Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

400 E 2nd Avenue, Durango, Colorado, 81301-5602, United States
based on 1110 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Welcome to the Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn! Located 1.5 blocks from historic downtown Durango, you will find the Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, a plethora of local restaurants and nightlife, stunning art galleries, and unique shopping. show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out15:00:00 | 11:00:00
400 E 2nd Avenue, Durango, Colorado, 81301-5602, United States

Reviews of Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 1110 reviews
Excellent 49%
Very Good 28%
Average 13%
Poor 5%
Terrible 3%
Rating

rh0ndawils0n, wrote review 12/04/2021

great service, well appointed rooms and 2 blocks from main street

We greatly enjoyed our experience at this property. The rooms are well appointed and cozy. The staff was extremely friendly. It was 2 blocks from Main Street. They do offer breakfast with the room. We... more

Owner Response
Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Rhonda, we always appreciate feedback. We will look forward to your next visit to Durango!
Rating

tacobird11, wrote review 05/04/2021

Rude front desk manager

Jarrod Judge, front desk manager was very rude upon check in. We were put in a room which was supposed to be out of service due to huge hole in wall, lights not working ect. We were told prior to arri... more

Owner Response
Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review
We are sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay. ESA laws do not apply to hotels, they allow you to fly with you pet for free, and they allow you to rent without being discriminated against. Dogs whose sole function is to provide comfort or emotional support do not qualify as service animals under the ADA. We are a pet friendly hotel and are proud to have you bring your pet to stay with us, but if it is not a Service Animal then your pet must follow the same rules as all the other pets in the building, which includes a $20 nightly pet fee. This was taken right from the certapet.com website, a website that offers consultations for getting Emotional Support Animal Letters. Public Access: Emotional Support Laws Don’t Apply to Hotels Service animals have a right to public access, meaning that most hotels will accommodate them. This does not hold up for therapy animals and, unfortunately, an ESA's legal rights end at flying and renting accommodation. They do not have a legal right to public access. As hotels are public places, a hotel is not legally obligated to allow any types of animals to stay with them.
Rating

Jeff H, wrote review 28/03/2021

Disappointing hotel

We had to check out after one night and cut our trip short. The hotel and room was very dirty. The staff seemed bothered with any requests. The pool area didn’t have any towels. The TV and some room l... more

Owner Response
Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Rating

lalamariet, wrote review 20/03/2021

Great location!

First off I want to say we love the fact you can just walk to the train station from here that makes it nice. We have stayed at this hotel all four times we have rode the train. It’s always been a lit... more

Owner Response
Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review
Thank you lalamariet, for your feedback. We understand the frustration with the breakfast, it has been a rollercoaster. We do have plans to have a better breakfast with hot food options in less than 30 days, so hopefully by the time you and your family decide to visit Durango again we will be able to better accommodate you. If there is anything I can do for you the next time you are visiting, please don't hesitate to ask.
Rating

wheinz2021, wrote review 11/03/2021

Great location, value, and appropriately comfortable for the price

There are more modern facilities in downtown Durango...and there are historic hotels...but for the price you pay at Best Western you get good value and comfortable beds. Unless you are a hotel snob, t... more

Owner Response
Jarrod Judge, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for the review wheinz2021! We always appreciate feedback. We know we aren't currently offering all of our amenities, but in the next 30 days, that should all change, so we hope you consider staying with us again next time you visit Durango, so you can enjoy our hot breakfast, and happy hour drinks!