• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Thurrock Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Close to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres.

You can look forward to a warm welcome at the modern 3-star Best Western Thurrock Hotel in Essex.
Lying just off the M25, it's close to the towns of Thurrock, Grays, Purfleet, Tilbury and Dartford. It's also handy for exploring the North Kent coast and dazzling attractions of London, as well as shopping till you drop at Lakeside and Bluewater.
Our 66 comfortable en suite bedrooms, including family rooms, come with complimentary toiletries, hospitality tray, flat-screen TV and free WiFi.
Our a la carte restaurant, bar and lounge serve up tasty food and drink, while the patio and courtyard garden is a lovely spot for private events or evening drinks in the summer. We also offer room service if you fancy a snack in bed.
For a memorable Essex night out, you can't beat our popular murder mystery dinners or soirees with 'Del Boy' and the gang at the Only Fools and 3 Courses dinner. Our entertainment events are perfect for hen parties, office gatherings and birthday bashes.

View more

Location

Ship Lane
Aveley

Thurrock
Essex
RM19 1YN
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 035275

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

blank image

Scholars Restaurant

At Scholars Restaurant we serve quality food, freshly prepared using local British produce wherever possible.
Our chefs are masters of great grub, whether you're in the mood for a hearty breakfast, light lunch, three-course dinner or Sunday lunch with the family.
With the likes of rump steak, roast chicken and battered cod and chips on the menu, you can satisfy your appetite with all your favourites. Younger members of the family are also well catered for, with a specific kids' menu. We even do a children's afternoon tea, complete with triangle sandwiches and mini cupcakes.
Our attentive staff are efficient but unobtrusive, ensuring you have a pleasant experience in relaxed surroundings no matter what the occasion here at Best Western Thurrock Hotel.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Scholars Bar

Our stylish and comfortable Scholars Lounge Bar is a spacious place to meet friends, family or work colleagues. Here you can read a paper over morning coffee, grab a lunchtime snack or linger longer over a more filling meal and dessert.
If you fancy something a little stronger than tea or coffee, we have a fantastic selection of prosecco and champagne by the glass or bottle, as well as wines from around the world, from a fruity Chilean merlot to an aromatic New Zealand sauvignon blanc.

Opening hours

12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Let us help you create special memories of your big day. Best Western Thurrock Hotel is a popular wedding venue in Essex as it's set in its own pretty grounds and offers great value for money.
Our light and airy Garden Room, with French windows that open out onto the patio overlooking the courtyard, can comfortably hold 120 guests for a wedding breakfast and a further 80 for the evening reception. Our Belmont Suite is ideal for smaller weddings of up to 90 daytime guests and 150 for the evening celebration.
We're licensed for civil ceremonies, so you can get married and have your reception all in the same place.
If you'd prefer a more informal wedding, we'd be delighted to lay on a delicious barbecue or hog roast in the garden.
You don't have to spend thousands on your special day we're happy to help you work to your budget.

Registrar

Registry office:
Thurrock Council
Thameside complex Orsett Road Grays RM17 5DX
01375 375245




For any enquiries please call Faith Kalejaiye on 01708 860222

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type RM19 1YN

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J30/31, 0.20 miles
Nearest train station: Chafford Hundred, 3.70 miles
Nearest tube station: Upminster, 0.00 mins
Nearest airport: London City, 14.20 miles
Free parking on site (150 spaces)

Address
Ship Lane
Aveley
Thurrock
Essex
RM19 1YN
England


What's nearby?

