Friendly staff but horrible smell
17/06/2017 Zach Z,
We came to Best Western as an add on to our weekend getaway we already had planned and just needed a room for an extra night. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and decent u... more
We came to Best Western as an add on to our weekend getaway we already had planned and just needed a room for an extra night. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean and decent upon arrival. Except my pregnant wife and I were highly disappointed upon exiting the elevator onto the 3rd floor. The entire hallway reeked of marijuana. At first our room was fine but then around 1115pm the smell made its way into our room. Highly disappointed in this. It is uncalled for and hotel staff should be more aware of what is going on in their "100% smoke free" rooms/ building. Will never return. less
Alexis M, Manager at Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites, responded to this review
Dear Zach Z,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our property. While I certainly appreciate your comments about our staff, I do want to apologize about the marijuana smell on your floor.
Unfortunately, this is one of the biggest challenges we face. Our property is 100% smoke free, which means that we do not allow smoking inside the hotel. If we find that someone is smoking in our hotel, there is a $250 fee that is applied to their bill and they will be asked to leave. One of the main problems we have is that it is very difficult to determine which occupants of what room are disobeying our policies. Unless we inconvenience every guest room on a floor by knocking on doors, it is very difficult to pinpoint a specific room. Please understand that it is impossible for us to know what goes on inside every room in our hotel. Smoking is something that is unable to be addressed until the situation occurs, no matter how many signs are posted.
Unfortunately, not everyone follows policy. Many people think that rules do not apply to them. In this situation, the best thing we can do for our other guests is to remove the occupants of the room from the property.
I do apologize again, this was an unfortunate situation.