Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel.

Comfort in Colchester.

The Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel is within walking distance of Colchester city centre. With a proud history of hospitality, it's the oldest recorded hotel in England's oldest recorded town!

That means you can look forward to a real oldy-worldy stay, with oak beamed walls, original chimneys and original small paned windows all adding to this 14th Century coaching inn-turned hotels appeal.

Colchester itself offers just as much character and charm, thanks to a rich history of Roman, Medieval and Victorian influences. You'll be near Constable Country too, which should give you an idea of the beautiful scenery and picturesque villages that will be on your doorstep!

View more

Location

East Street
Colchester
Essex
CO1 2TZ
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6185*
AA

Summary

2016 dinner inclusive rates offer a £25 per person à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Tony Porter

blank image

Oak Room

An oasis of contemporary style amidst the traditional charm of the hotel itself, our Oak Room offers casual dining.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
the-rose-and-crown-hotel-dining-10-83744

The Tudor Bar/Brasserie

The Tudor bar is friendly and cosy. In the winter you'll be able to sit around a roaring log fire, as you warm your cockles with a light lunch or a three course meal! At any time of year, our real Rose and Crown Ale goes down a treat!

Opening hours

Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Rose Room

This bar is open for functions only.

Golf

Lexden Golf Course

Course information

Course Type:
Location: Off Site
Holes: 0
Par:
Distance: 0 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3.00 miles away in Colchester

Prices

9 holes Yes

Weddings

The Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel is a historic and even more importantly, romantic place to celebrate your big day at. We're licensed for Civil Weddings and Civil partnerships, so you can enjoy the whole day with us.

the-rose-&-crown-hotel-wedding-events-03-83744the-rose-&-crown-hotel-wedding-events-03-83744

Wedding service and reception venue

There's lots of room for romance here, and whatever you want to do in terms of entertainment, we'll do our best to make it happen.

Catering

We offer three wedding packages: Standard, Premier and Deluxe. Whichever you choose, you'll enjoy a starter, main course and dessert.

Honeymoon Suite

With a four poster bed, our bridal suite is set in the older part of the hotel, renovated in 2016 with new bed, lighting and furniture. However, you'll be able to indulge in 21st Century comforts as well as 14th Century charm. This room will be our wedding present to you on your special occasion!

Registrar

Registry office:
Essex County Council
Stanwell House, Stanwell Street Colchester CO2 7DL
03456037632




For any enquiries please call Lisa Grantham on 01206 866677

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CO1 2TZ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J28, 40.00 miles
Nearest train station: Colchester Town & North, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (45 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
East Street
Colchester
Essex
CO1 2TZ
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Colchester United Stadium (2 miles)

  • Colchester Cricket ground (2 miles)

  • Ipswich Town (15 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Colchester Castle (0.8 miles)

  • Colchester Zoo (5 miles)

  • Firstsite (0.5 miles)

  • Layer Marney Towers (7 miles)

  • Constable Country Flatford and Dedham (8 miles)

Shopping

  • City Centre (0.7 miles)

  • Bluewater (55 miles)

  • Lakeside (38 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

the-rose-and-crown-hotel-meeting-space-04-83744

Our charming building is the perfect place to host an event. With large, airy rooms that have historic interest as well as cosy character, you and your guests can relax while you work.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Rose

Suitable for weddings, parties and corporate meetings or events - very versatile to suits all room layouts and requirements.

Prison Wine Bar

The perfect change of scene from the office, located downstairs this room used to be a prison and still has some of the original features including 2 cells. Private dining or small meetings up to 14/16 guests.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Rose 100 50 46 40 80
Prison Wine Bar 20 8 12 14 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 375 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 103
Rating: 4 153
Rating: 3 73
Rating: 2 29
Rating: 1 17
Rating

A wonderful surprise

24/08/2016 Peter F, Preston, United Kingdom

This is a historic building with more modern additions, full of character. I stayed there on business but was really surprised by the quality of the accomodation, the food and the excellent service fr... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
I am very pleased especially as you are a business guest that you have taken the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards
Rating

No air conditioning

16/08/2016 Diane M, Ohio Amish Country, Ohio

When we booked this room the site said it had air conditioning. There were a/c vents in the room but we couldn't figure how to turn it on. When we called down we found that it had been removed. Conse... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Hi Diane, Thank you for posting a review, I have just replied to your partners review on Booking.com. The AC was indeed removed when it became obsolete a few years ago and I removed all trace of if from the internet, or so I thought - it must have been removed since you booked as I can not find any trace now. The vents are the only physical trace left. Many apologies for this error I am pleased the fan helped a little, we only really have "AC weather" in the UK for about 6 weeks if we are lucky. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards
Rating

Lovely Sunday Lunch

15/08/2016 carol P, Colchester, United Kingdom

Visited here for sunday lunch. Every thing from start to finish spot on. Food lovely and hot, all freshly cooked, waiter very attentive. Lady on reception delightful. Will definitely return. Forgot t... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your review. We have run the £9.95 for 2 courses for a few months now, trying to get back to traditional Sunday Lunches - offered noon until 4pm. I hope to be able to add you to our regulars list. Take care and enjoy the rest of the summer. Best regards
Rating

Lovely Building with a few faults

04/08/2016 sparkey1angel2, essex

We arrived very late but was greeted by a very helpful gentlemen who showed us a short cut to our room. He also served us drinks in the bar and was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The ... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
I thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am glad the night porter stood out for you. I will check about the breakfast so this does not happen again. I hope to welcome you back again so we can show you the true Rose & Crown hospitality. best regards
Rating

Disappointing, but lovely receptionist

31/07/2016 Claire S, Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom

I was disappointed by my stay at this hotel. However before I continue, I would like to pay compliment to the lovely receptionist (Liz) who tried hard to rectify the issues. The hotel building is nice... more

Owner Response
RicardoSanta-Rita, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester, responded to this review
Hi Claire, I answer all social media reviews, good and bad and as I have already been in touch with you via the Medallia system I will just re-iterate the thanks for your patience in this situation and we have passed on your good words to Liz. I hope you will be able to use the free upgrade on any future visits. I look forward to showing you the true Rose & Crown hospitality. Best regards