• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Plus Angel Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Plus Angel Hotel.

Relax in the market town of Chippenham.

The Best Western Plus Angel Hotel is a delightful 17th Century coaching inn set in the market town of Chippenham. In fact, it overlooks the marketplace itself, giving guests convenience and character in abundance!

Dating back to 1751, the hotel building has been refurbished to offer modern, contemporary style bedrooms. Even when you're not enjoying our facilities, you'll be able to relax in style thanks to the hotels leisure club and walled courtyard garden!

A small hotel with lots of character, the Best Western Plus Angel Hotel offers homely, welcoming service at all times. Our friendly staff make this a wonderful place to spend time at, and an even more inviting place to return to after a day at one of the many nearby beauty spots.

Car parking: Our car park is located at the rear of the hotel off Gladstone Road.
(If you are using a Sat Nav please use postcode - SN15 3BW). Once you have parked your car please walk through the atrium and across the courtyard garden to reception. You MUST register your vehicle(s) registration number on the touch screen at reception to obtain free parking.

View more

Location

Market Place
Chippenham
Wiltshire
SN15 3HD
England
To make a reservation please call 0800 393130 (Freephone). For all other enquiries please call 01249 652615
AA

Summary

Please note the sat nav postcode - SN15 3BW - is for the hotel car park. Please note parking information within Explore hotel copy. Hotel accepts pets at no cost.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted Pets not to be left unattended in bedrooms
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

angel-hotel-dining-07-83654

The Brasserie

Whether you are looking for a snack or a light meal at lunchtime or a more substantial dinner in the Brasserie, which offers the best of British cuisine, the Angel truly has something for all tastes.

Afternoon tea is served 14:30 - 17:00
Sunday lunch, 2 or 3 courses is served 12:00 - 15:30

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07.00 - 10:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
angel-hotel-dining-05-83654

The Bar

The public bar is open for coffee and bakery snacks from 9am daily and alcohol is served to non-residents.

Opening hours

09:00-23.00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Chippenham Golf Club

The Club, founded in 1896, has gone through many changes in its history. Today, the undulating parkland course offers golfers a fine test without being 'heavy' on yardage. The course are very proud of our course maintenance, particularly the greens which have been recently described as among the best in Wiltshire by the Wiltshire County Secretary. You will find narrow fairways with small well bunkered greens. The five par three holes are quite testing, with the 5th, 10th and 13th being the trickiest.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 7100 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in Chippenham

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £15.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Driving Range £2.50

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Gym

  • Heated indoor swimming pool

  • Lounge with fire

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Take time out with a workout, and enjoy a great range of equipment. Our air-conditioned gym boasts 6 cardio machines, free weights and strength machines, while our heated indoor pool offers a more relaxing way to unwind.

angel-hotel-leisure-09-83654

Weddings

Our wonderful courtyard garden is the perfect backdrop (or focal point) for any wedding. The Best Western Plus Angel Hotel is opposite St Andrews Church and next door to a registry office too, so we're perfectly placed for the nuptials themselves!

Wedding service and reception venue

Our very flexible approach means we can work to the couples needs and budgets. To help make sure your big day doesn't come with a big price tag, we'll give you complimentary room hire for the day and evening reception!

Catering

No set menus, no hassle. Simply tell us what you'd like and we'll arrange it. It's a piece of cake!

Honeymoon Suite

The Best Western Plus Angel Hotel boasts 4 individually designed four poster rooms. The largest (Lacock Suite) has a roll top bath, walk in shower, large lounge seating area with 42" TV, and contemporary interior to make your special night just that.

Registrar

Registry office:





Get in touch with Suzanne Lank on 01249 652615

Congratulations!
You may already know exactly how you envisage your reception: if so tell us and we will arrange it for you.

