Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Priory Hotel.

Be our guest in Bury St Edmunds.

Best Western Priory Hotel in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk is one of those rare and delightful discoveries; a privately owned and run hotel where the welcome is warm and personal, the standards high and the hospitality unique. A true oasis of calm, the hotel is ideal for business travellers seeking peace and quiet away from the office, while our Grade II listed building is the perfect place to spend a romantic weekend too. Landscaped gardens and old priory walls only add to the tranquil environment! With 1 AA rosettes for our food, free parking inside our walled grounds and excellent banqueting facilities, you'll want for nothing during your stay. And when you do visit, you'll see exactly why the hotel enjoys its reputation as a premier venue in East Anglia!

View more

Location

Mildenhall Road
Bury St. Edmunds
Suffolk
IP32 6EH
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6047*
AA

Summary

2016 dinner inclusive rates offer a £24 per person à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted Pets in garden rooms only. £10 per dog per night.
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Matthew Cooke

priory-hotel-dining-02-83266

Garden Restaurant

Our restaurant offers an exciting blend of British and European influenced cuisine. The menus demonstrate a technique, flair and imagination that regularly wins awards for culinary excellence!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07.00 - 09.30
Lunch: 12.00 - 14.00
Dinner: 19.00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary
priory-hotel-leisure-04-83266

Lounge Bar

Relaxing and casual, our lounge is the perfect place for a pint! We serve local beer from Greene King, so you can get a true taste of East Anglia.

Opening hours

10.00-00.30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Bury St Edmunds

Course information

Course Type:
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6675 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.2 miles away in Bury St Edmunds

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £40.00

Suffolk

Course information

Course Type:
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par:
Distance: 0 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in Bury St Edmunds

Facilities

Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £30.00

Weddings

Quietly hidden behind the historic walls of an old priory, our hotel is an idyllic venue for weddings. The standards of service are second to none too, so from the ceremony, menus, wines, flowers and photography to your departure from the hotel as a married couple, we'll take care of everything and everyone!

priory-hotel-wedding-events-02-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-04-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-05-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-08-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-09-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-10-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-11-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-12-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-13-83266priory-hotel-wedding-events-15-83266

Wedding service and reception venue

We can offer you exclusive use of the hotel! Just think, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, the whole hotel, its facilities, the grounds and every member of staff will be all yours!

Catering

Our Head Chef will be happy to discuss your menu requirements for your big day. All our menus are produced with the finest local produce and best quality ingredients!

Registrar

Registry office:
Bury St Edmunds
St Margarets, 7 The Churchyard, Suffolk, IP33 1RX
01284 741221




Complimentary Honeymoon Suite - for those celebrating their ceremony & reception with us.
Complimentary place cards & table plan
Complimentary anniversary dinner - when booked in conjunction with an overnight stay, at special reduced rates

For any enquiries please call Tracy Reader on 01284 766181

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP32 6EH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A14, J9, 0.50 miles
Nearest train station: Bury St Edmunds, 0.50 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 30.00 miles
Free parking on site (60 spaces)
On site disabled parking (4 spaces)

Address
Mildenhall Road
Bury St. Edmunds
Suffolk
IP32 6EH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Newmarket Racecourse (15 miles)

  • Snetterton Racing Track (18 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • St Edmundsbury Cathedral and Abbey Gardens (2 miles)

  • The Apex Theatre (2 miles)

  • Ickworth House National Trust (3 miles)

  • Greene King Brewery and Visitors Centre (2 miles)

  • Newmarket Horse Racing (15 miles)

Shopping

  • Bury St Edmunds (1.3 miles)

  • Cambridge (27 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

priory-hotel-meeting-space-07-83266

Our hotel provides an ideal getaway from the non-stop office life, and can accommodate a wide variety of corporate events including residential meetings, conferences, product launches and exhibitions. All of our meeting rooms have natural daylight, with several enjoying views of the gardens!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Babwell 24 10 10 10 12
Langton 70 30 26 26 50
Garden Restaurant 60 0 0 24 44
Conservatory 24 14 16 16 28
Terrace 24 14 16 18 28
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 342 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 96
Rating: 4 127
Rating: 3 70
Rating: 2 38
Rating: 1 12
Rating

Good hotel, and very good food.

24/05/2016 Phil6613, Shoreham-by-sea

Very friendly hotel staff will great you, and then give you directions to your room, which could involve leaving the main hotel. They have rooms in little blocks outside of the main hotel. They are fi... more

Rating

No WiFi no hot water this is 2016

08/05/2016 jhalesengland, england

We had a nice room but no WiFi and no hot water told the the reception and all they said was we will sort it out Monday THANKS . we have stopped at this hotel five times but maybe no more there was n... more

Owner Response
Kelly K, Owner at BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced issues during your stay. We are currently upgrading all of our wifi to superfast fibre as we speak. The engineers have been attending site for the last week. We have also asked that our maintenance team look at the water issue you experienced. We hope that you will revisit us again in the future.
Rating

Noisiest shower in Suffolk!

06/05/2016 robinanthony, Manchester, United Kingdom

We stayed here in room 14 for a friends wedding at neighbouring Hengrave Hall. The room was well equipped and had everything you would expect to find in a hotel of this class. The only problem was our... more

Owner Response
Kelly K, Owner at BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear about the issues you had with the shower. We have passed this on to our maintenance team to address these asap. We hope that you will return again in the future.
Rating

For a 3 star great

01/05/2016 Thomas K, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

Staff very pleasant and helpful, rooms spacious, we stopped in the garden rooms as we took our dog, rooms clean and tv has plenty of free channels, wifi is free and excellent signal, food from the res... more

Owner Response
Kelly K, Owner at BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As an independent Hotel we are delighted that our guests take the time to leave feedback as without this we would not be able to improve our standards on a day by day basis.
Rating

Bates Motel...

29/04/2016 ScullyFX, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding nearby and expected much better quality from the photos and description. Unfortunately our hotel room was very shabby and the bathroom was... more

Owner Response
Kelly K, Owner at BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Your feedback has been passed to our team so that the issues you mention can be addressed. We hope that you will revisit us again in teh future where hopefully we can restore some faith that you have lost.