Worst hotel I have every stayed in
I hope that this review does not come across as snobby. But I honestly can’t think of a stay in any hotel that was worse than this. Firstly, and not importantly, the decor of the hotel was very outdat... more
I hope that this review does not come across as snobby. But I honestly can’t think of a stay in any hotel that was worse than this. Firstly, and not importantly, the decor of the hotel was very outdated and made the whole place feel dirty and depressing. The bedroom decor was mostly velvet with a 60 year old carpet that came with its own impressive odour. This was improved by the fact that it was about 30 degrees Celsius in my room for the whole stay because the radiator was left on for the day before I turned up.
The dining area felt like i was waiting for a bus, with all the guests sitting in a row and staring at the walls. The food was inedible and even the wine couldn’t help.
Over night I felt extremely unsafe, which I guess wasn’t the fault of the hotel. The guests next to me unfortunately were
‘Awkae’... until about 3 in the morning. There was a steady stream of people going in and out of the room to be ‘awake’ together. Not quite my style, but each to their own - I just ask it be finished early enough for my beauty sleep.
Overall - terrible stay, hated it at the time, was searching for other hotels in the area and I actually stayed in work an extra hour to prevent me from having to go back to my room. I will never stay at a best western again but looking back it is hilarious. less
Customer Service Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your second review on TripAdvisor, I'm not sure why you chose to stay at the West Retford which is a former English Manor House, as such it is decorated in keeping with the style of the building. Many of our guests appreciate this and we will continue to refurbish being mindful of this.
You stayed in an Executive Room where the carpet is just over 1 year old, I do wish people would be factual when posting comments, we don't have any "60 year old" carpets anywhere in the hotel. I'm pleased the room was nice and warm for you.
Unfortunately we can not select our guests and as such we have customers from all walks of life, some goto bed early and some stay awake until the small hours. I note we've not had any complaint from your stay either during or after. Perhaps next time you have an issue in another hotel, notifying someone could help improve your stay instead of posting on TripAdvisor where all you are doing is hurting an industry that is already suffering massively due to Covid-19