For any enquiries please call Suzanne Lank on 01249 652615

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type SN15 3BW

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M4, J17, 5.00 miles
Nearest train station: Chippenham, 0.50 miles
Nearest airport: Bristol, 31.00 miles
Free parking on site (50 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
Market Place
Chippenham
Wiltshire
SN15 3HD
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Swindon Town FC (17 miles)

  • Bristol City & Rovers FC (20 miles)

  • Castle Comb Racing (5 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Lacock Village (3 miles)

  • Lacock Abbey (14 miles)

  • Longleat House and Safari Park (25 miles)

  • Stonehenge (25 miles)

  • Castle Combe (4 miles)

Shopping

  • Swindon Outlet (18 miles)

  • Bath (13 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

angel-hotel-meeting-space-07-83654

In the heart of Chippenham, we're close to the council offices. As such, we have plenty of experience when it comes to hosting conferences and events. Free WiFi in all rooms

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Bowood 30 12 12 14 0
Avon Suite 100 50 40 50 100
Allington 60 24 25 30 50
Monkton 50 24 18 26 48
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 655 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 207
Rating: 4 267
Rating: 3 111
Rating: 2 47
Rating: 1 23
Rating

Potential with some tlc

16/05/2019 LW64, United Kingdom

The building is lovely from the outside and the public areas were nice enough. Reception staff were very helpful. Our room wasn't ready so we agreed to take another room in the main building. We were ... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear LW64, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. You state in your review that management needs to care a little more, I sincerely apologise that that was the impression you left the hotel with, I can assure you that myself and all the other members of the hotel management team care deeply about the property and our guests. With regards to the issue you highlighted with one of the ladies showers in our leisure facilities, you state that it was a terrible waste which I completely and wholeheartedly agree with you, however we were left with only two options prior to the arrival of a qualified plumber. 1 - shut the water off to the leisure club and all bedrooms situated in that section of the property or 2 - leave it running. Neither option were optimal, however the decision was made to negatively impact the fewest number of guests and minimalize complaints by leaving the one shower running. An emergency plumber was called out, however as they were unfamiliar with the property and the complex plumbing set up the building employs they were not prepared to under take the work, and thus we had to rely on our contracted plumber to attend the property and rectify. I am pleased to report the fault has since been corrected. I hope this goes someway to change your opinion of the hotel's management and shows you that we do indeed care. All of our guest's reviews and comments are shared with the team in the expectation that changes can be implemented. Thank you once again for taking the time to supply your feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, James
Rating

A hotel past its best!

15/05/2019 Travel25203774789,

This could be a fantastic location but the hotel is looking pretty shabby. The downstairs of the hotel is ok but the rooms are looking worn. Choice of dinner was limited wiith few healthy options. B... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Travel25203774789, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that the hotel failed to exceed your expectations, I have raised your concerns with the operational management team at the hotel for their comments and address. I hope you will consider using the hotel again the future to provide us with the opportunity to supply you with a superior experience. Kind Regards, James
Rating

One night travelzoo deal

13/05/2019 martinsnest, Bredon

We were very happy with our Sunday night away. Chippenham is a very nice little town and the Angel is in the perfect location. The garden at the back is very nice. I made use of the swimming pool b... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear martinsnest, Thank you for your review and the comments about your stay. I'm pleased to read that overall you found the experience to be positive. With regards to your 'niggles', the issue with the shower has been rectified, it was an on-going issue which require major works to be carried out hence the week or so delay in repair, as I say this has now been repaired. I'm sorry that you found the piped music to be an annoyance, it is intended to add atmosphere but I have instructed the team to refresh the playlist to avoid comments of this nature in the future. Once again thank you for your feedback, I hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, James
Rating

Very good but can do with some additional cleaning

04/05/2019 harwyn16, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

6 of us stayed in 3 adjoining rooms. Rooms, bed etc very nice. Bathroom could do with shower curtain regular changing, bit more cleaning of the shower walls and floor. Orange mould was prevalent. Bit ... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear harwyn16, Thank you for your review. I’m glad overall you found your stay to be enjoyable. Thank you for your constructive observations regarding your bedroom, all of your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team with a view to improve our standards for our future guests. I hope myself and the team will be able to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, James
Rating

Good hotel despite a problem with the heating

22/04/2019 steve01957, Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom

This is a nice, quirky but well appointed hotel, good rooms, good staff and good service, location in the centre of Chippenham is great, we had a small problem but it did not detract from the overall ... more

Owner Response
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Steve01957, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel, I'm glad you found the facilities to be worthy of a 5-Star rating despite experiencing a small problem during your visit. I hope the small issue you have alluded to was reported to the team at the hotel and rectified swiftly. If you would like to provide me with further details if this is not the case please email me directly: operations@angelhotelchippenham.co.uk I would hate for the issue to go unresolved and potentially cause more disruption to future guests. Thank you once again for your fantastic review. Kind Regards, James