Hoe standards have dropped
01/09/2017 David H, Watford, United Kingdom
Have stayed at this hotel before nearly two years ago. What a shame. The standards have dropped considerably. The menu in the restaurant has NOT changed. The staff were slightly sour and either overwo... more
Have stayed at this hotel before nearly two years ago. What a shame. The standards have dropped considerably. The menu in the restaurant has NOT changed. The staff were slightly sour and either overworked or just didn't care. The rooms were tired and not as comfortable as before. Overall experience was disappointing.
Heated towel rail in bathroom states 'Beware Very Hot', rubbish. They were never on so we had damp towels every day. Rooms were dark. At the buffet breakfast we had NO fried eggs. They had to be ordered separately perhaps 24 hours before. Staff were surly and rude. Hotel was obviously catering for the wedding trade (can't blame them for that), one on the Friday, Saturday and the Bank Holiday Monday but to the detriment or Best Western regular users of their Hotels. Could not use the thousands of Good Will points we have gained on using other Best Western Hotels.
We will not be staying in Retford again and am considering whether other Best Western Hotels have gone the same way. Always found Best Western to be 'Good Value for Money' , not cheap but good value. Not any more . Sorry. less
Andrew L, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and feedback, I'm sorry if you felt your stay was not as good as the last time you stayed with us. We are constantly refurbishing rooms and have some excellent feedback about them, it would be most useful if you had put your room number as I don't believe we have any tired rooms. We have two types of towel radiators and both of these come on with a timer, some of these can be adjusted by guests but again as you haven't given the room number I can't comment, obviously they should be working at certain times of the day and could have been fixed if you had reported it during stay. The sign is obviously to warn people when the radiator is actually turned on.
I'm assuming you had buffet style breakfast which we offer when the hotel is extra busy and offer scrambled eggs, fried eggs can be ordered but we do not need 24 hours notice, I'm assuming a communication issue with your waiter.
As with a lot of hotels the wedding market something we look to capture but I do not agree it's at the detriment of our other customers although admittedly it can be busier which can sometimes mean a slower service than if there was no wedding.
We are a family owned and run business for the last 12 years and have consistently increased the scores in our yearly AA inspection. I believe we offer a fantastic product which represent value for money. I'm sure if you did stay with us again we would meet with your expectations.