• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western The Rose & Crown Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel.

Comfort in Colchester.

The Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel is within walking distance of Colchester city centre. With a proud history of hospitality, it's the oldest recorded hotel in England's oldest recorded town!

That means you can look forward to a real oldy-worldy stay, with oak beamed walls, original chimneys and original small paned windows all adding to this 14th Century coaching inn-turned hotels appeal.

Colchester itself offers just as much character and charm, thanks to a rich history of Roman, Medieval and Victorian influences. You'll be near Constable Country too, which should give you an idea of the beautiful scenery and picturesque villages that will be on your doorstep!

View more

Location

East Street
Colchester
Essex
CO1 2TZ
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6185*
AA

Summary

2016 dinner inclusive rates offer a £25 per person à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Tony Porter

blank image

Oak Room

An oasis of contemporary style amidst the traditional charm of the hotel itself, our Oak Room offers casual dining.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
the-rose-and-crown-hotel-dining-10-83744

The Tudor Bar/Brasserie

The Tudor bar is friendly and cosy. In the winter you'll be able to sit around a roaring log fire, as you warm your cockles with a light lunch or a three course meal! At any time of year, our real Rose and Crown Ale goes down a treat!

Opening hours

Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Rose Room

This bar is open for functions only.

Golf

Lexden Golf Course

Course information

Course Type:
Location: Off Site
Holes: 0
Par:
Distance: 0 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3.00 miles away in Colchester

Prices

9 holes Yes

Weddings

The Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel is a historic and even more importantly, romantic place to celebrate your big day at. We're licensed for Civil Weddings and Civil partnerships, so you can enjoy the whole day with us.

the-rose-&-crown-hotel-wedding-events-03-83744the-rose-&-crown-hotel-wedding-events-03-83744

Wedding service and reception venue

There's lots of room for romance here, and whatever you want to do in terms of entertainment, we'll do our best to make it happen.

Catering

We offer three wedding packages: Standard, Premier and Deluxe. Whichever you choose, you'll enjoy a starter, main course and dessert.

Honeymoon Suite

With a four poster bed, our bridal suite is set in the older part of the hotel, renovated in 2016 with new bed, lighting and furniture. However, you'll be able to indulge in 21st Century comforts as well as 14th Century charm. This room will be our wedding present to you on your special occasion!

Registrar

Registry office:
Essex County Council
Stanwell House, Stanwell Street Colchester CO2 7DL
03456037632




For any enquiries please call Lisa Grantham on 01206 866677

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CO1 2TZ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J28, 40.00 miles
Nearest train station: Colchester Town & North, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (45 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
East Street
Colchester
Essex
CO1 2TZ
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Colchester United Stadium (2 miles)

  • Colchester Cricket ground (2 miles)

  • Ipswich Town (15 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Colchester Castle (0.8 miles)

  • Colchester Zoo (5 miles)

  • Firstsite (0.5 miles)

  • Layer Marney Towers (7 miles)

  • Constable Country Flatford and Dedham (8 miles)

Shopping

  • City Centre (0.7 miles)

  • Bluewater (55 miles)

  • Lakeside (38 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

the-rose-and-crown-hotel-meeting-space-04-83744

Our charming building is the perfect place to host an event. With large, airy rooms that have historic interest as well as cosy character, you and your guests can relax while you work.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Rose

Suitable for weddings, parties and corporate meetings or events - very versatile to suits all room layouts and requirements.

Prison Wine Bar

The perfect change of scene from the office, located downstairs this room used to be a prison and still has some of the original features including 2 cells. Private dining or small meetings up to 14/16 guests.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Rose 100 50 46 40 80
Prison Wine Bar 20 8 12 14 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 477 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 151
Rating: 4 189
Rating: 3 86
Rating: 2 33
Rating: 1 18
Rating

Family wedding

16/10/2017 jadeyshell, Kent, United Kingdom

I came to this hotel for a family wedding, free parking which is a plus, it’s no good for anyone over 5’7 as you’ll constantly bang your head. Food was mediocre. I have to say wedding was beautiful. N... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Thank you for posting a review, Low ceilings in some of our rooms are part of the hotel charm, but we have plenty of rooms with a modern feel and a standard ceiling height, so on another visit we can allocate one of those rooms for you. I am sorry the food was not to your liking, I will check when you stayed and look into this, we do offer a cash back facility at reception and Waitrose has a cash machine but only during opening hours. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards
Rating

Night away to see friends

15/10/2017 Chloé G,

My partner and I recently stayed here and we were in room 214. It was a very disappointing hotel room, especially for £80. It was a tiny box room which was very dated. There was a clock by the side o... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Hi Chloe, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with room 214, one of our superior rooms. The bathroom was fully renovated 2 years ago with modern additions, rainfall shower and eco lighting and the bedroom had lighting changed and was redecorated, I can only apologise that it was not what you expected. I have one superior room which is bigger, so if you return to Colchester please call direct and hopefully we can allocate this room for you. We do not have air conditioning but a fan is provided in all rooms and should have been in the wardrobe. I would like to opportunity to show you the true Rose & Crown hospitality on a future visit. best regards
Rating

Ivona

11/10/2017 ivonamichl,

The hotel staff is great send i really appreciate their help. ***** Everything else average. I was very surprised that during 7 nights of stay they didn't change the sheets. The bathroom - shower, is ... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Thank you for posting a review I have copied my reply from booking.com below. Dear Anon, Thank you for posting a review and I can only apologise about the bathroom and the sheets not being changed, we change sheets every 3rd day on stays unless the guests have asked not to. I will make sure you have the sheets changed as often you like and a pristine bathroom on your next visit. Best regards
Rating

Great staff

30/09/2017 EstherS17300, Princeville, Illinois

We arrived for our pre-booked (through an Internet site) 4-day stay to find that somehow the Internet site had cancelled our reservation, and the hotel was completely booked for a wedding over the wee... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Hi Esther, Thanks for posting the review, we like to think we can do magic sometimes. Hope to see you back in the UK again soon. Best regards
Rating

Fire!

24/09/2017 dk1610, City of London, United Kingdom

Very aesthetically pleasing from the outside and there is no disappointment when you enter. Old and charming with modernised rooms containing everything you need. We had a great stay with no complaint... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you understand the situation with fire alarms - we have one member of staff on duty overnight and he was liasing with and waiting for the fire brigade to give the all clear. I was deemed that a smoke detector had been tampered with - setting off the alarm. I thank you for your patience and understanding and assure you this is a very rare occurrence. best regards