13/07/2018 Charlee W,
I booked this hotel based on the reviews from yelp and TA. Upon arrival, we were greeted by front desk clerk Nicole. While completing the necessary paperwork, I asked if the parking lot was safe (as... more
I booked this hotel based on the reviews from yelp and TA. Upon arrival, we were greeted by front desk clerk Nicole. While completing the necessary paperwork, I asked if the parking lot was safe (as we recently had our vehicle broken into in a hotel parking lot in Houston). Nicole’s reply was “I don’t know- I don’t park here, just park out front.” My husband and I venture with all of our luggage to our assigned room only to find the temperature in the hallway and smell offensive.Wait, it gets worse. The room smelled like Raid bug spray and the tub had dried yellow droplet stains in it. We came to the conclusion that this was not a suitable establishment to spend the night in. Here’s where things get unacceptable- Nicole informs me she won’t refund my money as I won’t accept another room. I became frustrated and didn’t act as professionally as I should have and for that I apologize, but she wouldn’t listen to the reasons we couldn’t stay. She became increasingly hostile until her co-worker explained that she could just undo the check in. It’s not like I wanted to cancel the hotel reservation-I now don’t have anywhere to spend the night. But the hotel room is dirty and it smells. The one good encounter here was Nicole’s co-worker who made the situation okay. Because of that co-worker I will consider staying at an alternate Best Western Plus in the future instead of writing off the whole corporation based on the actions of Nicole and the level of cleanliness of this hotel. less
Robin D, General Manager at Best Western Plus University Inn & Suites, responded to this review
I am sorry about the issues you had with the hallway smell and room, the only thing I can think of is we did have the hotel treated that Friday for pest control, we do this on a monthly basis but usually there is not much smell associated with it. I did speak to Nicole and she said she was trying to explain about not being able to refund you any money since nothing was charged. Upon check in when we hit the check in button, the system will automatically place a hold on the money for your stay, it is just a hold or an authorization and nothing is actually charged until you check out, and by offering you a different room, she was trying to take care of you so you would not have to drive any further. Either way I am truly sorry for the way things happened and turned out, I will make sure to address housekeeping and the front desk on procedures. Again I do apologize and I hope you will chose a Best Western while traveling, each hotel is individually owned and operated.