• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Woodlands Hotel.

A delightful retreat near Dundee.

The Best Western Woodlands Hotel is nestled near Dundee, in a well-established residential area close to the seaside town of Broughty Ferry. The country house style hotel is only a 15 minute drive from Dundee itself, railway station and Dundee Airport, which makes life even easier when you're here on a relaxing short break or a long weekend!

Set in mature gardens, our delightful hotel (once a prominent manor house!) makes an ideal location for either business or pleasure. The onsite leisure facilities provide the perfect place to relax too, with a lovely pool, steam room and Jacuzzi. If you're feeling energetic there's a fully equipped gym to burn off that excess energy!

The hotel is also a renowned favourite meeting place, with a welcoming restaurant serving an extensive menu full of local specialities. Guests can relax and enjoy a coffee or a drink in the comfortable lounge or on the patio area too!

View more

Location

13 Panmure Terrace
Broughty Ferry

Dundee
Tayside
DD5 2QL
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6102*
VS

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Gym, Indoor Pool, Restaurants, Sauna, Twenty Four Hour Service, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Our fantastic Chef has been with the Best Western Woodlands Hotel for more than 10 years. Always looking to adapt to the latest trends, he likes to set them too!

Chef Ewan McCrae

woodlands-hotel-dining-23-83507

The Beeches

Delicious, locally sourced food is the order of the day here, and we serve it with a twist! Renowned in the area, our restaurant serves traditional British food, while our young chef adopts international flavours to spice things up every now and again!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
woodlands-hotel-dining-21-83507

Lounge Bar

In a separate area to the restaurant, our cosy bar serves paninis and snacks, with its lively yet relaxed atmosphere providing the perfect accompaniment to your favourite drink!

Opening hours

10:00-24:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Carnoustie Golf Course

Carnoustie is public and has three golf courses. The golf courses are open every day and we welcome visitors from all parts of the globe. To book tee times with us you may use the online booking facility or simply call or email our Reservations department on +44 (0)1241 802270 or golf@carnoustiegolflinks.co.uk

Course information

Course Type: British Open Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 73
Distance: 7300 Yards
Handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Carnoustie

Facilities

Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £140.00
Trolley hire £14.00
Club hire £45.00
Tuition £35.00

St Andrews Old Course

Six Centuries of Golf
Golf has been played on the Links at St Andrews since around 1400 AD and the Old Course is renowned throughout the world as the Home of Golf. The game grew in popularity and by the 19th century it was part of the way of life for many local people, whether as players, caddies, ball makers or club makers. Golf still plays a major part in the culture and economy of St Andrews today. As the 600 year history of the Links has unfolded, one simple track hacked through the bushes and heather has developed into six public golf courses, attracting hundreds of thousands of golfing pilgrims from around the globe. St Andrews Links is the largest golfing complex in Europe and all 18 hole courses can be booked in advance. The Castle Course, the seventh course at the Home of Golf, is situated on clifftops overlooking St Andrews to the east of the town.

Course information

Course Type: British Open Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6690 Yards
Handicap required

Location

25.00 miles away in St Andrews

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £150.00
Trolley hire £15.00
Club hire £40.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £6.50

Weddings

With more than 30 years as one of the major venues in the Dundee/Broughty Ferry area, we know a thing or too about hosting unforgettable weddings! Our all-inclusive package ensures everything (and everyone) is taken care of, with exceptional service providing the icing on the cake!

woodlands-hotel-wedding-events-07-83507woodlands-hotel-wedding-events-10-83507woodlands-hotel-wedding-events-05-83507

Wedding service and reception venue

Best Western Woodlands Hotel is a beautiful private building in country house style, set in landscaped gardens, well back from any major road and providing an oasis of calm with beautiful backdrops for your photographs. The hotel Ballroom incorporates a large sprung dance floor, large bar and cloakrooms. We cater for any size of occasion from a small family gathering to a large wedding for up to 180 people.

Catering

An easy-to-understand all-inclusive package means you can cater for 70 daytime guests plus 50 evening guests - prices start from £2018!

