Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown Hotel.

Comfort in Colchester.

The BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown Hotel is within walking distance of Colchester city centre. With a proud history of hospitality, it's the oldest recorded hotel in England's oldest recorded town!

That means you can look forward to a real oldy-worldy stay, with oak beamed walls, original chimneys and original small paned windows all adding to this 14th Century coaching inn-turned hotels appeal.

Colchester itself offers just as much character and charm, thanks to a rich history of Roman, Medieval and Victorian influences. You'll be near Constable Country too, which should give you an idea of the beautiful scenery and picturesque villages that will be on your doorstep!

View more


East Street


Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Chef Tony Porter

blank image

Oak Room

An oasis of contemporary style amidst the traditional charm of the hotel itself, our Oak Room offers casual dining.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
blank image

The Tudor Bar/Brasserie

The Tudor bar is friendly and cosy. In the winter you'll be able to sit around a roaring log fire, as you warm your cockles with a light lunch or a three course meal! At any time of year, our real Rose and Crown Ale goes down a treat!

Opening hours

Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Rose Room

This bar is open for functions only.


Lexden Golf Course

Course information

Course Type:
Location: Off Site
Holes: 0
Distance: 0 Yards
No handicap required


3.00 miles away in Colchester


9 holes Yes


The BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown Hotel is a historic and even more importantly, romantic place to celebrate your big day at. We're licensed for Civil Weddings and Civil partnerships, so you can enjoy the whole day with us.


Wedding service and reception venue

There's lots of room for romance here, and whatever you want to do in terms of entertainment, we'll do our best to make it happen.


We offer three wedding packages: Standard, Premier and Deluxe. Whichever you choose, you'll enjoy a starter, main course and dessert.

Honeymoon Suite

With a four poster bed, our bridal suite is set in the older part of the hotel. However, you'll be able to indulge in 21st Century comforts as well as 14th Century charm, with a spa bath and separate shower. This room will be our wedding present to you on your special occasion!


Registry office:
Essex County Council
Stanwell House, Stanwell Street Colchester CO2 7DL

For any enquiries please call Lisa Grantham on 01206 866677

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CO1 2TZ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J28, 40.00 miles
Nearest train station: Colchester Town & North, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (45 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

East Street

What's nearby?


  • Colchester United Stadium (2 miles)

  • Colchester Cricket ground (2 miles)

  • Ipswich Town (15 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Colchester Castle (0.8 miles)

  • Colchester Zoo (5 miles)

  • Firstsite (0.5 miles)

  • Layer Marney Towers (7 miles)

  • Constable Country Flatford and Dedham (8 miles)


  • City Centre (0.7 miles)

  • Bluewater (55 miles)

  • Lakeside (38 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our charming building is the perfect place to host an event. With large, airy rooms that have historic interest as well as cosy character, you and your guests can relax while you work.

Available room set ups

U shape

Prison Wine Bar

The perfect change of scene from the office, located downstairs this room used to be a prison and still has some of the orginal features including 2 cells. Private dining or small meetings up to 14/16 guests.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Rose 100 50 46 40 80
Prison Wine Bar 20 8 12 14 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 308 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 85
Rating: 4 128
Rating: 3 56
Rating: 2 25
Rating: 1 14

Bags of character and great food, really warm and homely

09/10/2015 TonyCistek, Cheltenham, United Kingdom

I've stayed here many times, I think its one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, even though the rooms are small and the bathrooms really small. It's got this wonderful character and terrific bar use... more


Won't be returning

27/09/2015 Quoarmy, Derby, United Kingdom

Stayed for one night and thankfully it was just the one. Our room was right by the road and the bed was very hard, sleep was difficult to come by. Bathroom was dirty and the electrics were a Heath Rob... more

Owner Response
Ricardo S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Let me start by thanking you for informing me about your experience at our hotel and I apologise for the problems encountered. We strive to ensure each and every guest’s experience is satisfying. As a town centre hotel some of our rooms do overlook roads which brings traffic noise we would allocate a central room in the main hotel or our executive block tends to be quieter, on any further visits. I look forward to the opportunity of regaining your confidence in the Rose & Crown Hotel, please call direct and we will insure a quiet upgraded room. Best regards.

Not worth the money!

27/09/2015 Traum T, Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom

We stayed at the Rose & Crown for a family wedding. Firstly, we were looking for the car park (no signs) for about 15 minutes. When we mentioned this fact to "Sue", the receptionist, her answer was: "... more

Owner Response
Ricardo S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and I can only apologise that we did not meet your expectations. I assume you stayed fairly recently as we have only just turned the heating on following a few comments/reviews that it was cold and we have already addressed the breakfast sausages and changed the flavour to a more traditional one. Regarding the lamb for the wedding breakfast I am very sorry about this as we have only had great comments from all the recent couples getting married here - We have a high standard for our weddings so if you could provide the date you stayed I will look into this and liase with the bride & groom. To show you the true hospitality of the Rose & Crown Hotel I would like to offer you a free upgrade to one of our superior rooms on a future visit to Colchester. This is subject to availability and valid for one year - please call Lisa direct to make your booking 01206 866677. We take all our reviews seriously and act on them to improve our services and facilities, I thank you again for taking the time to pass on your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Rose & Crown Hotel. Best regards


23/09/2015 Jason E,

It's just an average hotel, then old bit is nice but my room was in the new add on. Room is standard breakfast is full English and continental. I have stayed in better but there are many worst. Think ... more

Owner Response
Ricardo S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and you are quite correct in that a lot of our rooms are different. All rooms have the same standard of housekeeping but depending on where the room is located depends on the size and noise - eg historical rooms tend to be smaller because of where the beams are but are full of character. I hope to welcome you back and be able to offer you a characterful room. Best regards.

Booking is meaningless!

22/09/2015 Tim B,

3 of us had Steak, all 3 were stone cold after over an hours wait between starter and main course!! We had booked but that didn't seem to matter, there was still a horrendous wait between courses! Wou... more

Owner Response
Ricardo S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and I can only apologise about the delay in your service but more importantly the quality of the steaks when they came. I can assure you this is an unusual occurrence and not the expected standard. We hope to have the opportunity of showing you the true Rose & Crown hospitality in the future.