Cities & Attractions

  • Lakeside Shopping Centre (3 miles)

  • Belhus Country Park (3 miles)

  • Excel Centre (14.2 miles)

  • Brands Hatch (12.5 miles)

  • Bluewater Shopping Centre (6.6 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Situated within two minutes of the M25, with easy access from London, Best Western Thurrock Hotel could hardly be more convenient for conferences, business meetings and training courses in Essex. And with free parking for 200 cars, putting on a large event is no problem.
We have eight meeting rooms to choose from, including our Garden Suite, which can hold up to 200 delegates.
All our conference rooms benefit from natural daylight, free WiFi, quality seating and attentive service from a dedicated team who will help to ensure your event runs smoothly.
We also have a patio and lawn area suitable for outdoor teambuilding activities or for when your guests simply want to enjoy a break in the sunshine.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Garden Room 200 120 0 50 120
Belmont 150 80 0 40 90
Library 80 30 0 80 40
Aveley 0 0 0 14 0
Belhus 0 0 0 14 0
Chafford 80 40 0 20 0
Davey 80 40 0 20 0
Essex 80 40 0 20 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 500 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 89
Rating: 4 89
Rating: 3 105
Rating: 2 90
Rating: 1 127
Rating

Dated, rude and overpriced

11/07/2019 Skye B,

Upon entering the hotel I approached a young girl on reception who wasn’t busy but seemed annoyed to have to check someone in! After I said hello and gave my name I was greeted with a simple “£126 to ... more

Owner Response
ThurrockGM, Manager at Best Western Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review , I apologise that you found our team to be rude , this is disappointing as we normally get great reviews on how polite the girls on the desk are. We did unfortunate experience some very hot weather and we done our upmost to reduce the discomfort for the guest. Kind Regards General Manager
Rating

Rooms ok but far too hot

07/07/2019 emma r, Chesterfield, United Kingdom

Check in was fine, room was large and had everything we as a family of 3 needed. The main problem was the room was far too hot and had no air conditioning. I rung down to reception for a fan as it sai... more

Owner Response
ThurrockGM, General Manager at Best Western Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review , I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations . Unfortunately we have experienced some very hot weather the last few weeks that we don't normally get this time of the year . The hotel does not have air-conditioning but has you said we do offer fans upon request . On this particular day it was extremely hot and all our fans had already been given out , we have ordered more but have had a delay in delivery due to the high demand .
Rating

Really awful

06/07/2019 audiowhh, kent

I was attending a workshop/conference, as we had been told we would be able to order lunch, well when we went to order , was then told there was not enough food, so we could not have lunch, there was ... more

Owner Response
ThurrockGM, Manager at Best Western Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review , I apologise that you feel we did not meet your expectations . I can assure you that we never run out of food and can only imagine that their was some miss commination. our restaurant is open most days offering a lunch and dinner menu .
Rating

Too hot to handle.

06/07/2019 Sid B, Birchington, United Kingdom

We arrived lunchtime, checked in, took bags to room came back down and enquired about lunch, sorry but the chef isn't back until three! So we left to find somewhere to eat at Lakeside. It has been ext... more

Owner Response
ThurrockGM, General Manager at Best Western Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review , I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations . Unfortunately we have experienced some very hot weather the last few weeks that we don't normally get this time of the year . The hotel does not have air-conditioning but has you said we do offer fans upon request . On this particular day it was extremely hot and all our fans had already been given out , we have ordered more but have had a delay in delivery due to the high demand . The breakfast buffet of hot items are removed at apx 8.15am , this is because normally the busy period is over and we don't want give our guest low quality breakfast that has been sat out on the buffet unit like most other hotels , we offer plated breakfast after this time to ensure you get a quality hot cooked breakfast .
Rating

Worst Hotel I’ve stayed in!

03/07/2019 Road39212519275,

This hotel was completely miss sold and staff are rude, unhelpful and disrespectful. Breakfast is fowl with coffee machine and drinks dispenser unclean. Rooms are dark and smelly with the only one sin... more

Owner Response
ThurrockGM, Manager at Best Western Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review , I apologise that you feel the need to leave us a negative review . we have recently finished updating all our bedrooms along with improvements to the breakfast offering , offering fresh coffee beans blended for breakfast along with fresh orange and apple juice . we apologise that this did not meet your requirements.