Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel.

Escape to an 18th Century Georgian manor house.

The BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel lies within walking distance of historic Retford itself. That makes it perfect for getting out and about, with Sherwood Forest and Lincoln also nearby!

Set in 5 acres of landscaped gardens however, you'd be forgiven for spending as much time as possible in and around the hotel. But if you do venture out, the warmest traditional Nottinghamshire hospitality will be waiting back at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel on your return.

Close to sporting, cultural and historic attractions, a stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel gives guests ample opportunity to explore the local area. Museums, abbeys and even wetlands are all within easy reach!

View more

Location

24 North Road
Retford
Nottinghamshire
DN22 7XG
England
AA

Summary

2015 dinner inclusive rates offer a £20 à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Paul Nash

west-retford-hotel-dining-06-83857

The Orangery

Our stunning contemporary Orangery Restaurant has the perfect ambience whether you are enjoying an intimate dinner for 2 or a larger family meal. Our sophisticated decor adds the touch of class, perfect for an entertaining evening with great food.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:30 - 10:00
Lunch: 12.00 - 14.30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary
west-retford-hotel-dining-13-83857

Chatsworth Bar

Our relaxed and informal bar/lounge area is ideal to sit and relax with friends, enjoy a coffee or choose from our extensive bar menu for a light bite.

Opening hours

12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Retford Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Woodland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6507 Yards
Handicap required

Location

3 miles away in Retford

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £34.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Weddings

Beautiful gardens and stunning Georgian architecture provide the perfect backdrop to weddings at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel.

west-retford-hotel-wedding-events-04-83857west-retford-hotel-bedrooms-02-83857west-retford-hotel-bedrooms-03-83857west-retford-hotel-dining-03-83857

Wedding service and reception venue

The suits won't be the only thing thats tailor made on your wedding day. Choose the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel and we'll come up with a package to suit your individual needs and budget! We can also offer a resident DJ for the evening, or you can bring in your own band or entertainment if you prefer.

Catering

We have a choice of menus to choose from, including alternatives to the traditional sit-down meal. Fancy an outdoor barbeque, or a hot pork roast carvery? Then be our guest!

Honeymoon Suite

If you're looking for the perfect way to end your perfect day, look no further than our Dukeries Suite. With a spacious lounge, 6ft four poster bed, large bathroom with mood lit bath, twin sinks, double walk-in shower and 2 plasma TVs, you will fall in love with this beautiful room.

Registrar

Registry office:
East Retford Register Office
East Retford Register Office County Council, Chanc
01777 708631




For any enquiries please call Elaine Williams on 01777 706333

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DN22 7XG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M1, J30, 12.00 miles
Nearest train station: Retford, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: Robin Hood Doncaster, 18.00 miles
Free parking on site (120 spaces)
On site disabled parking (4 spaces)

Address
24 North Road
Retford
Nottinghamshire
DN22 7XG
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Doncaster racecourse (16 miles)

  • Doncaster FC's Keepmoat Stadium (17 miles)

  • Trentbridge (32 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Clumber Park (9 miles)

  • Sherwood Forest (11 miles)

  • Lincoln Cathedral (20 miles)

  • Pilgrim Fathers (2 miles)

  • White Post Farm (15 miles)

Shopping

  • Meadowhall Shopping Centre (20 miles)

  • Doncaster Lakeside (15 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

west-retford-hotel-meeting-space-06-83857

Mainly suited to large conferences, some of which are residential, The BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel can cater for up to 200 delegates comfortably.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Grove

This suite is situated on the 1st floor of the hotel and is flooded with natural daylight on both sides. Overlooking the gardens to the rear and car park to the front.

Wi-Fi access enabled and fully air-conditioned makes this suite a great choice for a business conference.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Shelly 150 80 60 60 160
Grove 100 30 40 35 80
Welbeck 30 18 20 20 30
Rufford 35 18 20 20 30
Newstead 20 14 10 10 14
Thoresby 20 14 10 10 14
Lindrick 0 0 0 4 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 358 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 203
Rating: 4 94
Rating: 3 34
Rating: 2 16
Rating: 1 11
Rating

Overnight stay for Golf Competition and Ping factory tour.

27/08/2015 Alec O,

1st time staying in a Best Western, Booked an overnight stay as My Son was playing in a National Golf Final at Gainsborough GC. Hotel is Easy walking distance into Retford Town Centre. Has ample Par... more

Rating

Comfortable stop off A1

24/08/2015 Ann B, Ipswich, United Kingdom

Clean, reasonable sized room, comfortable bed and good bathroom. Room quiet as requested, but a little gloomy with dim lighting. Main door to building that houses accomodation had a security lock but... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ann, thank you for your review and I'm pleased you were happy with your bedroom and facilities. Unfortunately smoking guests tend to leave the door open from time to time, however we do have a night porter from 11.00pm - 7.00am and one of his jobs is ensure the door is locked after hours. This door is also covered by our CCTV. I hope you will use the hotel again in the near future. regards, Andrew.
Rating

A Gem of a Hotel

24/08/2015 Vivaldi44, Blandford Forum

Myself, a colleague and our client, singer Bryony Purdue were in Retford for three days as we were recording Bryony's debut album with notable composer John Macfall. We stayed at this Best Western Pl... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your detailed review and I'm pleased you all had an enjoyable stay. We would love to welcome you back in the near future. regards, Andrew
Rating

Mr

17/08/2015 Chris P,

Apart from the front of house not acknowledging us as we walk into hotel the service was good and the food was great. Would eat here again. You would never think you are in a town when eating in the g... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Chris, thank you for your review and nice comments. I do apologise for the lack of acknowledgement upon your arrival, it is something I am looking into. I do hope we will see you again soon. regards, Andrew.
Rating

Very disappointed

12/08/2015 Anne W, Retford, United Kingdom

Knowing that the Best Western had served afternoon tea in previous years I telephoned to ask if it was available this year. I asked if i was required to book and was advised that although it was best ... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ann, thank you for your review and comments. Our cream tea is advertised as 2 home made scones with jam and clotted cream, along with tea or coffee which is served at your table. This is priced at £5.95. A cream tea is meant as more of a snack than a main meal to fill you. If you were particularly hungry you could have opted for our afternoon tea which is comprised of a selection of finger sandwiches, scones and an assortment of cakes. This is priced at £10.95 per person. If you decide to try our afternoon tea in the future please email me directly at a.lavin@westretfordhotel.co.uk and I will be happy to offer you a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. regards, Andrew