Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel.

Escape to an 18th Century Georgian manor house.

The BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel lies within walking distance of historic Retford itself. That makes it perfect for getting out and about, with Sherwood Forest and Lincoln also nearby!

Set in 5 acres of landscaped gardens however, you'd be forgiven for spending as much time as possible in and around the hotel. But if you do venture out, the warmest traditional Nottinghamshire hospitality will be waiting back at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel on your return.

Close to sporting, cultural and historic attractions, a stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel gives guests ample opportunity to explore the local area. Museums, abbeys and even wetlands are all within easy reach!

View more


24 North Road
DN22 7XG


2015 dinner inclusive rates offer a £20 à la carte allowance Hotel restaurant closed New Years Eve
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Chef Paul Nash


The Orangery

Our stunning contemporary Orangery Restaurant has the perfect ambience whether you are enjoying an intimate dinner for 2 or a larger family meal. Our sophisticated decor adds the touch of class, perfect for an entertaining evening with great food.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:30 - 10:00
Lunch: 12.00 - 14.30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21.30
Weekend times may vary

Chatsworth Bar

Our relaxed and informal bar/lounge area is ideal to sit and relax with friends, enjoy a coffee or choose from our extensive bar menu for a light bite.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Retford Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Woodland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6507 Yards
Handicap required


3 miles away in Retford


Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
18 holes £34.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes


Beautiful gardens and stunning Georgian architecture provide the perfect backdrop to weddings at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel.


Wedding service and reception venue

The suits won't be the only thing thats tailor made on your wedding day. Choose the BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel and we'll come up with a package to suit your individual needs and budget! We can also offer a resident DJ for the evening, or you can bring in your own band or entertainment if you prefer.


We have a choice of menus to choose from, including alternatives to the traditional sit-down meal. Fancy an outdoor barbeque, or a hot pork roast carvery? Then be our guest!

Honeymoon Suite

If you're looking for the perfect way to end your perfect day, look no further than our Dukeries Suite. With a spacious lounge, 6ft four poster bed, large bathroom with mood lit bath, twin sinks, double walk-in shower and 2 plasma TVs, you will fall in love with this beautiful room.


Registry office:
East Retford Register Office
East Retford Register Office County Council, Chanc
01777 708631

For any enquiries please call Elaine Williams on 01777 706333

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DN22 7XG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M1, J30, 12.00 miles
Nearest train station: Retford, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: Robin Hood Doncaster, 18.00 miles
Free parking on site (120 spaces)
On site disabled parking (4 spaces)

24 North Road
DN22 7XG

What's nearby?


  • Doncaster racecourse (16 miles)

  • Doncaster FC's Keepmoat Stadium (17 miles)

  • Trentbridge (32 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Clumber Park (9 miles)

  • Sherwood Forest (11 miles)

  • Lincoln Cathedral (20 miles)

  • Pilgrim Fathers (2 miles)

  • White Post Farm (15 miles)


  • Meadowhall Shopping Centre (20 miles)

  • Doncaster Lakeside (15 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events


Mainly suited to large conferences, some of which are residential, The BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel can cater for up to 200 delegates comfortably.

Available room set ups

U shape


This suite is situated on the 1st floor of the hotel and is flooded with natural daylight on both sides. Overlooking the gardens to the rear and car park to the front.

Wi-Fi access enabled and fully air-conditioned makes this suite a great choice for a business conference.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Shelly 150 80 60 60 160
Grove 100 30 40 35 80
Welbeck 30 18 20 20 30
Rufford 35 18 20 20 30
Newstead 20 14 10 10 14
Thoresby 20 14 10 10 14
Lindrick 0 0 0 4 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 391 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 218
Rating: 4 107
Rating: 3 37
Rating: 2 18
Rating: 1 11

Murder Mystery Evening

23/11/2015 Elaine W, Nottingham, England, United Kingdom

Recently booked a table of 14 onto the hotels Murder Mystery Night, What a fab night we all thoroughly enjoyed the night The food was excellent the service was slick the entertainment was spot on al... more


Best Western Retford

15/11/2015 Eric B, Findon, United Kingdom

Good stay and good value for money. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and the breakfast was excellent and comprehensive with Kippers and Smoked Haddock on the menu. The rooms were comfortable an... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Eric B, thank you for your review and comments regarding the hotel, staff and facilities. I do hope we will see you again when you are next in the area. regards, Andrew.

Five star fantastic romantic weekend

15/11/2015 Holly_Day038, England

Returning after several years and better than we remembered, we stayed in one of the cottages with a four poster bed and roll top bath in the bedroom.AMAZING! Loved it, room was immaculate, en-suite ... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Holly_Day038, thank you for lovely review and comments. I'm pleased we met your expectations during your stay and you recognised the hard work that has recently been carried out. As you enjoyed your room I think you will appreciate some of the rooms at our sister hotel, Aston Hall located just off J31 of the M1. We look forward to welcoming you again at either of our hotels. regards, Andrew.

Good stopover, would go again

14/11/2015 464JudyLea464, Maldon, United Kingdom

What I particularly liked about this place were the helpful staff, and the cared for appearance with plenty of fresh decoration. We asked for a quiet room which we thought might be difficult on a Frid... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 464JudyLea464, thank you for taking the time to complete a review and for your comments regarding the staff, accommodation and food. We are in the process of replacing the lock on the accommodation and maintenance have cleared the blockage in the drain, thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have checked the TV in the room and have been unable to find a fault. However, I did notice that on several channels that do not transmit 24hrs such as BBC3 a "NO SIGNAL" message is displayed, this is not because the TV has poor reception but again thank you for pointing this out. regards, Andrew.

over rated

03/11/2015 SteveGrimes56, North Wales, Pennsylvania

I stayed here as my normal hotel was full, bad move. considering this is a BW plus, i have to say I have stayed in far better BW standards, and in this area too. The room i was given ( considering i ... more

Owner Response
West_Retford_Hotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review
Dear SteveGrimes56, thank you for your review and feedback. I have checked your reservation and the room you stayed in. Room 22 is due for an upgrade and while the room is clean and tidy I recognise that some of your points such as the room light switch, shower tray etc are valid. Due to the fact the hotel was busy we were unable to upgrade you to one of our newly refurbished room. Wifi at the hotel is BT fibre and most of our guests are happy with the connection and speed, however when the hotel is full we can not guarantee lag free use. Applications such as facetime, streaming meadia etc can be affected at certain times. When a guest decides to pay for extras such as food and drink a signature is required, this procedure is common place in most hotels and helps resolves any disputes at checkout. The alternative choice is to to pay cash for extras. Please be assured I have looked into all your points and I do apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Should you wish to stay with us again please contact me directly and I will ensure that you receive a newly refurbished executive at a discounted rate, I am 100% certain we would me your expectations. regards, Andrew.