22/05/2017 J4mes5now, Uckfield, United Kingdom
I have stayed in many hotels over the years, and this ranks among the very worst ever. Our confirmation booking informed us that this was a non smoking hotel. How wrong could that possibly be, surely ... more
I have stayed in many hotels over the years, and this ranks among the very worst ever. Our confirmation booking informed us that this was a non smoking hotel. How wrong could that possibly be, surely it wasn't allowed these days anyway ? Well this hotel does allow smoking, and also puts non smokers alongside them. We were placed in an annexe through 2 fire doors. A total of about 8 rooms, 5 of which allowed smoking in the room. The smell was bad when we arrived, but we thought that this might have come from people smoking outside. When we left the room after freshening up, we thought that it had become worse, but by the time we returned to the room the aroma, for a non smoking couple was disgusting. We had settled into the room by this time and did not want the upheaval of having to move, although this was offered. I find it amazing that smokers are allowed at all, but to impose their smell on non-smokers is beyond acceptable. If they have to have them, surely the whole annexe should be smoking ?
The restaurant was overpriced and resembled a Victoria Wood sketch scene. I thought I had walked in to a scene from Acorn Antiques. Food was ok, but nothing special, and surely the mushrooms could be fresh, not tinned ? Couldn't get service in the bar after our meal, no staff. Very disappointed and will definitely not ever return. less
Bentley82, Owner at Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to complain.
Firstly! we do not have an annex.
Secondly! we have only 2 smoking rooms for the simple reason if we did not, then someone would have probably smoked in your room on a previous night and you would complained even more.
Thirdly! you were asked if you would like to move rooms and be upgraded ,you answered negatively.
Your garlic mushrooms were fresh we do not use tinned food (what an insult)
I am sorry you did not like the restaurant either ,it is far from dated it depends if you are only used to a fast food restaurant chain and not a hotel restaurant .
My staff did everything possible to make your stay happy .Well we did not did we? I am delighted that you would not stay again. Most of our customers enjoy decent food and courteous service . You don't!
I also know exactly how little you paid and what you ate, between us need I say more?