Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel

Lower Mill Field, Pontypool, Monmouthshire, NP4 0XB, Wales
based on 466 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
VW Quality Award

Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel

Wish you were here in Wales?

Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel is full of Welsh wonderfulness and located on the outskirts of Pontypool, with great transport links close proximity to both Newport and Cardiff! You'll be close to the must-see sights, and just a short distance fro show more

Limited meals served from £8.50 each, available Mon - Thurs 7pm - 9pm. We are happy to cook outside these hours if requested.
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Electric Car Charge, Free WIFI, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

COVID Safety

We have taken extra steps to ensure your health and safety during your stay at our hotel. Click here for further details

Lower Mill Field, Pontypool, Monmouthshire, NP4 0XB, Wales
What 3 Words: ///animal.legend.successes

Restaurants & Bars

A hearty breakfast is imperative to keep you fuelled throughout the day. Our breakfast room will provide you with just that, as you can choose from our extensive breakfast options. Our hotel is close to many restaurants offering plenty of choice for lunch and dinner.

  • Breakfast Room
  • Lounge area with bottle bar

A hearty breakfast is imperative to keep you fuelled throughout the day. Our breakfast room will provide you with just that, as you can choose from our extensive breakfast options. Our hotel is close to many restaurants offering plenty of choice for lunch and dinner.

Breakfast Room

Continental breakfast: pastries; cereals; yoghurts; fruit; fruit juices; preserves, unlimited tea and coffee. Additional hot items: baked beans, scrambled eggs, bacon and boiled eggs. We also "proudly serve STARBUCKS"

Lounge area with bottle bar

The hotel bar serves a selection of bottled beers, great wines and spirits as well as a variety of snacks and crisps.

Opening hours
00:00-23:45
Weekend times may vary

Golf Off Site

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

Green Meadow Golf and Country Club

7 miles away in Cwmbran

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland Course

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6000 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes £12.00
18 holes £19.00
Trolley hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Driving Range Yes

Reviews of Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 466 reviews
Excellent 57%
Very Good 31%
Average 6%
Poor 2%
Terrible 2%
Rating

MaryEByb, wrote review 03/01/2022

I wouldn't stay here again

Staff were not helpful. Were sick and coughing and did not wear masks, despite posting signs saying masks were mandatory. Made excuses when we complained that the room had not been cleaned in 6 days... more

Owner Response
Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review on this site and booking.com, Masks are worn by all staff in public facing area's when not behind the protection screens (inline with government guidelines. We do enforce mask wearing and provide masks for those that do not have them, however we are also aware of reasons for people to be exempt which we have to allow. Your room was serviced on request as this was also advised on your check in by our Manager (due to Covid we limit how often we enter your room and therefore ask you to request when you require the room cleaned) at both times you asked your room was serviced. My staff will happily provide extra towels toiletries, tea and coffee items from reception when asked.
Rating

885robind, wrote review 11/10/2021

Brilliant highly recommend - would definitely stay again! Only stayed one night but was well worth the value for money!

Hotel was lovely and clean! The reception and cafe staff were polite and couldn’t help enough! Even the clean lady was polite and very smiley and happy! Value for money was well worth it and will sta... more

Owner Response
Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your great review
Rating

SEGVETS, wrote review 20/09/2021

amazing value for money

I arranged a motorcycle trip for a group of 12 friends to tour in the Brecon area. The Best Western offer of 3 nights B&B for the price of 2 was £104 in total. In the event, 3 of us decided to stay ... more

Owner Response
Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for the review of our hotel
Rating

13waynen, wrote review 13/09/2021

Not what i expected atall Not good value and Not pleasant

Firstly after reading most reviews on here i genuinely must have stayed at a different "hotel" because i have never been so sorry to hear my sat nav say "you have reached your destination" The setting... more

Owner Response
Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel, responded to this review
Thank You for your review of the hotel, we are listed as a Best Western Metro Hotel which is limited service hotel providing a bed and breakfast with convenience to south wales attractions. Our Breakfast is of the same standard you would get at an Holiday Inn Express property. It seems you was looking for more of an exclusive rural retreat with picturesque settings.
Rating

Don J, wrote review 05/09/2021

perfect overnight stop

We were just looking for an overnight stop, traveling from North Wales to the South coast and this came up as an option. Cheap, comfortable and clean with very helpful friendly staff. With lots of cov... more

Owner Response
Dean Sims, General Manager at Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for the wonderful review of the hotel