My family just returned from a ski trip during our New Year break. We usually stay at the Courtyard in Kingston. We never had nothing but positive experience at Courtyard and never a bad night's sleep. Upon checking out Best Western's website and seeing the advertising about their "Multi-million dollar renovation", I decided to give it a try because it is just a tad closer to the ski resort we were going to.
Boy, were we in for a shock! After we walked into the adjacent rooms connected by a door that we requested, the first impression was nice. Rooms were clean and modern. Then we opened the curtains. The windows were facing a large indoor courtyard where the pool and arcade were located. There was no sunlight and we couldn’t really open the curtain due to privacy issue. But no biggie, not really a deal breaker. The heater in one of the rooms was not working, but maintenance came to fix quickly after I informed the front desk, no biggie. One of our rooms had another door open to the next room which were not ours. The dry wall edge around the door was not finished and was exposed. It was kind of strange, but no big deal.
Our first shock happened when we walked into the bathroom. They were not remodeled like the rest of the bedrooms. They must be the original bathrooms from the 80's. The shower fixtures were broken and we could see a hole through the wall. The grout line was grey and cracked in some places. The shower head did not fully work. The tub stop was broken. When my wife drew a bath from the working tub, the water came out yellow and left a layer of sand on the bottom. Still, we stayed the first night because there was nothing the management could probably do.
Now, this is what really, really ticked me off! The second night, the New Year’s eve, we went to bed around 9:30 PM so we could leave early to ski. I noticed a lot of noise from the courtyard. People were playing in the pool, playing air hockey, blowing the paper horn right outside our windows. I called the front desk and asked when the pool area would be closed and expressed my concern with the noise. I was told that it was the New Year’s Eve and people would be noisy, then I was transferred to manager John. After I expressed my concern again about the noise, I told John explicitly that I did not come to Best Western for the New Year party. I came to Best Western for a good night's sleep! Then I was told by John, the manager that being it was New Year's Eve, there was nothing he could do about the noise. REALLY, JOHN, REALLY? I was shocked that this was the answer I got from the management. No until I told him that "There is really nothing I can do." is not an acceptable answer that he offered to switch rooms for us.
From all of the positive review from Tripadvisor, I would never imaging that I would experience what I had. The outdated bathroom that’s not shown on the website, Non-working heater, non-working plumbing, lack of hot tub that is strange giving the size of the courtyard, major inconvenience for us to re-pack and move, these are all minor details that I can make myself overlook. What I cannot tolerate is the way the management team handled complaints. I was basically told that they are willing to sacrifice me to suit the bigger parties. Well, Best Western, you will never get a chance to do that to me again! less
DebH373, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review
Our apologies for the problems you experienced during you recent stay with us. We certainly do understand your concern and we sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request to remove all the other hotel guests from the courtyard area on New Years Eve. We do have rooms other areas of the hotel not facing this indoor courtyard and our manager should have offered to move you. We hope you try us again. What you experienced is not typical for us but we did have a large number of families in the hotel that evening.