Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon

101 Lake Shore Drive W, Ashland, Wisconsin, 54806-1646, United States
based on 798 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
rating TBC

Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon

Stay at this 100 non-smoking Ashland, Wisconsin hotel located right on the shore of Lake Superior and minutes from Northland College, WITC-Ashland Campus and Memorial Medical Center.   Welcome to the Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon in Ashland, Wis show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out15:00:00 | 11:00:00

Reviews of Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 798 reviews
Excellent 42%
Very Good 32%
Average 14%
Poor 6%
Terrible 3%
Rating

LoriPunky, wrote review 08/12/2019

Third and last visit to this place

My husband & I travel from Northern MN to Ashland the first weekend of December for his birthday. We love the community, shops, and restaurants. The ONLY PEOPLE I have met in Ashland who are rude incl... more

Owner Response
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review
Dear LoriKolden, I wanted to reach out to you personally to apologize for the conversation that we had on 12/8/19. Internet reservations can be a tricky thing, I apologize that you had a poor experience with a third party booking. In the future, I would recommend looking at any hotels brand website for more clarity and a better booking experience. I hope that this incident doesn't keep you from giving us another chance. Please feel free to reach out to me if you need any further assistance. Our direct line is 715-682-9095. Sincerely, Drew Carlson, General Manager
Rating

CatieF9, wrote review 18/11/2019

from December 2017

If management has changed since December 2017, please take into account. I HOPE my experience was just a fluke. The front desk clerk brushed me off when I asked about a USB connector to charge my pho... more

Owner Response
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review
Dear CatieF9, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At the time of your stay we were under renovation, and therefore quite a few of our amenities were unavailable. I am happy to let you know that since then we have completed the work! We now have a gorgeous new restaurant and bar, as well as fitness center for guests to enjoy. I apologize that you were put out, we consistently improve our property, with most work being done in the off season, in an effort to better serve all of our guests. I am sure that the front desk staff could have helped you locate a retailer for your electronic needs, I am sorry if they failed in this regard. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Sincerely, Drew Carlson, General Manager
Rating

troubled1, wrote review 17/11/2019

Nice Hotel

My wife and me stayed here over a recent weekend, And it is a nice hotel, I did notice the room numbers outside the room were old postal boxes.. an unique touch. I did notice that near the lobby the m... more

Owner Response
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review
Dear troubled1, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts about the Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique touches that make our property special. I apologize on behalf of the staff concerning where we fell short on exceeding your expectations. We are committed to providing our guests with superior customer care. I will use your feedback to ensure that we are able to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. Sincerely, Drew Carlson, General Manager
Rating

johndusenbery, wrote review 15/11/2019

Beautiful setting on the shore of Lake Superior

The hotel was built to model after the original Hotel Chequamegon back in the 1800's. The rooms are roomy but in need of some updating. The bar and grill on the lower level offer a great view over C... more

Owner Response
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review
Dear johndusenbery, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts about the Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed most your stay. Our newley remodeled and revamped bar and grill does indeed provide breathtaking lake superior views on their deck, and from inside. I apologize on behalf of the staff concerning where we fell short on exceeding your expectations. I will use your feedback to ensure that we are able to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. Sincerely, Drew Carlson, General Manager
Rating

834pb, wrote review 07/11/2019

Nice but needs some delayed maintenance

The hotel itself is beautiful at first glance. However, there were a lot of places where I saw maintenance was needed. Ceiling tiles in the hallways were out of place, curtains in our room had holes... more

Owner Response
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review
Dear P B, Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts about the Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed most your stay. I apologize on behalf of the staff concerning where we fell short on exceeding your expectations. We are committed to providing our guests with superior customer care. I will use your feedback to ensure that we are able to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future. Sincerely, Drew Carlson, General Manager