• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Queens Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Queens Hotel Dundee.

Stay at The Best Western Queens Hotel in Dundee to discover all this beautiful and historic city has to offer.

The Best Western Queens Hotel enjoys an enviable location, right in the heart of Dundee's vibrant West End culture quarter. (However, guests still benefit from free onsite parking, for ultimate convenience.) The West End quarter is home to the University of Dundee and the beautiful St Andrew's Cathedral, as well as an abundance of chic shops, bars and restaurants.

Once you're full up and shopped out, head to Dundee's beautiful coast to admire the Waterfront Gardens and the two world-famous wooden ships permanently docked there. The hotel is well placed for travel links, only 500 metres from the railway station and a short ten-minute taxi drive from Dundee Airport - perfect if you wish to go exploring or break up a journey with a rejuvenating night stay.

From your charming 19th century base, you'll be spoilt for choice in terms of tourism. Convenient train and motorway access leaves you so very close to several of Scotland's major cities - including St Andrews and Perth - as well as many rural beauty spots. Wherever you look, there'll be sights to see.

The Best Western Queens Hotel proves a truly charming place to stay in Dundee, as Scottish wit, humour and hospitality can all be enjoyed at the hotel. That said, the Best Western still offers the most relaxing of hotel stays, becoming the perfect place to return to for some good and hearty food after a busy day exploring

View more

Location

160 Nethergate
Dundee
Angus
DD1 4DU
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 034281

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

queens-hotel-dining-31-83495

Breakfast Room

Full Scottish breakfast offering cereals, fruit juices, fruit platter, ham and cheese platters and full cooked breakfast to order from kitchen.

blank image

QBAR

QBAR serves coffees, snacks, lunches, suppers and drinks from 7am until midnight every Monday to Saturday, so come and enjoy some fabulous Scottish cuisine.

Opening hours

07:00-20:30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Downfield

Travel just 3 miles away from the hotel and enjoy a game or two in fine Dundee parkland. Thanks to the excellent yet challenging quality of the Downfield course, it has been used for many professional and amateur events. The 18-hole course promises to offer you both a testing game, and the chance to spy much of Dundees wildlife, as squirrels, buzzards and deer are often seen gracing the parkland.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 7240 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in Turnbury Av Dundee

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £60.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £30.00
Driving Range £2.00

Carnoustie

Carnousite is well worth the 7-mile drive with 4 courses on offer, including an 18-hole championship course which has impressively hosted seven open championships. A junior course is also included on the grounds, with 6-holes for those a little less confident about their swing.

Course information

Course Type: Links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 7400 Yards
Handicap required

Location

7 miles away in Carnoustie

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £80.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £20.00
Buggy hire £30.00
Tuition £40.00
Driving Range £3.00

Weddings

We've looked after generations of happy couples for over 125 years. So, you'll be in safe hands (as well as delightful surroundings) when you choose the Best Western Queens Hotel as your wedding venue!

blank image

Wedding service and reception venue

Our magnificent and grand function rooms are in a class of their own, offering you a space that's almost as graceful and elegant as the bride herself.

Catering

3 course meals, finger buffets, hot and cold buffets you name it, we prepare it with love!

Honeymoon Suite

Our superior rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard and with a large king-size bed, seating area and bathroom with corner suite. They're the perfect place to spend your special night.

Registrar

Registry office:
Dundee
Commercial Street, Dundee
01382 435222




For all wedding enquiries contact Leah on 01382 322515

For any enquiries please call Leah Melville on 01382 322515

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DD1 4DU

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M90, J11, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: Dundee, 0.50 miles
Nearest airport: Dundee, 3.00 miles
Free parking on site (80 spaces)

Address
160 Nethergate
Dundee
Angus
DD1 4DU
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Dundee United FC (2 miles)

  • Dundee FC (2 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Discovery Boat (0.5 miles)

  • Verdant Works (1 miles)

  • Glamis Castle (30 miles)

  • Dundee Contemporary Arts (0.2 miles)

  • Science Sensation Centre (0.1 miles)

Shopping

  • Town Centre (0.2 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

queens-hotel-meeting-space-04-83495

Our fantastic central location is sure to tempt you into hiring our events rooms in Dundee, whilst our faultless service, catering and facilities will keep you returning time and time again. All of our function suites are light and airy, with spectacular National Trust Listed carved ceilings. Both day rates and 24-hour delegate rates (including dinner, bed and breakfast) are on offer to ensure you receive the perfect package for your event. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all areas of the hotel, so you'll never be out of touch.

