• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Plus Angel Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Angel Hotel.

Relax in the market town of Chippenham.

The Best Western Plus Angel Hotel is a delightful 17th Century coaching inn set in the market town of Chippenham. In fact, it overlooks the marketplace itself, giving guests convenience and character in abundance!

Dating back to 1751, the hotel building has been refurbished to offer modern, contemporary style bedrooms. Even when you're not enjoying our facilities, you'll be able to relax in style thanks to the hotels leisure club and walled courtyard garden!

A small hotel with lots of character, the Best Western Plus Angel Hotel offers homely, welcoming service at all times. Our friendly staff make this a wonderful place to spend time at, and an even more inviting place to return to after a day at one of the many nearby beauty spots.

Car parking: Our car park is located at the rear of the hotel off Gladstone Road.
(If you are using a Sat Nav please use postcode - SN15 3BW). Once you have parked your car please walk through the atrium and across the courtyard garden to reception. You MUST register your vehicle(s) registration number on the touch screen at reception to obtain free parking.

View more

Location

Market Place
Chippenham
Wiltshire
SN15 3HD
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 033194
AA

Summary

Please note the sat nav postcode - SN15 3BW - is for the hotel car park. Please note parking information within Explore hotel copy. Hotel accepts pets at no cost.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted Pets not to be left unattended in bedrooms
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

blank image

The Brasserie

Whether you are looking for a snack or a light meal at lunchtime or a more substantial dinner in the Brasserie, which offers the best of British cuisine, the Angel truly has something for all tastes.

Afternoon tea is served 14:30 - 17:00
Sunday lunch, 2 or 3 courses is served 12:00 - 15:30

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07.00 - 10:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
blank image

The Bar

The public bar is open for coffee and bakery snacks from 9am daily and alcohol is served to non-residents.

Opening hours

09:00-23.00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Chippenham Golf Club

The Club, founded in 1896, has gone through many changes in its history. Today, the undulating parkland course offers golfers a fine test without being 'heavy' on yardage. The course are very proud of our course maintenance, particularly the greens which have been recently described as among the best in Wiltshire by the Wiltshire County Secretary. You will find narrow fairways with small well bunkered greens. The five par three holes are quite testing, with the 5th, 10th and 13th being the trickiest.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 7100 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in Chippenham

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Driving Range £2.50

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Gym

  • Heated indoor swimming pool

  • Lounge with fire

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Take time out with a workout, and enjoy a great range of equipment. Our air-conditioned gym boasts 6 cardio machines, free weights and strength machines, while our heated indoor pool offers a more relaxing way to unwind.

blank image

Weddings

Our wonderful courtyard garden is the perfect backdrop (or focal point) for any wedding. The Best Western Plus Angel Hotel is opposite St Andrews Church and next door to a registry office too, so we're perfectly placed for the nuptials themselves!

blank imageblank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

Our very flexible approach means we can work to the couples needs and budgets. To help make sure your big day doesn't come with a big price tag, we'll give you complimentary room hire for the day and evening reception!

Catering

No set menus, no hassle. Simply tell us what you'd like and we'll arrange it. It's a piece of cake!

Honeymoon Suite

The Best Western Plus Angel Hotel boasts 4 individually designed four poster rooms. The largest (Lacock Suite) has a roll top bath, walk in shower, large lounge seating area with 42" TV, and contemporary interior to make your special night just that.

Registrar

Registry office:





Get in touch with Suzanne Lank on 01249 652615

Congratulations!
You may already know exactly how you envisage your reception: if so tell us and we will arrange it for you.

