Festive Afternoon Tea
Just returned from a night away, Hotel is just awful. The staff were really nice and welcoming even though they looked rather bored, but expect that was due to lack of customers. We had booked for the... more
Just returned from a night away, Hotel is just awful. The staff were really nice and welcoming even though they looked rather bored, but expect that was due to lack of customers. We had booked for the 'festive afternoon tea' which had been bought as a Christmas gift, and decided to book an overnight stay to make a night of it, but there wasn't much festivities going on! We were the only ones in the bar and we had to remind them to give us the mulled wine that was included, and the place was freezing cold. The afternoon tea however was nice. We later had a drink in the freezing cold bar and ordered our evening meal to be told we would have to eat in the bar as the restaurant was closed! Ever tried eating a bowl of soup and steak from a low bar table! The soup was bland and tasteless, the chicken and husbands steak was slightly better. Overall the hotel is old and very tired looking and is in desperate need of an upgrade, not the standard expected from a Best Western hotel, we didn't stay for breakfast which was extra to the room charge, and will not be returning. less
Sasha636, Owner at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback.
We were sorry you didn't enjoy your stay although the afternoon tea was nice and enjoyable.
Hotels are generally quite between the hectic Christmas period and the New Year festivities especially a hotel that predominantly caters for the corporate businessman.
As far as eating in the bar is concerned I understand the difficulty you encountered but there is a tall table in the centre of the bar that guests often use to make things easier, which would of been available to you as you state you were the only guests in the bar.
We are surprised regarding your comments regarding the heat as the hotel temperature is controlled automatically and kept at an ambient temperature. I have requested the system is checked following your feedback.
Once again my apologies for your disappointment.