Nice but excessively expensive hotel
16/08/2019 ianj507, St Ives, United Kingdom
Two days spent here in August - Had two different rooms, one was great whilst the second (so-called Family Room) was ridiculously small & no way appropriate for a family of 4. So small that bedside ca... more
Two days spent here in August - Had two different rooms, one was great whilst the second (so-called Family Room) was ridiculously small & no way appropriate for a family of 4. So small that bedside cabinets could not be opened due to being jammed-in beside the bed furthermore, only 1 person at a time could move about to avoid bumping into one another!
The hotel sells itself as a 'Hotel & Spa' but this is misleading in that guests have to pay €15 per person to use &, furthermore, children under 16 are not allowed access. To sell itself as a 'Hotel & Spa', I think the hotel should be more upfront in it's advertising to say that the spa is at an additional cost & not available to all. less
grand_monarque28, La réception at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review
Our team thank you for your two nights stay spent among us. We hope that despite your mixed feelings about the establishment, you had a pleasant time at the hotel but also in our beautiful city of Chartres.
We're quite disappointed that the second room you stayed in was not as convient as the first one you had. Indeed, the first one was a Suite, organised with a living room space and a bedroom part which is a quite large room. The second one, the Family room is proposed at a different rate and offer only one big space composed of a large bed and a sofa bed. Moreover, we've arranged this room for you thinking you would liked it since the bathroom was just renovated !
Next time, we advise you either to be in touch with our reception team so that we could advise you how to spend the best stay possible or to book in advance a Suite for the two nights and thus, avoid to change of room and of category of room as well.
Regarding the Spa, we remind you that the information about access rate and kids not allowed is available on our website, written in your room and at the front desk. Moreover, be sure that we always mention it at the check-in of our guests. We're re really disappointed that you were not aware about it and thus, such disappointed during your stay. The access is indeed non-included in the price of our rooms to leave our guests free to decide if they want to enjoy this service or not.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again and that the charm of our home and its different services proposed had allowed you yet to spend a nice moment in Le Grand Monarque.
We remind you that "Chartres en Lumières" light show will be on until 12 october this year :)
Our whole team wish you a beautiful week-end & remain at your disposal