For any enquiries please call Suzanne Lank on 01249 652615

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type SN15 3BW

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M4, J17, 5.00 miles
Nearest train station: Chippenham, 0.50 miles
Nearest airport: Bristol, 31.00 miles
Free parking on site (50 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
Market Place
Chippenham
Wiltshire
SN15 3HD
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Swindon Town FC (17 miles)

  • Bristol City & Rovers FC (20 miles)

  • Castle Comb Racing (5 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Lacock Village (3 miles)

  • Lacock Abbey (14 miles)

  • Longleat House and Safari Park (25 miles)

  • Stonehenge (25 miles)

  • Castle Combe (4 miles)

Shopping

  • Swindon Outlet (18 miles)

  • Bath (13 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

blank image

In the heart of Chippenham, we're close to the council offices. As such, we have plenty of experience when it comes to hosting conferences and events. Free WiFi in all rooms

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Bowood 30 12 12 14 0
Avon Suite 100 50 40 50 100
Allington 60 24 25 30 50
Monkton 50 24 18 26 48
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 666 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 211
Rating: 4 269
Rating: 3 112
Rating: 2 49
Rating: 1 25
Rating

One of the best steaks I have ever had.

17/07/2019 Faig163, Telford, United Kingdom

I have had sirloin steak in many restaurants but this restaurant served one of the best sirloin steaks I have ever had. I was a pleasure visiting the restaurant. Polite staff who are willing to make l... more

Rating

Poor value, appaling parking practice.

15/07/2019 Stephen B,

Not good value. There's a Premier Inn opening in Chippenham soon which will be far cheaper and better quality rooms. It also uses Private Eye to manage parking, make a mistake and you'll get £100 fi... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Stephen B, Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not contacted as requested, for some reason your message did not reach me which I will investigate. With regards to your parking comment; I am sorry that you find out parking practise to be ‘appalling’ however we have found that on the whole the system works well for the hotel and our guests. Unfortunately due to the automated nature of the system it can only function on absolutes and therefore a car registration is either entered correctly or incorrectly with no margin for error. That being said, the appeal process through Parking Eye is very comprehensive and should a genuine guest or patron of the hotel receive a fine they need simply provide proof of their patronage and the fine will be revoked. Should you be unable to locate your receipt for your visit please contact the hotel team directly and they will be able to reissue you with this. Once again I am sorry that you found our facilities below your expectations and thank you for providing your feedback. Kind Regards, James
Rating

Leaving meal

11/07/2019 Leigh A,

One of my work colleagues finished working with the company this month and we decided to take him out for a meal to say goodbye. The staff at the Angel Hotel could not have been more friendly. We were... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Leigh A, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your recent visit with us. I was delighted to read that the team, in particular Millie, took such good care of you and the rest of your party and that you enjoyed your meals. It is great news that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and to have the prospect to provide you with the same excellent service. Kind Regards, James
Rating

A Good afternoon spoiled

06/07/2019 lorddon2016, Chippenham, United Kingdom

Hi Guys, I'm sorry to say having visited this hotel with members of my family for what I thought was a good afternoon of chat with tea and cakes, the whole thing was totally spoiled by the terrible ... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Lorddon2016, I am sorry that you find the hotel's car parking management system to be 'terrible'. We, as many private car parks do, employ the services of a third party Automated Number Plate Recognition system, namely Parking Eye. As we do not charge our guests or patrons to use our car parking facilities we find this is the best way to ensure that only genuine patrons are using these facilities, as this has been a real issue for the hotel in the past. Unfortunately due to the automated nature of the system if an error is made upon inputting your registration a fine will automatically be issued. Whilst the system is quite sophisticated it is still only able to deal in absolutes and therefore a car registration is either correct or it is not. Any guest or patron who receives a fine for whatever reason, can appeal their fine through Parking Eye and by providing proof of their patronage of the hotel will have their fine cancelled. I understand your frustration at receiving a fine and I am sorry if this has negatively impacted your view of the hotel, however I am confident that the appeal process through Parking Eye is comprehensive and if proof of your visit is provided to them your fine will be revoked. Thank you for providing your feedback. Kind Regards, James
Rating

Super deal with 'Great Little Breaks'

05/07/2019 colinwhalley, Guernsey, UK

This deal was absolutely great. I cannot understand some of the poor reviews I read before travelling. The room we were allocated was large, comfortable and clean. The pool was really good to go to af... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Colinwhalley, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your praise for our services and team members. All of our guest's feedback is shared with our operational teams and I am sure they will be delighted by yours. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and provide you with the same great experience. Kind Regards, James