17/04/2017 wolfden, Sherwood Park
Enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel but we expected quite a bit more based on the price we paid. They charge a 4-5 star price but really is only a 3 star hotel. Probably based on the location to Kin... more
Enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel but we expected quite a bit more based on the price we paid. They charge a 4-5 star price but really is only a 3 star hotel. Probably based on the location to Kingsway mall, the Royal Alex hospital and the Nait campus. We reserved a king room based on all the reviews and it was a great choice. For some odd reason, we were offered the option of a queen room upon check-in which we fortunately refused because the wing where the queen rooms are was packed with kids and young adults. We stayed in the north wing and is quite far from the lobby/pool which is where all the adult couples seemed to stay. The north wing is connected to the entire hotel via a corridor. We are so glad we read previous reviews or we would have been stung. As for the rooms, they are quite small so don't expect much. They have old electric baseboard heating so anyone with children should be aware. We found the room to be quite dark but clean. The bathroom fan turns on automatically when you turn on the bathroom light and it was very loud. We were surprised to find only 2 towels in the room. That seemed a bit cheap for the price you pay. I'm sure they would have brought more if we asked but that's not the point. The internet speed was extremely good for a hotel. The Optic tv channels were sufficient. There is a high table in the room to eat at but no chairs. There is a very uncomfortable lounge chair and an adjustable office chair on wheels. The restaurant service was quite poor but the food was pretty good albeit expensive. We had breakfast at the Tim Hortons and were surprised at how dead it was. All in all, i consider this a budget hotel and would only stay here again if I received a budget price of $99 or less. less
Douglas C, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our fast fibre-optic wifi, many TV channels, and clean room. We always have extra towels available upon request, and include enough for each guest in the room to have one towel, plus hand and face cloths. We don't initially stock extra towels in the room to reduce the harm to the environment of having to launder unused towels before the next guest arrives. However, I understand that it can be an inconvenience to ask for extra towels to be delivered, and I will take this into consideration as a possible change to our policy of how many towels we have in the rooms.
Yes, families do stay at our hotel. We have the most sound proof walls in the industry with all floors being concrete, and the rooms having either concrete, or 10"double insulated with sound deadening board walls. So we rarely have complaints about noise. Most guests compliment our hotel on how quiet it is.
The heating in the rooms in the North wing of our building is radiant baseboard heat provided by gas and water, not electricity.
Like all businesses, there are busy times of day and slower times of the day. The Tim's is quite often busy, but it will have slow periods. I'm happy that it wasn't busy for you so that you could get your food right away.