Honeymoon Room

Tucked away in the original part of the mansion house, our feature bedroom has the luxury of a four poster bed!

Registrar

Registry office:
Dundee City Council
Reform Street Dundee
01382 480033




We offer special promotions on wedding packages throughout the year - Our event team are always on hand to show you around the venue and answer any questions you may have.

Nikki has worked at the Hotel for over 15 years - she knows the hotel inside out and has a wealth of experience with regards

For any enquiries please call Nikki Robertson on 01382 480033

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DD5 2QL

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M90, J11, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: Dundee, 6.00 miles
Nearest airport: Dundee, 7.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
13 Panmure Terrace
Broughty Ferry
Dundee
Tayside
DD5 2QL
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Tannadice Park - DUFC (10 miles)

  • Dens Park - DFC (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Glamis Castle (17 miles)

  • Dundee Rep Theatre (5 miles)

  • Dundee Contemporary Art Centre (5 miles)

  • V&A Mueseum of Design (3 miles)

  • RRS Discovery Ship (5 miles)

  • McManus Galleries (5 miles)

Shopping

  • Broughty Ferry (0.5 miles)

  • Award-winning Overgate Shopping Centre (6 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

woodlands-hotel-meeting-space-02-83507

From Meetings and Conferences to Training Seminars and Team Build Residentials, The Best Western Woodlands Hotel is perfectly placed to guarantee a successful stay. Located in Broughty Ferry, just a 15 minute drive from Dundee City Centre, it really is the ideal venue

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ballroom (Partitions into two)

Ideal for a large conference / meeting with an inbuilt high quality PA system




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ballroom (Partitions into two) 200 150 45 80 150
Library 25 13 14 20 20
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 563 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 241
Rating: 4 199
Rating: 3 82
Rating: 2 32
Rating: 1 9
Rating

Good experience

18/02/2018 L6575BRannh, County Durham, United Kingdom

Room was great, service at reception was goid and the food in the restaurant was nice. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked great. The only downside to our stay was that we weren't warned... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry that you struggled to find space to sit when you returned. If this happens again please mention it to a member of staff as we may be able to find another area for you to sit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Rating

School break

15/02/2018 Peter D,

Hotel nice, leisure facilities superb , bar was OK too and breakfasts were nice also . We were in room for three but had to ask for bed sheets for pull out sofa bed which was very very uncomfortable b... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. If you have any issues during your stay please feel free to inform Reception and we will do our utmost to fix them for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Rating

Un helpful staff

29/01/2018 Crdg73, Aberdeen, United Kingdom

Was very disappointed staying here for the weekend, a wedding was on , bar was overcrowded no seats all taken up by wedding party , when we asked to sit in empty restaurant, was told it’s not possible... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry that there was some confusion as to whether you were able to sit in the Restaurant, if our Bar is full due to Wedding guests you are more than welcome to take a seat in the Restaurant. Please accept my apologies that you were not given the option to move to a different room once we were informed of these issues. With regards to the the cold food at breakfast I have made our breakfast staff aware that the kitchen will always prepare fresh food on request.
Rating

EXCELLENT WEEKEND

29/01/2018 Colleen T, Aberdeen, United Kingdom

Thouroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were efficient and very friendly, hotel and spa spotlessly clean and the food was lovely. Buffet breakfast had plenty variety for everyone. Will d... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Rating

A few days off

30/12/2017 graham g, Dunfermline, United Kingdom

The hotel is very comfortable the staff were very helpful through out and the hotel was extremely clean, the meals were good at a reasonable price. I would have liked to have seen tablecloths and side... more

Owner Response
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments and kind words. With regard to the tablecloths etc. unfortunately it is not feasible for us to do this due to the cost implications and the type of hotel and dining area that we are, we go for the more relaxed dining experience but I can appreciate that this does not suit all customers and it is nice to know that the quality of our food deserves a better back drop. We hope to welcome you back again soon.