Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

24 North Road, Retford, Nottinghamshire, DN22 7XG, England
based on 829 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel.

Escape to an 18th Century Georgian manor house.

The Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel lies within walking distance of historic Retford itself. That makes it perfect for getting out and about, with Sherwood Forest and Lincoln also nearby
show more

Breakfast is pre-plated cooked and delivered to guest room
COVID 19 - Hotel is only open for guests travelling for work or authorised purposes. Evidence may be requested on arrival or during pre-registration.
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00
24 North Road, Retford, Nottinghamshire, DN22 7XG, England
What 3 Words: hooked.acute.froth

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • The Orangery
  • Chatsworth Bar

The Orangery

Our stunning contemporary Orangery Restaurant has the perfect ambience whether you are enjoying an intimate dinner for 2 or a larger family meal. Our sophisticated decor adds the touch of class, perfect for an entertaining evening with great food.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 06:30 - 09:30
Lunch: 12.00 - 14.30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary

Chatsworth Bar

Our relaxed and informal bar/lounge area is ideal to sit and relax with friends, enjoy a coffee or choose from our extensive bar menu for a light bite.

Opening hours
12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Beautiful gardens and stunning Georgian architecture provide the perfect backdrop to weddings at the Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Elaine Williams on 01777 706333

Wedding service and reception venue

The suits won't be the only thing thats tailor made on your wedding day. Choose the Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel and we'll come up with a package to suit your individual needs and budget! We can also offer a resident DJ for the evening, or you can bring in your own band or entertainment if you prefer.

Catering

We have a choice of menus to choose from, including alternatives to the traditional sit-down meal. Fancy an outdoor barbeque, or a hot pork roast carvery? Then be our guest!

Honeymoon Suite

If you're looking for the perfect way to end your perfect day, look no further than our Dukeries Suite. With a spacious lounge, 6ft four poster bed, large bathroom with mood lit bath, twin sinks, double walk-in shower and 2 plasma TVs, you will fall in love with this beautiful room.

Registrar

Registry office:
East Retford Register Office
East Retford Register Office County Council, Chanc
01777 708631

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

Retford Golf Club

3 miles away in Retford

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Woodland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6507 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

18 holes £34.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Meetings & Events

Mainly suited to large conferences, some of which are residential, The Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel can cater for up to 200 delegates comfortably.

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Mainly suited to large conferences, some of which are residential, The Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel can cater for up to 200 delegates comfortably.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Shelly 150 80 60 60 160
Grove 100 30 40 35 80
Welbeck 30 18 20 20 30
Rufford 35 18 20 20 30
Thoresby 20 14 10 10 14
Lindrick 0 0 0 4 0

Reviews of Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 829 reviews
Excellent 52%
Very Good 28%
Average 11%
Poor 4%
Terrible 2%
Rating

ianandsuemcgill, wrote review 31/03/2021

Good in Covid times

Just stayed there for 2nights while attending a family funeral. COVID set up was good . Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Food was really good and served in the room, as were any drink require... more

Rating

meg1Scotland, wrote review 22/03/2021

Brilliant staff nothing was too much trouble

Food delivered to room was hot and very good only couple of little quibbles one set cutlery short and no preserves with breakfast. Room was nice also warm but don’t think we had a king size bed or we ... more

Rating

ppboyle, wrote review 01/03/2021

Brilliant COVID Set Up

Just stayed there for 10 nights while I was working night shift in the area, COVID Set up was brilliant, really good staff, nothing too much trouble “will be back” if in the area again. Food was real... more

Rating

Hatina, wrote review 06/11/2020

Delightful!

We stayed here the last weekend before lockdown no.2 and had a wonderful time. We booked a 'King'/Feature room and it was perfect, positioned in the Georgian building to the left of the main house a... more

Rating

538catrinw, wrote review 27/10/2020

Worst hotel I have every stayed in

I hope that this review does not come across as snobby. But I honestly can’t think of a stay in any hotel that was worse than this. Firstly, and not importantly, the decor of the hotel was very outdat... more

Owner Response
Customer Service Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your second review on TripAdvisor, I'm not sure why you chose to stay at the West Retford which is a former English Manor House, as such it is decorated in keeping with the style of the building. Many of our guests appreciate this and we will continue to refurbish being mindful of this. You stayed in an Executive Room where the carpet is just over 1 year old, I do wish people would be factual when posting comments, we don't have any "60 year old" carpets anywhere in the hotel. I'm pleased the room was nice and warm for you. Unfortunately we can not select our guests and as such we have customers from all walks of life, some goto bed early and some stay awake until the small hours. I note we've not had any complaint from your stay either during or after. Perhaps next time you have an issue in another hotel, notifying someone could help improve your stay instead of posting on TripAdvisor where all you are doing is hurting an industry that is already suffering massively due to Covid-19 Thank you.