Poor standard hotel - staff were its only saving grace
21/06/2017 ElaineDub5, Dublin, Ireland
I stayed one night in the Linton Lodge in June 2017. My main gripe would be that the hotel was totally ill equipped to deal with the unseasonal hot weather but it's also a bit dated. The rooms have ... more
I stayed one night in the Linton Lodge in June 2017. My main gripe would be that the hotel was totally ill equipped to deal with the unseasonal hot weather but it's also a bit dated. The rooms have no air conditioning which the staff said usually is not a problem but when it hits over 30 degrees outside then it is a problem. The room was so uncomfortable due to how hot it was that it was necessary to take a cold shower in the middle of the night to cool down. The linen even felt like a polyester mix rather than cotton. The rooms also have carpet - I can honestly say I haven't stayed in a hotel room with carpet in close to a decade. My room stayed disgustingly hot even when the temerature outside started to cool as the windows faced a small laneway and was surrounded by other buildings. I was also charged £50 for an early check-in which seemed it was 50% of a full night stay so that felt llike I was being totally ripped off. I don't mind paying for an early check-in but I've never been charged anything like 50% of the room rate before. The hotel is a bit dated. The only good thing was the staff. They were all very pleasant and polite, and had the good grace to feel embarrassed that the hotel was so poorly equipped to deal with the hot weather. less
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, which coincided with the hottest weather conditions for some 40 years. Whist this was very welcome during the day, it was uncomfortable for all at night. As with the majority of old historical traditional hotels in Oxford, and indeed the rest of the UK, we do not have, or advertise as having, air conditioning for the very limited time that this would be useful here, but we do provide fans in all of our rooms.
At this time of year we operate at capacity every day and we only ever charge for exceptionally early check ins which was the case here. We always advice guests who wish to arrive very early, and wish to access their bedroom, to book for the night prior which many do willingly.
The hotel has undergone a major refurbishment over the past 3 years, including all of our bedrooms, and in common with most midscale hotels in the UK we have installed high quality carpets throughout and our bed linen is very good cotton.
We have liaised with the Conference Organiser who has said that apart from the heat there were no other issues reported from the delegates regarding their stay with us.
I thank you for the very kind comments regarding the team which I will pass on to them