MONTROSE ROOM
This spacious meeting room in Dundee is the biggest in the hotel, proving bright and airy, with plenty of natural daylight. The room boasts high ceilings and a classically elegant decor, making it ideal for dinner parties and meetings.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Montrose Room

A bright spacious function suite with high ceilings, ideal for dinner parties and meetings.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Montrose Room 140 40 40 40 80
Glamis Room 140 40 40 40 80
Airlie Room 20 12 10 15 15
Duncan Room 25 15 15 20 25
Victoria Suite 200 100 60 60 180
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 767 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 224
Rating: 4 280
Rating: 3 152
Rating: 2 61
Rating: 1 50
Rating

Beware of the nightclub!

12/08/2019 Laurapagin,

Loud music until midnight causing a migraine for myself. Missed the wedding i was meant to attend the next day.So dissapointed to say the least!!!! Staffs answer to problem when calling reception was ... more

Owner Response
Leah M, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review
Good morning Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbed sleep you had at the Queens on your recent visit. The hotel had a private party on in our function suites on the nights that you stayed and i am sorry that the music was too loud. This should have been dealt with better from the Duty Manager and the noise levels reduced. I appreciate your feedback and will pass this onto the team.
Rating

Husbands birthday meal

12/08/2019 Lorraine M, Dundee, United Kingdom

Well had a birthday meal for husbands 60th birthday from start to finish had the best night. Meals were beautiful. Big thank you to the staff julie Sam leah bar staff and waitress for all your help th... more

Owner Response
Leah M, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent visit to the Queens Hotel. I was pleased to read the positve comments and how much you enjoyed your evening, I will ensure this is passed onto the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Rating

Staying once again

09/08/2019 barbararuther4d, Fife, United Kingdom

Me and my husband are frequent visitors to Dundee and the Best Western is always our first choice of hotels. Leah and her team always make us feel welcome and assist you in whatever you request if po... more

Owner Response
Leah M, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Queens Hotel on your recent visit to Dundee and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. At the Queens, we strive as a team to provide superior levels of service to our guests and the team will be glad to know we made your time with us so memorable! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit, please contact myself on gm@queenshotel-dundee.com to make your next reservation.
Rating

Breakfast disappointing

09/08/2019 brecksmiller70, Mexborough, United Kingdom

The website states “Full Scottish breakfast offering cereals, fruit juices, fruit platter, ham and cheese platters and full cooked breakfast to order from kitchen.” Well the cooked offering is left h... more

Owner Response
Leah M, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Queens Hotel. At the hotel we offer a buffet breakfast service when we have high occupancy to allow us to provide a quicker service. We also have menus on the table which allows you to order Arbroath Smokies from the kitchen. I appreciate your feedback regarding Lorne sausage and potato scones and will look into offering these on our new breakfast menu when it is ready. I was pleased to read you had a comfortable stay with us and hope you will return to us on any future visits to Dundee.
Rating

Nice location shame about the food and service

07/08/2019 192garrys, Stirling, United Kingdom

Visited for a night with my wife as part of our tour of Scotland. Hotel is decent and rooms are comfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant is not. We booked the restaurant for a meal. We arrived 7... more

Owner Response
Leah M, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I would like to apologise for the service you received from the staff on duty on the 7th August this is certainly not the feedback I would expect about the team. We no longer have a restaurant at the hotel and serve all meals in the bar area, I am sorry if this was not what you expected. I have passed onto the kitchen your comments regarding the steak pie being too salty and we will ensure that this is rectified when preparing for future guests. The receptionist on duty should have dealt with your complaint at the desk in a professional mannor and I can see this was not the case, I aim to ensure this does not happen again. I received your review 1st thing this morning and came to the hotel at 7am to hopefully catch you before departure to apologise in person. I have managed the hotel for 20 years now and take great pride in my work and the service that is provided to the guests who stay with us at the hotel and i take all feedback very seriously and will ensure that training is given to the staff that were on duty to ensure that poor customer service does not happen again. I hope for an opportunity to welcome you back to provide the hotel experience many of our guests have come to trust us for. Should you wish to discuss this further I can be contacted on gm@queenshotel-dundee.com