Good stopover, would go again
14/11/2015 464JudyLea464, Maldon, United Kingdom
What I particularly liked about this place were the helpful staff, and the cared for appearance with plenty of fresh decoration. We asked for a quiet room which we thought might be difficult on a Frid... more
What I particularly liked about this place were the helpful staff, and the cared for appearance with plenty of fresh decoration. We asked for a quiet room which we thought might be difficult on a Friday, but heard not a peep all night as we were in the bedroom wing about 40 yards from the front door, and our room was thoughtfully placed at the far end. This despite the fact the ballroom in the main building was full of different groups enjoying a 'Strictly' murder mystery night.
At breakfast an elderly lady at the next table was feeling unwell and the staff could not have been more considerate. The night before we tried to find a restaurant in town but the only one we fancied was full so came back to the hotel and were very pleasantly surprised at the flexible choice of menus and standard of food - sea bream and excellent chips were cosily enjoyed in the bar lounge, whilst breakfast was in the modern airy orangery for a change of ambience.
Apart from the bedroom wing corridor all seemed freshly decorated, including the main building, and our room was freshly and simply furnished with certain elegant touches.
If one had to be picky, the lock to the bedroom wing was difficult to use and easily stuck, and the corridor needed redecorating, and our shower drain needed a clear out to cope with the amount of water from the shower, which I reported as how else are they going to find out? Fortunately we didn't need the room tv as reception was poor, and wifi was good and free. less
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
thank you for taking the time to complete a review and for your comments regarding the staff, accommodation and food. We are in the process of replacing the lock on the accommodation and maintenance have cleared the blockage in the drain, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I have checked the TV in the room and have been unable to find a fault. However, I did notice that on several channels that do not transmit 24hrs such as BBC3 a "NO SIGNAL" message is displayed, this is not because the TV has poor reception but again thank you for pointing this out.