lively yet relaxed atmosphere providing the perfect accompaniment to your favourite drink!

Opening hours

10:00-24:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Carnoustie Golf Course

Carnoustie is public and has three golf courses. The golf courses are open every day and we welcome visitors from all parts of the globe. To book tee times with us you may use the online booking facility or simply call or email our Reservations department on +44 (0)1241 802270 or golf@carnoustiegolflinks.co.uk

Course information

Course Type: British Open Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 73
Distance: 7300 Yards
Handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Carnoustie

Facilities

Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £140.00
Trolley hire £14.00
Club hire £45.00
Tuition £35.00

St Andrews Old Course

Six Centuries of Golf
Golf has been played on the Links at St Andrews since around 1400 AD and the Old Course is renowned throughout the world as the Home of Golf. The game grew in popularity and by the 19th century it was part of the way of life for many local people, whether as players, caddies, ball makers or club makers. Golf still plays a major part in the culture and economy of St Andrews today. As the 600 year history of the Links has unfolded, one simple track hacked through the bushes and heather has developed into six public golf courses, attracting hundreds of thousands of golfing pilgrims from around the globe. St Andrews Links is the largest golfing complex in Europe and all 18 hole courses can be booked in advance. The Castle Course, the seventh course at the Home of Golf, is situated on clifftops overlooking St Andrews to the east of the town.

Course information

Course Type: British Open Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6690 Yards
Handicap required

Location

25.00 miles away in St Andrews

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £150.00
Trolley hire £15.00
Club hire £40.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £6.50

Spa & Leisure

The hotel features a large heated swimming pool and a full range of facilities including a gymnasuim, spa and steam room.

Please be aware that the Leisure Club is Adults Only on Wednesdays from 7pm until 9:30pm, and Tuesdays & Thursdays from 2pm until 9:30pm.

No. of treatment rooms: 1
Minimum guests (per booking): 1
Maximum guests (per booking): 4

Please be aware that the Leisure Club is Adults Only on Wednesdays from 7pm til 9:30pm and Tuesdays / Thursdays from 2pm til 9:30pm.

Opening times

Leisure Facilities

  • Fully equipped gymnasium

  • 12 metre heated swimming pool

  • Spa bath

  • Sauna & steam room

  • Personal trainer

  • Treatment room

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Our gym is modern, light and air-conditioned, providing the perfect environment for a work out. The large swimming pool, spa and steam rooms offer a more relaxing way to wind down!

woodlands-hotel-leisure-22-83507

Treatments

Type Treatment Time (mins) price (from)
Massage Back, Neck Shoulder Massage 30 £25.00
Head Massage 45 £28.00
Swedish Massage 60 £35.00
Mind & Body ACCUPRESSURE 60 £30.00
Personal Fitness Consultation 60 £25.00
Reflexology 60 £30.00

Weddings

With more than 30 years as one of the major venues in the Dundee/Broughty Ferry area, we know a thing or too about hosting unforgettable weddings! Our all-inclusive package ensures everything (and everyone) is taken care of, with exceptional service providing the icing on the cake!

woodlands-hotel-bedrooms-09-83507woodlands-hotel-wedding-events-05-83507woodlands-hotel-wedding-events-07-83507woodlands-hotel-wedding-events-08-83507woodlands-hotel-wedding-events-10-83507

Wedding service and reception venue

Best Western Woodlands Hotel is a beautiful private building in country house style, set in landscaped gardens, well back from any major road and providing an oasis of calm with beautiful backdrops for your photographs. The hotel Ballroom incorporates a large sprung dance floor, large bar and cloakrooms. We cater for any size of occasion from a small family gathering to a large wedding for up to 180 people.

Catering

An easy-to-understand, all-inclusive package means you can cater for 70 daytime guests plus 50 evening guests - prices start from £2814!

Honeymoon Room

Tucked away in the original part of the mansion house, our feature bedroom has the luxury of a four poster bed!

Registrar

Registry office:
Dundee City Council
Reform Street Dundee
01382 480033




When you book one of our All Inclusive Wedding Packages we invite you back for your 1st Anniversary Dinner on us!

Nikki has worked at the Hotel for over 15 years - she is here to help and guide you!

For any enquiries please call Nikki Robertson on 01382 480033

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DD5 2QL

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M90, J11, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: Dundee, 6.00 miles
Nearest airport: Dundee, 7.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
13 Panmure Terrace
Broughty Ferry
Dundee
Tayside
DD5 2QL
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Tannadice Park - DUFC (10 miles)

  • Dens Park - DFC (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Glamis Castle (17 miles)

  • Dundee Rep Theatre (5 miles)

  • Dundee Contemporary Art Centre (5 miles)

  • RRS Discovery Ship (5 miles)

  • McManus Galleries (5 miles)

Shopping

  • Broughty Ferry (0.5 miles)

  • Award-winning Overgate Shopping Centre (6 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

From Meetings and Conferences to Training Seminars and Team Build Residentials, The Best Western Woodlands Hotel is perfectly placed to guarantee a successful stay. Located in Broughty Ferry, just a 15 minute drive from Dundee City Centre, it really is the ideal venue

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ballroom (Partitions into two)

Ideal for a large conference / meeting with an inbuilt high quality PA system




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ballroom (Partitions into two) 200 150 45 80 150
Library 25 13 14 20 20
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 343 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 145
Rating: 4 123
Rating: 3 47
Rating: 2 24
Rating: 1 4
Rating

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in

30/04/2016 Annie1806, Isle of Arran, United Kingdom

I came here for a 2 night stay with my mum (her treat for me) The receptionist at check in was pleasant and helpful but unfortunately it went down hill fast from there. The room was clean and spacious... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Firstly please accept our sincere apologise for not providing the experience you should of had. I can assure you that we take all feedback very seriously and try to rectify any issues as quickly as possible and i will be making sure our maintenance look at the room you were in as soon as possible. However the issue of courteous service from our staff is inexcusable and not our usual standards, this will be taken up with the relevant department heads and staff concerned. We do appreciate all feedback positive and negative as we aim to provide a quality stay and unfortunately on this ocassion we have let you down and for that i sincerely apologise.
Rating

Golf party

28/04/2016 mproctor02, Tarporley, United Kingdom

Our party of nineteen golfers stayed for a short tour of the local courses. We were given our own dining room which worked brilliantly. Food was relatively basic but of good quality and served with a ... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather not being the best for you. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future but we cannot guarantee better weather!
Rating

Excellent

26/04/2016 Terry E,

We arrived on the 23 April 2016, on arrival evenvthough they were very busy with a wedding reception they made time for and we were made to feel very welcolm. The room we had been allocated was up s... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad that we were able to offer you a suitable room and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.
Rating

Could do better

25/04/2016 Julie E, Boston, uk

Stayed for 3 nights, dirty cups in room on arrival, never changed. Small bar, few tables where 2 were reserved, so no-where to sit. Breakfast however was very good, reception staff very helpful, it i... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the dirty crockery in your room. This is not the level of service we usually achieve and I will be bringing this up with Housekeeping to ensure that this does not happen again.
Rating

Mr van-Aston

24/04/2016 jjvanny, Liverpool

Very clean and tidy hotel,, hotel staff very helpful on arrival Not long had a hotel extention which has been finished to a very high standard,,, eating in the hotel is a must as very tasty and great... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.