Won’t Be Back
12/08/2018 jessicamountenay, Peterborough, Canada
My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as we were in town for a friends wedding. Everything was going smoothly until the second day (a Saturday). We ordered room service for lunch as we ... more
My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as we were in town for a friends wedding. Everything was going smoothly until the second day (a Saturday). We ordered room service for lunch as we were getting ready for the wedding. My partner ordered a burger and after eating half of it, took the bun off and found a fake diamond that probably came from an earring or a necklace. We called the restaurant and asked for the burger to be taken off of our receipt - I was told they would call the room back in a few minutes but they never did. We had to ask the lady at the front desk to reconcile our bill when we were checking out the next day. They did take the charge off of the bill, but not one person apologized for the incident. The other issue we had was that we were on the ground level and there was some type of event in the conference rooms below us in the basement on Saturday night. We could hear people on microphones until 3:00 in the morning which didn’t allow us to have a good sleep. The rooms are not very sound proof for this. I’m sure if we were on a higher floor, we wouldn’t have been bothered. The swimming pool was located right outside of our room and we could smell cigarette smoke most of the night. I’m not sure if people were smoking by the pool or inside the hotel, but it definitely smelled gross. The staff were nice at the front desk and the room was in okay condition, but I will definitely look for another hotel the next time I’m in Ottawa and I will let friends/family know about our experience. less
Niran A, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review
On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologize for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. I am truly disappointed to hear that we were not able to address the issue with your food order when it was first brought to our attention. I am also surprised to learn that people were using the microphone till 3AM which understandably disrupted your sleep. I will certainly follow up on your feed back to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking with the exception of 3 designated areas which are clearly marked and pool is not one of them. Regrettably we occasionally have individuals who ignore these by-laws and smoke anywhere they find it convenient. When ever we see anyone smoking in a non-designated area, we would redirect them to the appropriate spot. We take pride in delivering a superior experience for our guests and regret that we weren't able to do so in your case. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves so that we can provide you with superior hospitality and a comfortable stay which we are well known for.